We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Ranked #44 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

A little place of France on Quebec. This place was amazing. Cozy and very romantic rooms with fireplace. We were there for the winter carnival and even though it was -16 degrees we had such an amazing time. Staff super friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great with freshly baked croissants every morning.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mac2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    98
    20
    6
    12
See reviews for
52
137
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

My dear friend and I stayed in June and could not have been more delighted - with the staff, owners, service, room, or breakfast. Everyone on staff was helpful in pointing out things to do, places to eat, etc. I hope to go again one day. I would highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great stay in this little hotel.
First and foremost, if location is important to you, this hotel is great.
Just inside the walls of the old town in Quebec city, you are walking distance to everything that old town has to offer, and not far from the 'newer' parts of the city. We're not big walkers and found nothing to get to was tiring/strenuous.
The hotel is quaint, in a good way. The hotel is neatly furnished, our room and bathroom were very clean and tidy. Walls/doors are a little thin, just in hearing your neighbours walk down the corridor, but once they go to their rooms it is quiet again.
Great bonus is the nice, fresh continental breakfast they serve that is complimentary. Fresh croissants, bagels, fruits etc made a good start to each day. Also, wifi was also complimentary and fast for our needs.
Front desk service was great too, helped with all our directional needs, oh and since we didn't speak a hint of french, they're english was superb.
For what we paid (via the Quebec tourist site), this was a fantastic bargain. We would highly recommend it to friends without hesitation.

Room Tip: Our room (24) was 2nd floor, facing street. Nice sized room and with just a bit of street noise (Sat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZhelterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed two nights. The hotel is very nice. It's in a great location just inside the walls of Old Town. Best part is once you get your car parked you can walk to any of the sights of Old Town. Parking is a bit of a hike from the hotel but that's the same for most all the hotels in Old Town.

Breakfast is cereal, toast, bagels, fruit, juice and coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I just returned from a week's stay at this hotel with my 86-year-old father, his wife, and my 3 sisters. We absolutely loved Manoir de L'Esplanade for its perfect location in Vieux Quebec, the kind, helpful staff, the quaint but not "stuffy" decor, the good continental breakfasts, and the overall value. Here, you won't find fancy bed linens, ornate decor, or "stuffy" wallpapered walls. Our room had brick and stone walls, high ceilings with moldings, wood floors (loved vs carpeting, at least in the summer), tall windows with breezy white curtains that could be opened to beautiful flowers outside every morning, and furnishings reminiscent of a comfortable, casual Paris B & B. The room 3 of us shared was very spacious and had 3 areas: a small, cozy room with 2 double beds and chest of drawers, a small bath (shower only), and a large sitting room that easily accomodated all 5 of us for a meal or just getting together in the evenings to talk about our day. Beds were SO comfortable, good pillows, light blankets upon request. There was also an electric fireplace, pull-out sofa with mattress, a table with leaves that folded out to provide space for dining, and a "dorm"-size refrigerator perfect for leftovers, beer/wine, water bottles. My father's room was quite spacious with seating and a frig. Hotel staff was highly knowledgeable about available tours, directions, currency, and other tourist activities and helpfully "googled" maps and information to assist us with our many questions. The continental breakfasts were better than we expected and receive here in the states - yogurt, various pastries, muffins, bagels; choice of cold or hot cereals, fresh fruits and delicious coffee. We were usually stuffed enough from breakfast to hold us over 3-4 hours until lunch. They also would fill my water bottle with ice every morning and had coffee cups to go for that 2nd cup of great cafe. The owner generously opened the breakfast area early for us on our departure date due to our early flight. When we stepped out of our door every morning, we faced a beautiful park, a horses and buggy "stop" and the street that led directly to the beautiful Chateau Frontenac. Just a few blocks to the Chateau by way of charming restaurants with their outdoor seating, gift/souvenir shops, and bakeries. Room rates were very reasonable considering the cost of other inns and the excellent location to the old city as well as to areas outside of Vieux Quebec. There is an elevator in the hotel so my father and his wife were able to access all floors and not be limited to rooms on the first floor (we wanted 2 rooms near each other). We would not hesitate to stay at this family-run hotel again or recommend it to others!

Room Tip: My sisters and I preferred our room with the "authentic" wood floors (vs carpeting) altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montaigne911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Monmouth, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

As you enter Vieux Quebec under the stone arches, you will see Hotel Manoir de L'Esplanade in front of you and smile. Blending in with the old city decor, this boutique hotel is a great place to stay in the center of everything enjoyable in Quebec. Once you arrive, you will park your car and never need it until the sad day comes that you need to leave this fantastic city. The hotel provides parking in a nearby garage at a discounted fee.

We have stayed in Hotel Manoir de L'Esplanade on several occasions and never have been disappointed with the service or the accommodations. Rooms are comfortably air conditioned in the summer, have small electric fireplaces for the winter, and the Internet connections are phenomenal! You log in once, and the connection is there for your entire stay. We had cell phones, iPads, and an Internet camera, and we used each one without a hitch!

Free breakfast is provided every day of hot and cold cereals, yogurts, croissants, toast, juice, coffee, etc. - great to get you started to days filled with excitement! Many of the walls in your room are brick and stone, reminding you that you are in the old city. You really need to remind yourself that you are not in Paris - that this is Canada - as you experience the authentic French culture.
Hotel Manoir de L'Esplanade is very reasonably priced - well below other hotels in the area that don't have the charm or ambience of this special place.

We would never stay any place else in Quebec City!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryArdith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The owner has real orchids in the windows on the first floor. Convenient to most sights in the Old City area. Free continental breakfast and business center with computer access. Very clean, quiet and comfortable bed. Great view of the "old City" from room window.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view. The rooms designed for one traveler are somewhat cramped but you pay less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shenhiker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
#65 of 101 in Quebec City
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#38 of 101 in Quebec City
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de L'Esplanade

Property: Manoir de L'Esplanade
Address: 83 rue d'Auteuil, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4C3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Manoir de L'Esplanade 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manoir de L'Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir De l`Esplanade Hotel Quebec City
Manoir De L'Esplanade Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing