We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of C3 Hotel art de vivre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
C3 Hotel art de vivre
Ranked #19 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This little hotel is so well thought out, down to the smallest detail. The staff is so lovely and helpful. The breakfast conversation with the other guests was a delight. It was our favorite hotel by far in our stay in Quebec. If we come back for another visit we will spend our entire stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    139
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
84
224
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sand Lake, New York, United States
Level Contributor
347 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Spent 2 nights at the Inn in a basement room. Room was very comfortable, clean and quaint. Only complaint is that the A/C unit was very noisy, but nights were cool so we shut off the A/C, opened the tiny windows and were quite comfortable. If it was hot and A/C was needed, we would have asked for another room. Breakfast was delicious, coffee good and croissants warm. Staff was very friendly.

The Inn is in a great location with easy access to the walled city, parks, restaurants and other sights. Rooftop seating/lounge is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Basement rooms have tiny windows and noisy A/C. Ask for upper level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We believe booking.com may have gotten our booking wrong- we asked for 2 beds, instead got a double bed. We had to go find a new lodging for the rest of our stay. But they let us out of our reservation, and helped in any way they could. I would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Be specific about the number of beds required
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a basement room which was well-appointed. It is located on a beautiful street within the museum district and within walking distance to most of the city attractions and dining. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the main floor. The stairs can be challenging with luggage. But the loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msmoniebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had room 101, which had no space around an inferior and pretty small queen mattress to walk. No one informed us of the room on the roof to enjoy the view or provided any amenities like crumpets late afternoon as shown on your pr slides.
The bathroom was small and set up so unless you arranged the shower to go into a corner, it flooded the room. I felt like the misbehaving child looking in the corner.

Coffee/tea should have been available other than at breakfast. Absolutely no attempt to help us leave by 6 a.m. for a flight by providing coffee or tea or juice.
A nicely set up but skimpy buffet was present in the morning. There was a $9.00 charge above room charge for this. Hospitality ? I think not. No staff interacting or sharing ideas with the guests. I know they call this a hotel, but it was not much bigger than my home and no elevator for handicapped which would automatically not be licensed in the U.S.

Location was good, loved the "little town" down the street. A small area with little shops, bakeries, and restaurants of varying quality.

A music festival was going on the 4 days we stayed there, and obviously they charged what they could get. It was about $185 per night for less than a motel 6. This is not our first trip to CA, but if it were, I would not return.

Room Tip: I would suggest finding another place to stay.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle O, Responsable réception at C3 Hotel art de vivre, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Mrs,


First I would like to thank you for writing and sharing your comments concerning your recent stay. We really appreciate that you took the time to write to us and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us.


First of all, please know that all our rooms are different, there are some larger and some smaller. The smallest is the economic room, like the one you chose, which are for passersby who are here for only a few nights and are looking to save moneywise. When you arrived in the room, you should have came to the front desk immediately and it would have been our pleasure to accomadate you the best way we could. As for informing you about the terrace, unfortunately being high season things go fast, we try our best to inform our clientele of our little extra amenities, like free coffee or tea available 24/7 in our loung area, there was probably a lack of time upon check-in, we are sorry if this was omitted. However, there are several signs in the hotel which indicate that we have a rooftop terrace over the 3rd floor. Also, when customers request an early check-out and inform us the night before we are more than happy to prepare a lunch bag with orange juice, bagel, croissant, fruit & cheese to send them off. It is unfortunate that you did not get a chance to enjoy these little extras. Rest assure that every effort is maintained by the hotel staff to provide an exceptionally friendly and efficient service, when a breakdown like this occurs, as in your situation, we take it very seriously.


Again, thank you for taking the time to bring this issue to our attention. It is through comments such as yours that we are made aware and are able to prevent as much as possible any recurrence.


Of course, I totally understand that these words are coming a little late to you and will not compensate you for not enjoying your stay at our property. We value your business and hope this incident will not keep you from choosing Auberge du Quartier in the future. With this in mind, please accept a gift certificate you may use for your next stay with us, one we guarantee will fulfill your needs.


I sincerely hope that next time you will be Quebec City you will consider staying with us and give us a second chance to serve you beyond your expectations.

Thank you,

Joannie Malenfant
Frontdesk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Folks, An interesting inn in a beautiful area however the basement rooms which are called the first floor by the inn keepers feel damp and very close. Even with A/C and bathroom fan running the room is still damp.

Be certain to make reservations in the upper rooms which i hope are better.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Really nice hotel, very clean and modern, the room was spacious. I was greet with a warm and friendly smile when I arrived. Great location, as much as enjoy walking, it got to me after a while of going back and forth since is was very hot. Like it was a hike to Saint-Jean Street from the hotel. There is also some shops and restaurant just a block away on Au Cartier which was also very convenient, and lets not forget the Plains of Abraham which is directly across the street. It was indeed a great value!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eshwar2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C3 Hotel art de vivre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C3 Hotel art de vivre

Property: C3 Hotel art de vivre
Address: 170 Grande Allee Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 2G9, Canada (Formerly Auberge du Quartier)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Montcalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#33 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — C3 Hotel art de vivre 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your C3 Hotel art de vivre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Quartier Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Du Quartier Quebec City
C3 Hotel Art De Vivre Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing