We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Ranked #44 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

You are just inside the city wall with the view of the St. Louis Gate from the front door and a view of Hotel Frontenac and Hotel De Ville from our window. You are on the Electric bus route ($1) that passes the train station, goes to the center of the city and to the lower city along the port. You can easily walk through the old town from here.
The room was clean well furnished. It even had an electric fireplace and refrigerator.
The service was extremely helpful.
Great Asian restaurant located next door. (Apsara)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MassarelloFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Manoir de L'Esplanade
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked a room the morning of our arrival and felt lucky to find a place within the city walls on short notice for under $200. We gasped when we entered the room -- high beamed ceiling, huge windows overlooking the park and city gate, attractive furnishings. Beds were amazingly comfortable. OK, small bathroom, a few steep steps up from the street, nice but simple breakfast, busy corner (but did not hear road noise inside). Reminded us of a charming small hotel we once stayed on the Left Bank in Paris, but with an elevator! Well located for shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Staff very helpful throughout our stay. But the clincher came when our car broke down on our last night. Hotel owner personally helped us to get a jump-start and an appointment at the dealership for repair. Mille milliards de merci!

Room Tip: We followed guidebook advice to visit Quebec City on weekdays, not weekend.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The location is right inside the St. Louis gate in the old town close to all the shopping and restaurants. The breakfast buffet was fairly normal. The rooms were large with a flat screen TV although we were not in the room that much. Some friends of ours in the next room did have a power problem with their bedside lamps but other than that all was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2castine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The staff made the difference in our stay. They were friendly and helpful, like finding an extra umbrella for an unexpected thunderstorm and directing us to suitable parking when our kayaks proved to tall for our car to fit in the lot they usually refer guests to. Our room was small but very clean, with a bed and linens that were very comfortable. They are clever in their use of the small space to keep it visually appealing yet functional. At first I was put off a little by the shims under pieces of furniture, then I realized that in an historic building it wasn't surprising the floors are not close to level. The continental breakfast offered plenty of choices, including noteworthy pastries. The only thing I missed was brewed decaf coffee; for decaf my only choice was instant. For most people at breakfast that's not a problem. The breakfast area and hotel entry were full of fresh orchids and lillies - gorgeous. We were happy with the location, near the Porte St. Louis and the Citadel, and an easy walk to the Frontenac and riverfront area.

Room Tip: Being on the top (4th) floor, under the eaves, cost head room on that side of the room, though we co...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Tonight is our second of a 2 night stay here, it is peak season and a long weekend so the room ended up being $206/ night for a double and twin. The staff have been exceptionally friendly and helpful. The free continental breakfast was very good with a large variety... Everything from bagels, cinnamon buns and mini quiche to yogurt, cereals and fresh fruit. Our room has the original original brick and stone walls giving it a definite old world charm. The parking is a bit of a nuisance, it's about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and costs $15/24 hour period. But on street parking is free from 9 pm- 9 am, so if you are coming late or leaving early its cheaper to take advantage if it. The location is amazing. We were able to easily walk everywhere we wanted to go. I would recommend this hotel to a friend!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doodlebugboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

A cozy, charming old-school boutique hotel best suited for active couples. Inside the walls of Vieux Quebec, directly on Parc de l'Esplanade, it offers a comfortable sleep and acceptable breakfast in a very convenient, romantic location.

If you're gong to be out in the city, it's a terrific place and solid value. If you expect to spend time in your room or in the hotel, look elsewhere. But if a straightforward, no-frills yet everything-you-really-need hotel in the Old City is what you desire, look no further.

Room Tip: Upper floor, corner room.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MillerWordScore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and I have been staying at this hotel for years. Why change when we find the place that has all that we need. The people are so nice and very helpful. We can't wait for July to go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Joanannlabrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
#12 of 102 in Quebec City
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
#56 of 102 in Quebec City
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
2,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de L'Esplanade

Address: 83 rue d'Auteuil, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4C3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £116 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manoir de L'Esplanade 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Manoir de L'Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir De l`Esplanade Hotel Quebec City
Manoir De L'Esplanade Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing