We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint-Paul
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had a fabulous experience at the hotel, beautiful room, wonderful breakfast, staff was super nice, great location - all around wonderful time! Booked on booking.com and had a great rate :) only additional cost was parking ($11/day - right across from hotel)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

We picked this hotel for the good location in Old Quebec for the price of only $129 a night. We walked everywhere even in the cold and the location was great. Parking across the street was an additional $11 per 24 hours. We were in room 36 which I believe was a premium room. It had a exposed brick wall and a view over the market across the street. However the room was VERY dark. Even with the two windows it almost felt like a cave. The hotel also has very modern touches which I loved, but the updated really nice bathroom has chips in the sink and not one holder for towels. There was not where to put any towels to keep them clean. The bed was also very firm which some may like, but we did not. The breakfast was basic but good.

Room Tip: Room 36 is updated with a view and large glass shower, it is just VERY dark. Also there are no towel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed in room 36 (top floor) which overlooks Marche du Vieux-Port. We chose this hotel because it was walking distance to the Via station and the start location of the winter canoe races. Great value - Price ($129/night) included breakfast in the restaurant downstairs. Breakfast there was standard, nothing fancy. Room was clean, modern and quiet. Nice touches include exposed brick wall, firm mattress and waterfall shower head in a modern bathroom. Electric baseboard heaters meant it was quieter than those noisy blowing units at most hotels. It is a nice walk to get to the old town (mostly uphill) and Plains of Abraham but we took the Promenades des Gouverneurs which gave us great views of the river as we climbed all those stairs. This is our first time travelling to Quebec City during winter carnival and overall we had a great trip.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FoodandTea_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This place does not look much from the outside, but the rooms are really modern and spacious with a huge TV and fab shower, and parking in the public area over the road is no hassle with the hotel voucher. The breakfast was also great for us - but if you want a huge self service choice you will be disappointed.
The hotel is in a lovely quiet area opposite the market and harbour, but it is only a short walk to the centre for a huge choice of places to eat and drink, and to take tours of most of the sites.
The staff are great too, unobtrusive but always available for advice and assistance - even when up need left clothes forwarding on!

Room Tip: Ours was top floor with huge windows overlooking the water front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BertieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay very much. Location, room, price, parking and personnel are great. What a bargain for the price! Room is spacious and featured exposed brick walls...very cool! Bathroom was modern and shower was the best. Front desk personnel very helpful and friendly as was restaurant server. Included breakfast offered variety of choices and omelette was especially good. Location is great and although across from a gas station was suprisingly quiet. Only downsides were carpeting was worn a bit. Our room smelled a little too much like deoderizer and bathroom although modern and sleek had no towel hooks or places for toiletries. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank chauddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here in October 2013 and it was a perfect place for us. The location is excellent: across from the market at the port and just at the bottom of the hill. Breakfast was included in our rate (which was $144 through Booking.com) was much better than expected! Served in the restaurant on the main floor, we had a choice of five or six full breakfasts including coffee (choices included an omelette, 2 eggs, crepes, etc). The hotel could use a bit of updating (the hallways are getting a bit dingy), but the room was modern and clean. Overall, a great choice if you don't want to spend too much in Quebec City. Why spend all my money at the Chateau Frontenac when I could stay here and spend more on food and wine? :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dive_Travel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed here for two nights (Oct. 4-5) before leaving on a cruise and was 100% happy with this hotel. My room was spacious and very clean. It could have used an additional light on one side of the room, but that was a minor inconvenience. The bed was king size and comfortable. The staff I met were all courteous, helpful, and spoke English. The hotel is located within a 5 minute walk to a food market and restaurant. A pharmacy is right down the street, as are a few antique shops and a wonderful clothing shop. A 10 minute walk will bring you to the funiculare to the upper part of the city. And when you're up there, be sure to go to C'Est Si Bon Confiserie, 1111 rue St-Jean. I enjoyed the best dark chocolate turtles I've ever eaten there. From the hotel to the cruise ship was perhaps a 15 minute walk. I would happily stay in the same hotel again, were I to return to Quebec City.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor. There was no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmericanOlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#39 of 100 in Quebec City
627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#25 of 100 in Quebec City
1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 100 in Quebec City
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#72 of 100 in Quebec City
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#46 of 100 in Quebec City
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint-Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint-Paul

Address: 229 rue Saint-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3W3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £61 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Saint-Paul 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of the Old-Port of Quebec, Saint-Paul Hotel was built inside a charming building dating from the 19th century. Recently renovated, this haven of peace is ideal for travellers and businessmen looking for proximity of the unique attractions of the Old Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Saint-Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Saint-Paul Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing