We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but customer service is lacking...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint-Paul
Ranked #46 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Disappointing stay. Luke warm greeting upon arrival. Overall the room was clean but small. Main complaints are no fridge, no mini bar, few tv channels, gloomy hallways with stale smell and no answer at reception after 11:00pm. The complimentary breakfast wasn't available until 8am on the weekend. The breakfast choices were limited and disappointing. We ordered the crepes which came with fruit(very little) but the crepes were cold. We ordered toast and were charged $3.00 for one piece. Overall stay was expensive and lacking in customer service. On a positive note the hotel is ideally situated.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

I chose this hotel for my recent stay in Quebec city as I was going to see the latest show of the Cirque du Soleil and it is located very close to their grand chapiteau. I had the chance to have a room on the third floor with a view of the Vieux-Port de Québec: even if it was a rainy week end the view was still nice. My room had brick wall so with the view it was very charming. The bed was son comfortable and with all the pillows I could have slept so late if I didn't have to leave so early. I also really liked the modern design of the bathroom and for once, the toiletries given by the hotel actually smelled good! My only regret is that I didn't know breakfeast was included so I already had arrangements to go brunch with friends somewhere else, but next time I will definitely try the breakfeast at le Veràvin.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the third floor to have the best experience for your stay at this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in the heart of old Quebec, and we loved it. It's an old building, but they've done a great job with the décor and comfort level inside the rooms. Location is great, within walking distance of the main attractions inside the walls.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ricardo Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend (3 nights). Pleasantly surprised on our arrival...small hotel,very clean. Our room no. 30 on the 3rd floor was quite spacious with a view of the Market across the street & we also had a view of a side street ..(3 windows in the room & 1 in the bathroom). It has been renovated...quite modern! Large shower equipped with a ''rain shower'' overhead. Roomy bathroom with whirlpool tub.. quite a luxury after a day of visiting & walking up to the central part of Old Quebec City & touring!! It is within walking distance approx. 15 mins. uphill..but we enjoyed the sights as we went along. The front desk gave us a city map. Check-in was easy, desk staff very pleasant! Our King bed was very comfortable, & we had several pillows..Very clean & crisp white linens! You can open the windows for fresh air. Desk & a round table provided with chairs. The large flat screen TV had an excellent picture screen. Our breakfast was included & offered a selection of 5 or 6 choices..quite good! Parking across the street was easy & cost $38.00 for 3 days(incl. taxes). We payed the hotel (for parking) on arrival as previously suggested by others! Left the car & walked everyday to our destinations! Desk staff quite happy to make reservations for us for tours or restaurants etc. Keurig coffee machine & refrigerator in room!!
Esso gas station across the street, next to parking. WiFi also works well!We did not try the restaurant ''Veravin"(connected to hotel) for dinner...only for breakfast...maybe next time! Would definitely recommend this hotel...& if we return to Quebec city we would stay here! Only recommendation would be to add a mirror...maybe a full length one in the room.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room 30...it is the deluxe room...quite nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzrubylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel with a group of about 36 couples occupying the entire hotel. They couldn't have been more accommodating. We had a very large room (#20) that was very nice and could have housed 2 children as well. Great rain-shower shower. Excellent Kuerig coffee machine, refrigerator, and more. The great part is that is in close walking distence to all of touristy Quebec but a bit out of the way and right on the bike path that takes you into port or out of city. There is a nice bollangerie on the block, nearby restaurants, including Le Veravin attached to hotel (see my review), and across from the Farmer's Market. Great place to stay in Quebec City.

Room Tip: Room #20 is very large and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maine_Traveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for a 1day business trip. a walk away from hospital hotel Dieu. The hotel is situated in Old Quebec city. Check in was easy and pleasant. staff fully bilingual. room small a little old but the washrooms are renovated. the room was very clean. only issue is the airconditioning. it did not seem to work properly. Breakfast was very good. it is included in the stay and it is not just eggs sitting there. it is a restaurant, so the food was awesome. Parking is available for a fee. The price of this hotel is really great for the value. will go again. Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susana l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 101 in Quebec City
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Morgan
Hotel Manoir Morgan
#63 of 101 in Quebec City
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#27 of 101 in Quebec City
1,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint-Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint-Paul

Address: 229 rue Saint-Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3W3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £64 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Saint-Paul 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of the Old-Port of Quebec, Saint-Paul Hotel was built inside a charming building dating from the 19th century. Recently renovated, this haven of peace is ideal for travellers and businessmen looking for proximity of the unique attractions of the Old Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Saint-Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Saint-Paul Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing