We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - continental breakfast so/so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Chateau de Pierre
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Owner was very welcoming and helpful. Room was beautiful and romantic. View of Chateau Frontenac from our room (#1) was great. Very well maintained. Only complaint would be warm OJ and lack of breakfast items. Ran out of muffins one morning... Only had oranges and bananas. Could add some bagels with jams or similar type of bakery item as part of the continental breakfast. Will nonetheless return to this spot - which is in a very convenient location in Old Quebec (which by the way, is incredible - better than Old Montreal and the Ottawa Byward Market).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ottawa026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

We just spent one night at Le Chateau de Pierre and I very much recommend it. As noted, a great location, a few minutes walk to the boardwalk in front of the Frontenac, and in perfect walking distance to the fort and the tourist attractions of old Quebec.

Quebec City is packed right now, so rooms were tough to find at the last minute, I'm glad that Chateau de Pierre was available, we would have extended if they had a room last night. Alas, they did not.

Parking is 150 yards away, in a municipal parking garage, $20 for 24 hours. The garage is tight for a pickup truck, but it fit.

Breakfast (coffee, OJ, muffin & yoghurt) is served in the entry hall, we ate in the garden, a plesant walled space accessed by going back upstairs then down the fire escape. (not as difficult as it sounds!)

Checkout is at noon, but they will happily hold your bags for you till you retreive your wheels, simplifying departure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chasinUpstateNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

went in May with a girlfriend and the location was perfect, right in the heart of old quebec. Our room was clean and the staff were so nice and accomodating. I would definately go back to this hotel. A nice european flair to add to the city!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Very beautiful both inside and out. Excellent service. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoegirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My wife and I travel every year to someplace in the world and this year we visited Quebec. And we chose Le Chateau de Pierre to be our home away from home. Our survey of B&Bs on the internet determined that 'Pierre' provided the best overall value. We booked months in advance (best choice of rooms), Pierre honored American Express (good for our travel point program!), and the price/value advertised was better than those investigated.

The room was excellent (request #1) and provided a view of the park, waterway, and the nearby "castle". Richard takes great pride in his B&B and is an excellent host. This is a B&B that has rooms in the European tradition - limited size, interesting bathrooms, and requires use of stairs. The largest trade-off is Pierre doesn't have a breakfast room per se, rather their conteniental breakfast is best experience in the courtyard (weather permitting), or taken back to your room. Eating in the ground floor hall (where breakfast is served) isn't recommended unless you must have 'seconds', like pronto.

Bottom-line: great location, very fair price, and a price that provides a comfortable room. Be flexible about breakfast and you will have found an excellent value for your stay in old Quebec City.

Room Tip: Book as EARLY as practical. One party arrived (last minute), got the last room available, and then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Logical_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Perfect location, friendly staff, parking available (yes, you pay for it, but the convenience is worth it!). Room very European in style (clean, quaint, tiny bathroom ... but, hey, who wants a "motel" feel?) No elevator so be prepared for stairs.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We traveled for the marathon and this hotel was close to everything we needed. Our room was spacious and clean and although the bathroom was small, the shower was awesome.

The people were friendly and helpful. We certainly would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0 mi away
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#47 of 100 in Quebec City
257 reviews
0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 100 in Quebec City
616 reviews
0 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#2 of 100 in Quebec City
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 100 in Quebec City
1,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#34 of 100 in Quebec City
1,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
#12 of 100 in Quebec City
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Pierre

Address: 17 Ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £73 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Chateau de Pierre 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Chateau de Pierre, an intimate hotel located in the heart of Old Quebec, is distinguished by its English-Colonial charm. Each room offers quality, comfort and good taste. Some have a view of the St Lawrence, others, adjoining balconies overlooking the garden. The hotel is located in one of the most picturesque areas of Old Quebec, set back from the Citadelle and close to the Chateau Frontenac, boutiques, historic sites and the winter carnival activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Chateau de Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Pierre Hotel Quebec City
Le Chateau De Pierre Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing