We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, reasonably price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The location is right inside the St. Louis gate in the old town close to all the shopping and restaurants. The breakfast buffet was fairly normal. The rooms were large with a flat screen TV although we were not in the room that much. Some friends of ours in the next room did have a power problem with their bedside lamps but other than that all was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2castine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

The staff made the difference in our stay. They were friendly and helpful, like finding an extra umbrella for an unexpected thunderstorm and directing us to suitable parking when our kayaks proved to tall for our car to fit in the lot they usually refer guests to. Our room was small but very clean, with a bed and linens that were very comfortable. They are clever in their use of the small space to keep it visually appealing yet functional. At first I was put off a little by the shims under pieces of furniture, then I realized that in an historic building it wasn't surprising the floors are not close to level. The continental breakfast offered plenty of choices, including noteworthy pastries. The only thing I missed was brewed decaf coffee; for decaf my only choice was instant. For most people at breakfast that's not a problem. The breakfast area and hotel entry were full of fresh orchids and lillies - gorgeous. We were happy with the location, near the Porte St. Louis and the Citadel, and an easy walk to the Frontenac and riverfront area.

Room Tip: Being on the top (4th) floor, under the eaves, cost head room on that side of the room, though we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Tonight is our second of a 2 night stay here, it is peak season and a long weekend so the room ended up being $206/ night for a double and twin. The staff have been exceptionally friendly and helpful. The free continental breakfast was very good with a large variety... Everything from bagels, cinnamon buns and mini quiche to yogurt, cereals and fresh fruit. Our room has the original original brick and stone walls giving it a definite old world charm. The parking is a bit of a nuisance, it's about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and costs $15/24 hour period. But on street parking is free from 9 pm- 9 am, so if you are coming late or leaving early its cheaper to take advantage if it. The location is amazing. We were able to easily walk everywhere we wanted to go. I would recommend this hotel to a friend!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doodlebugboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

A cozy, charming old-school boutique hotel best suited for active couples. Inside the walls of Vieux Quebec, directly on Parc de l'Esplanade, it offers a comfortable sleep and acceptable breakfast in a very convenient, romantic location.

If you're gong to be out in the city, it's a terrific place and solid value. If you expect to spend time in your room or in the hotel, look elsewhere. But if a straightforward, no-frills yet everything-you-really-need hotel in the Old City is what you desire, look no further.

Room Tip: Upper floor, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MillerWordScore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and I have been staying at this hotel for years. Why change when we find the place that has all that we need. The people are so nice and very helpful. We can't wait for July to go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Joanannlabrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Very nice host! The couple is really sweet and helpful! Good services, informative and make you feel home!

We Stay there one nite after the stay at Hi-Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec. Its like from hell to heaven! Excellent breakfast! Love the maple danish!

Wish I could stay longer. Will be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xstardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Due to difficult circumstances beyond our control, we had to cancel our visit. Despite giving several days notice, having to lose a long-planned trip to Quebec and the burden of costs just to get home, Manoir de L’Esplanade charged us for one of our two nights anyway, requiring 8 days cancellation notice. Whether or not this is a good hotel, they have little compassion.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kazoiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
#53 of 100 in Quebec City
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 100 in Quebec City
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Morgan
Hotel Manoir Morgan
#66 of 100 in Quebec City
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#39 of 100 in Quebec City
633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
#12 of 100 in Quebec City
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de L'Esplanade

Address: 83 rue d'Auteuil, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4C3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £105 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manoir de L'Esplanade 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Manoir de L'Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir De l`Esplanade Hotel Quebec City
Manoir De L'Esplanade Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing