We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fine service, old building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Ranked #26 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2010

If you know what you're in for, it's great. We went to walk around the city and were rarely at the hotel but it was fine for that. I don't have much to add besides "in taste there is no argument. "Yes, the location is fabulous and the breakfasts are good and filling (though the dining space is too small if everyone eats at once). Yes the rooms are small and you can hear everything. The staff we dealt with were very nice. If you want a romantic view with great location and attentive staff, it's a good value. If you need more quiet, space or plumbing, pay more.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfestates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2010

My husband & I had a very enjoyable stay at the Hotel Chateau Bellvue. We stayed in a "deluxe" room which was large,clean, quiet and comfortable. The hotel is perfectly situated for all site-seeing. The continental breafast bar was well supplied and provided coffee and juice all day.The staff was extremely pleasant offering helpful hints and assisting with dinner suggestions & reservations.They even went out of their way to mail the leather coats that we had left behind, to our home.
The wine bar in the lobby was a great treat for that afternoon break from walking.We would stay here again,absolutely!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNM628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The only thing that's great about this hotel is the location. It's right across the park from the Chateau Frontenac and boardwalk area. The hotel itself and our room smelled strange. I've heard that there are many different room types at this hotel, and some are actually very nice. Ours, European 1 Double, was not. It was tiny and cramped which was fine, because we weren't going to spend a lot of room in it. However, the decor was very dated and worn. The bathroom was strange - like a hostel, and the shower was the worst I've ever experienced. It was tiny and the water was either freezing cold or burning hot. The walls must have been paper thin, because we could hear the conversations in the rooms around us, with the doors shut. This was especially irritating when our next door neighbors had a shouting match for 45 minutes early one morning.
The continental breakfast was okay. It was nice to start out our day with a full stomach. We liked that the tea and coffee were available 24/7. It was nice to have a warm cup in the evenings. If I ever return to Quebec, I will not be staying at this hotel, and I definitely would NOT recommend it. Spend a little more and stay somewhere decent. We were there for four nights, and we never wanted to go back to the room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMAvaverona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

My stay at the hotel was great indeed! First, the location of the hotel is near the boardwalk and a short walk to the restaurants, cafes and shops - that is why the price is a bit high (about 175$ incl. taxes). Second, the room was nice and clean. The towels were changed and the restroom was cleaned everyday. Third, breakfast was very good and I was also able to make myself a few bagels for my daily trips, no questions asked. Water, juice, tea and coffee were available throughout the whole day. Computer with Internet access was also available in the lobby. Valet parking (17$ incl. taxes) was really convenient, especially since there is no-where to park in Old Quebec. The staff was always really nice and helpful. I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Chateau Bellevue. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Since I have had knee replacement surgery, I had asked for a room that had easy access. We only had the front stairs to climb, and we were put in a lovely room on the 1st floor. The room was a decent size and had two leather chairs for relaxing. The room was quiet, clean and well kept. They did have a complimentary breakfast - this was ok. They had the usual cereal, toast, fruit and crepes. The hotel is in a great location. We faced a park and the St. Lawrence River and were two blocks from Rue St. Louis and some great dining.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tango2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel chateau bellevue. when we arrived we easily parked outside the hotel and checked in without issue. parking is very reasonable at $15 per day - valet service which is great when you've had a long drive to Quebec city. Our room was 315 - it faced the front of the hotel and was overall acceptable. The room was quite small - probably the smallest hotel room we've ever had. However, this is to be expected in old quebec in these old buildings. The room itself was quiet, but you could hear hallway and elevator noise from inside the room. The room and hotel in general is very clean and they have a very nice lobby with sitting area and breakfast area. The fact that breakfast was included in the price was convenient and great; it was basic continental but satisfying. Coffee juice and water are all available in the lobby at all times. All in all (with room, parking and taxes) we paid about $210 per night, and considered this expensive for the size of the room and bathroom. However, the location cannot be beat - you're in the heart of old quebec without the noise and congestion. We wouldnt hesitate to return to this hotel as the service was great and it was very clean and quiet, but we would possilby look around for somewhere with larger rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjr006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missgauvin, Responsable réception at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2010
Google Translation

The Direction of the Hotel Château Bellevue wants to underline that we have large rooms available at the hotel. These rooms are considered as our deluxe rooms and have a king size bed in it. You will find also a small living room space and a newly renovated bathroom with a therapeutic bath. These rooms are twice the size of a regular room and we have some facing the park and the river and others facing the street beside the hotel.
_________________________________

La Direction de l’Hôtel Château Bellevue veut souligner que nous avons des chambres nouvellement rénovées beaucoup plus grandes disponibles à l’hôtel. Ces chambres sont nommées comme étant des chambres « deluxes ». Vous y trouvez un grand lit king à l’intérieur. Vous trouverez également un petit espace salon et une salle de bain moderne comprenant un bain thérapeutique. Ces chambres sont deux fois la grandeur d’une chambre régulière. Certaines d’entres elles font face au parc et au fleuve et d’autres donnent sur une petite rue du Vieux-Québec sur le côté de l’hôtel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed 5 nights in queen room. Room was tight even for two but well kept and great view overlooking park/river. Directly next to Frontenac and steps from Citadel. The location cannot be topped for the money. Excellent continental breakfast included in price ($159/night). Staff was very pleasant and helpful. We would stay here again but it might be worth the extra $30/night for larger room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slip460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
1,495 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
982 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Bellevue

Address: 16 Rue La Porte, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#32 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £65 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chateau Bellevue: Quiet comfort assured in the heart of Old QuebecAny reason to visit Quebec City is a great opportunity to stay at Hotel Chateau Bellevue… a perfect location in the heart of Old Quebec, near Dufferin Terrace and the Citadel, with views of Parc des Gouverneurs and the mighty Saint Lawrence River. Come enjoy the historic charm of North America’s only fortified city, discover an exceptionally beautiful architectural heritage, and bask in the comfort and quality service that only a hotel like ours can provide.At Hotel Chateau Bellevue, exceptional comfort and a warm family atmosphere live in peaceful coexistence with all the excitement Old Quebec has to offer, including a front-row seat of major events. Whether you’re passing through Quebec City on business, or looking for a romantic getaway, or sharing a tour with friends, you’ll soon find Hotel Chateau Bellevue has everything it takes to make your visit a success.Hotel Chateau Bellevue also has an awesome array of tour packages for every possible interest. Fine dining, culture, outdoor activities… Whatever you’re looking for, you’ll find terrific options to enjoy and explore. Just contact our hotel staff to make your reservations for the visit of your dreams… today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Chateau Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Bellevue Quebec City
Chateau Bellevue Hotel
Hotel Chateau Bellevue Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing