We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Quebec”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Ranked #44 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We just spent 3 nights at this hotel. It is located inside of the walls of the old city. It was convenient to tours, shopping and great places to eat. Nice breakfast. Very clean rooms that were very cozy. The front desk was helpful with reservations. We did not have a car and did not need one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zelzorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hotel is located in the heart of Old Quebec City. Historic building is more a boutique hotel as there are not too many rooms. Warmly welcomed, spacious upper room with exposed brick on two sides, big windows that let in plenty of light, small but super clean bathroom. Bed was very comfy and the room was very quiet. Complimentary breakfast included juice, oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, fresh bagels, fruit pastries, mini quiches, coffee and milk. We were very pleased with friendliness and attentiveness of owners. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a nice, small, quaint hotel in the old part of the city. Stone walls are an arm's length thick. The room was modern and comfortable; somewhat small but not excessively so. The staff friendly and helpful. Wifi is standard.

The location could not be better. Just inside the St Louis gate, most beautiful of the city gates, a short distance from the Parliament Building and park, 4 interesting shop and restaurant-lined blocks from the Frontenac. It is also a short walk through the gate the other direction up Grande Allee to blocks of less touristed trendy restaurants, and several b locks the other direction down a steep hill to Rue St Jean, a street of many shops and restaurants. This hotel is a great value among more expensive hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Our room, # 27, was fine, on the back side. I saw no reason to prefer other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank remarkable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We came off a cruise ship in the morning and were only staying for one night, but the staff treated us so kindly in our short stay. The location just inside the wall, short walk to the Citadel, right beside the Place de E'splanade, couldn't have been better or more suitable to our needs. We were given a room right away despite our early arrival, and thus were able to explore the Old City all day long, returning to our room for rest a couple of times. All our questions were patiently handled by the staff at the front desk, regardless of the time of day. We took the recommendation for a restaurant in walking distance that would have tasty food at decent prices, and were delightfully surprised with our bill for dinner. Our room itself was small as to be expected in an urban setting, but equipped with all that was needed to have a pleasont stay. The staff arranged for us to have a taxi waiting very early in the morning to take us to the airport, so we were unable to partake of whatever might have been offered at breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

There doesn't seem to be a hotel within Vieux Quebec that is affordable, but this one was more affordable than most I had looked at, and I was able to park my car in an available space in the alley behind the hotel. The staff were very friendly and my room was cozy and well-decorated, if lacking in some basic items. There was nothing in the room to make coffee or tea with, and when I inquired at the front desk whether I might access some hot water for tea, I was told the kitchen/breakfast area is locked and unavailable outside the breakfast hours in the morning. That was disappointing, but did not dampen my long weekend in this lovely city. The hotel appears to be a number of townhouses renovated and joined together. My room--a single room intended for a solo traveler--was located up a flight of stairs and had windows that overlooked the alley where I had parked my car.

Room Tip: If you're a solo traveler and they offer you Room #6, just know that it's small, doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Just returned from a Labor Day weekend stay at the Hotel Manoir de L'Esplanade. I wanted to get this review on Yelp because there are not enough reviews here while Trip Advisor has many.

We had a very pleasant stay. Location is at the heart of Old Quebec, just inside the Saint Louis gate on Rue d'Auteuil. The hotel is very quaint and clean and the management and staff were very pleasant and attentive, eager to help in both English and French. Of particular help with our stay was Arienne at the front desk. With her assistance, we were able to obtain our reserved seating tickets to the final Cirque du Soleil performance at the Agora in the Old Port. Many thanks!

Our room was on the fourth floor with dormer window facing the walls of the fortified city and the National Assembly with wood floors, brick walls and 2 queen beds with a flat screen cable TV and free WiFi throughout the hotel. A complimentary breakfast was provided in a cute little breakfast nook including fruits, bagels, croissants, pastries, cereals, yougurt, coffee and juice. Very good and more than sufficient with again attention to detail from management and staff.

Parking was $16/day underground at the nearby Place d'Youville SPAQ parking facility. Stairwells and exits were fairly close to the hotel making it only about a 10 minute walk. The hotel also has a couple of "loading zone" spaces in front on Rue d'Auteuil for unloading and loading of luggage.

We have stayed many times in Quebec City, usually at other times of the year and mostly at the Chateau Frontenac and the Chateau Lauier and the Hilton. Each has its own merits and are great facilities, but we really enjoyed our stay and the friendliness of all at the Hotel Manoir de L'Esplanade.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gkamieneski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked this hotel just inside the old city because it had an elevator, which was helpful with our room on the third floor. It was very inside, even though there was a lot of traffic on the streets outside. We loved facing the pretty park and having lots of light. The room was well air conditioned in August. There were many good restaurants on rue St Louis within several blocks of hotel. They were all relatively high priced--no snack or fast food places nearby in the old town. The new town was 4-6 blocks in another direction with more restaurant choices. The ecolobus ($2.00 C) stopped right outside and was a good way to access the lower town and market area, where other restaurants and shops were located. The daily breakfast served at the hotel included quite a variety of food to satisfy most people's needs. The staff was helpful and friendly. There was a computer in the lobby for free use at any time. You could walk through the old town easily from here but also an easy access to the Citadel and Discovery Center nearby. I would definitely recommend this hotel and to stay in the old town area.

Room Tip: Room 38, Deluxe corner room on third floor, was large, very quiet with double windows, well furnishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTraveler4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 100 in Quebec City
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
#52 of 100 in Quebec City
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
#12 of 100 in Quebec City
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Manoir Morgan
Hotel Manoir Morgan
#67 of 100 in Quebec City
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#25 of 100 in Quebec City
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de L'Esplanade

Address: 83 rue d'Auteuil, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4C3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £107 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manoir de L'Esplanade 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Manoir de L'Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir De l`Esplanade Hotel Quebec City
Manoir De L'Esplanade Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing