We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic french hotel in the middle of city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marie Rollet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marie Rollet
Ranked #28 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Chic french hotel in the middle of city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Price fairly costly being in the middle of peak season. No breakfast included. We did get basement room which was very hard to get suitcases down to but it was very nicely furnished and felt very European being under ground level. Memorable. Reception very nice and helpful. Entrance is narrow and very hard to get large suitcases up into a staircase. Location is very good - right in the heart of Quebec City. Fantastic to take a break and have a nap! Did have to pay extra for parking so factor that in - I think $14 a day. Overall happy.

Room Tip: If international traveller don't get a basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    59
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
26
63
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We just returned from a week long trip to Montreal, Quebec, and Vermont. Marie Rollet was by far the worst place we stayed out of 5 hotels. I am used to small hotels, bed and breakfasts, and even hostels, so a small charming hotel to drop our bags and go sounded perfect and we were lured in with its "location". Niether of us are travelers who spend much time in the room anyway. When we arrived the first thing we noticed was the overwhelming smell of mildew and rotten fruit in our room. It was very pungent and we could not find the source. We were told it would be a queen bed but we were greeted with a full and there was a cigarette burn on the comforter. Even as a smoker, I was slightly disgusted. We promptly removed the comforter only to find some incredibly tattered old blankets underneath accompanied by some scratchy sheets. The head board had "something" translucent that had obviously dripped down it and dried and was not cleaned up. The wall paper was torn slightly, and the room in general was just outdated. Not having breakfast wasn't a big deal to me, but all hotels should at least have real coffee. This hotel had a coffee vending machine in its non existant lobby. The water pressure coming out of the shower felt as if you were being power washed and the lack of a plastic shower curtain, only relying on a piece of cloth made us immidiately realize why the room smelled like mildew, water went everywhere, to the point that I didn't even bother taking a shower the next day. The location was an absolute plus though, Quebec being full of steep hills, this hotel was only one street below the citadelle, and on the same level as the statue where all the street performers do their acts. That being said, if you have knee, back or heart issues, this hotel is NOT for you. The steps to even get into the "reception" area of the hotel are the steepest I've seen, and the long steps to get up to our third floor room were a workout in themselves. There was a third floor rooftop terrace that was a nice addition. I've stayed in hostels in third world countries that were kept up better than this place, and I would hope that they would do everything in their power to update and clean up Room 22.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookbynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
begody, Owner at Hotel Marie Rollet, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear client, thank you for your review! We are sorry if you don't like your stay with us! I would have appreciated than you called me about thoses problems.... when people have a problem with the stairs we try to give a room on the main floor. Also we don't have a lobby an elevator because we are in a historique house build in 1876. But Mona, our housekeeper, is with us since 17 years ans she clean each room everyday, all my guest apprciate her. The room you had was rebuil in 2010, new toilet, new carpet, new ceramic, new air conditioning system, new paint (but it's true we don't change one wall of wall paper).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

Being at a quiet corner of old Quebec is an ideal location for us who are in Quebec City for 2 nights. Room 2 that we stayed in is on the main floor, so we didn't need to lug our bags up and down steep steps. Unfortunately, though the room was clean and liveable, the noise surrounding the room was beyond our limits. U can hear water running from the room beside ours. From the cistern filling up to water gushing from the shower and tap to people hanging around the coffee machine, it stops u from having a sleep-in. Pillows are lumpy which provides no support n comfort, but the bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumbailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay at Marie Rollet. The staff was very helpful with directions and suggestions. Our room was comfortable, quiet and clean. The location is fantastic! I would return to this establishment again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkhesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

The location cannot be beat--walking distance to just about everything and staying in Old Quebec is absolutely the way to enjoy your stay. The rooms are clean, but small. It would not generally be an issue but both my husband and I were ill one day--it was a lot of time in a very small space, with no real place to sit other than the bed.

Bathrooms are clean, but towels are kind of thin. Just a nit, not a deal breaker.

Staff were friendly, and helpful but this is not a full service hotel. If you need a concierge and a lot of hand holding, skip it for a bigger establishment.

I was interested to read that people on the first floor had no noise issues. We were in room 11 (top of stairs on second floor) and heard every person come and go. It was not a big problem, but if one is a light sleeper, it could be.

All in all, the location wins hands down.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minneapolis_MNRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

I spent three nights at Hotel Marie-Rollet, thought the accommodations were wonderful and would recommend this charming bed and breakfast-style establishment to other travelers. The hotel is small (probably 12 rooms total) as it occupies a former home or townhouse-type building but my room was large and the small size of this inn gives it a sense of authenticity and coziness.

The furniture is nice and comes from an earlier era (as do many of the interior decorating touches) so the rooms, while not "modern" are well-appointed. The cushion to one of the chairs seemed to sag a bit and maybe could have used some repair; but, the bed was super firm and I got a great nights sleep each night.

The hotel is located in the Upper Town and the location is fantastic since it is right by the intersection of two handy streets - Rue Chauveau leads down (a short walk) to some nice restaurants, an Irish pub and some shopping and Rue Ste Anne leads to the Place d'Armes by the Chateau Frontenac. It is also more or less across from city hall.

The hotel does not have a computer or entertainment-type area or lounge. However, I did not find this to be a problem as the room came with cable tv, the hotel offers free wifi for people who have laptops and there are a couple of internet cafes that are relatively close by. The hotel does not have food service but it does provide handy vouchers to use at a nice place that is probably no more than a block and a half or so away. Not a big deal in my book.

I met the owner of the hotel during my stay and can say that he was very friendly, considerate and extremely helpful (offered tips re: sight-seeing, arranged for a cab to the airport, etc.). It was clear he took pride in his establishment and wanted his guests to enjoy their stay. The other staff seemed friendly and eager to help as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m0ntecarl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Even though this place is classified as a "Bed and Breakfaxt", there is no breakfast available at this hotel. The rooms are small, and the staircase is steep (no elevator). Still, you can expect that in an old building like this. The rooms need some repairs, and the sheets. towels, carpets, and furniture are worn. Service at the hotel was reasonably good. The one great thing about this hotel is the location in the center of Old Quebec within easy walking distance of all the attractions.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
begody, Owner at Hotel Marie Rollet, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear client, thank you for your review! We are sorry than you don't see on our web site than we don't have breakfast, we have free coffee every morning. But we give you a coupon of 20% discount for a good breakfast in one restaurant close from our hotel (1 minute walking distance). It's also true than we don't have elevator, it's a historique house and we can not intall one. But we invested 100,000.$ in 2010 to refresh the hotel and we thing most of our customer appreciate it. But we take a note of your comments and we will try to improve ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#61 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#46 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin
#39 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge du Tresor
Auberge du Tresor
#14 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marie Rollet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marie Rollet

Property: Hotel Marie Rollet
Address: 81, rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marie Rollet 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Marie Rollet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marie Rollet Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing