We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Ranked #28 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Bells, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly, good location”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel is located in an old building adjacent to a park and close to the Chateau. It is close to all locations in Vieux Quebec. Some of our party thought there was a musty smell but I didn't notice. It is an old building which is part of the charm. They have 24 hour amenities including a coffee machine with espresso, cappuccino, wine dispensing machine, etc. The valet parking was available even at 4AM. The person at the desk even asked if we would like bagels or equivalent available for our early departure... which we did and they provided. There are not many hotels who would provide anything at all for breakfast at 4 AM.

Rooms are small but clean. My room had a view of the St Lawrence River. Other rooms had a view of trees.

I will stay again, given the chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    356
    99
    31
    21
See reviews for
111
624
46
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville Ont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Spent 4 nights a the Bellevue. We chose a Prestige room this time! We had a beautiful room. Nice large space, beautiful view out to the park and a nice big soaker tub!

We'd been to the Bellevue last fall as well, 4 nights. We had just the regular room and despite small, it was still great!

We really have no complaints. Nice front desk service, always pleasant to deal with!

The location is pretty key, everything that we are interested in is close. Great to just wake up and go for a walk through the beautiful streets.

Hope to be back again sometime!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gp_124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Certainly the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Saying that, it was very clean, service was faultless, location perfect and breakfast great. We took the package that included dinners at choice restaurants. The three we selected were all very different but excellent. The value we felt was very good. Located in the old part of the city we felt we could have been in where in Europe. Easy to walk to all the attractions.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lopsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This Hotel is located on a quiet street facing a Park and the St Lawrence River!
The Chateau is just accross the Park!

Staff is very helpful, caring and there when you need them.

Breakfast is great. Cereal, delicious Bread, Rolls, Cake, etc

Recommend the higher priced Rooms as they are larger. We stayed on the third floor and all was quiet.

This is one of the few small Hotels in Quebec City that has an Elevator.

Room Tip: We liked the top floor(Third)for the quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlene g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Overall, Hotel Chateau Bellevue is your (it was ours!) ideal location when visiting, staying within the wall of Quebec City, Quebec City. Located just on the other side Chateau Frontenac, Chateau Bellevue faces the St. Lawrence River with a short, but beautiful, walk to the boardwalk and to the lower city. Just outside its main entrance is a beautiful park. Just a short walking distance, say 10 minutes, is the Citadelle. If you haven't experienced a military ceremony (ie, changing of the guard, parade), you're in for quite a treat. The rest of Quebec City is well within walking distance. If you're not accustomed to hill climbing and walking stairs, just be prepared when visiting Quebec City there will be plenty of them. The service at Chateau Bellevue was outstanding! From our initial phone calls months in advance, to our arrival and to our departure - it was just perfect. The room was spotless. They even upgraded us from a small king size room to a suite with a king size bed. From Lilly to Denney to Alex to the rest of the group, they made our trip even more enjoyable. Our only complaint, was the continential breakfast. Choices were limited to begin with but for those with some food restrictions, there were not a lot of options.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Chateau Bellevue is in an excellent location for exploring Quebec City, being only a few minutes walk from Terrasse Bellevue, Chateau Frontenac etc. The hotel rooms were comfortable and offered complimentary wifi in guest rooms. Hotel buffet breakfast was adequate although the dining area was very cramped during breakfast hours.
Our room did not live up to expectations, although was comfortable for the duration of our 3 day stay. My main complaint (which I made to hotel reception) was that I paid $60 + taxes extra for a superior queen room, which should have had a queen bed and view of the St Lawrence river. (Our confirmation clearly states "this room features a view of the St Lawrence").
Our room had a standard double - which was fine but not what was promised. Although the 2nd floor room was front facing, the view was blocked by trees. This was understandable given the park in front of the hotel - but there was no way that we could have guessed this, not knowing the city. Reception did offer an alternative room, at extra cost, which we declined.
The hotel and booking sites it uses should make it clear in the hotel description that views will be obscured at certain times of year.
I would stay at this hotel again but I would certainly not pay the extra for a "superior" room.

Room Tip: If expecting a view of the St Lawrence (which some booking sites promise), ask which floor the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
All our Bellevue rooms (or superior rooms on external booking websites) are facing the front of the hotel and have a view on the park and have a queen bed. Actually, all our rooms at the front have a queen or a king bed (the categories are: Bellevue, Prestige or Distinction).

About the mention "view on the St-Lawrence", it had been a while that we asked to rectify the information on the different external booking sites, however sometimes changes are not made right away, are delayed or not done at all. We try to keep track of our request, but sometimes it is too late for some people and we are very sorry about it. During summertime, the view is on the park, because the park is an obstacle to the river view. Still the best way to get the most accurate information is to go on our official website or to call us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orono, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Just returned from a trip to Quebec City, and although I have stayed in other hotels within the Old City, the Hotel Chateau Bellevue would definitely be my choice again! Small enough to be personable and have excellent service. The location is wonderful in the heart of the Old City. The included breakfast has enough options to be adequate for anyone. Very clean rooms, great amenities, even a by-the-glass automated wine bar in the lobby if you forget to buy your own bottle. I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone who wants the Old Quebec City experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darnley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,508 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
949 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Bellevue

Property: Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Address: 16 Rue La Porte, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#32 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chateau Bellevue: Quiet comfort assured in the heart of Old QuebecAny reason to visit Quebec City is a great opportunity to stay at Hotel Chateau Bellevue… a perfect location in the heart of Old Quebec, near Dufferin Terrace and the Citadel, with views of Parc des Gouverneurs and the mighty Saint Lawrence River. Come enjoy the historic charm of North America’s only fortified city, discover an exceptionally beautiful architectural heritage, and bask in the comfort and quality service that only a hotel like ours can provide.At Hotel Chateau Bellevue, exceptional comfort and a warm family atmosphere live in peaceful coexistence with all the excitement Old Quebec has to offer, including a front-row seat of major events. Whether you’re passing through Quebec City on business, or looking for a romantic getaway, or sharing a tour with friends, you’ll soon find Hotel Chateau Bellevue has everything it takes to make your visit a success.Hotel Chateau Bellevue also has an awesome array of tour packages for every possible interest. Fine dining, culture, outdoor activities… Whatever you’re looking for, you’ll find terrific options to enjoy and explore. Just contact our hotel staff to make your reservations for the visit of your dreams… today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chateau Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Bellevue Quebec City
Chateau Bellevue Hotel
Hotel Chateau Bellevue Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing