We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Chateau de Pierre
Ranked #37 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Le Chateau de Pierre is located in the heart of old Quebec City in the upper town. It is located just off the main park, near the Chateau Frontenac. As others have said, the Pierre is a reflection of old world charm. The rooms are nicely decorated. Not what you would expect in a modern chain hotel. If you are looking for small, charming and in the old town, then the Pierre is a good choice.

The owners are extremely friendly and great hosts. Parking is provided for a fee in an underground parking complex near the B&B. (parking is discounted for guests).

You are less than a five minute walk to old town restaurants and the beautiful boardwalk. The Citadel is location behind the hotel.

My only complaints about our room were the small size of the bathroom and the lack of windows. I like fresh air for sleeping and the only window in our room had an a/c unit so it couldn't be opened. My wife didn't like the pillows.

Breakfast is included. It includes a buffets of breads, fruit, cereal, croissants, bagels, cheese, boiled eggs, yogurt, coffee, tea and juice. They cannot cook hot foods due to regulations but you get more than enough to prepare you for the day's exploration.

There is an outdoor courtyard to enjoy an afternoon coffee or glass of wine.

All in all a very good experience at the Pierre. No hesitations in recommending it for your next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanHOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    140
    26
    2
    5
See reviews for
61
161
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The moment you walk in you know this is not a typical hotel. There is no reception. Just a bell. The owners (a very kind & helpful couple) then find you and show you around. My room was wonderful and had a stone balcony looking over the river and the chateau. The bed was very comfortable. The room clean, the decor and furniture wonderfully old fashioned. Perfect for a single traveler who is looking for something with local character.

I failed to show up the first night but since it was not my fault the owners cut 50% on the charge with no taxes, which was fair given the time of year. There is an adequate breakfast (breads, boiled egg, coffee) served out of a little family kitchen.

Plus side -- lovely old hotel, balcony, kind owners who were will be considerate if you have a legitimate travel problem. Also the location is fantastic. Right near the old town area but still quiet at night. My room was ~150 CAD a night which though not cheap was very good value.

Minus side -- Nothing for me. But I imagine a family might need a bigger full bathroom (my sink and shower were separate) and if a huge breakfast is your priority this could be a factor to consider.

A great find. The owners here do a wonderful job.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor #7 it has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryGilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We visited Quebec City on the Victoria Day long weekend, and were very happy that we had chosen Le Chateau de Pierre for our three night stay. Min and her husband are very gracious hosts and will accommodate in every way possible to make your stay comfortable.
The location is excellent, within a few steps of the Frontenac, Dufferin Terrace and everything else Old Quebec has to offer.
Before booking I had read reviews that it had changed hands and had new hosts, so we were a bit hesitant, but once we got there we where happy we had chosen it. Also, the breakfast is great, as it gives you a head start before heading out to explore the city.

Room Tip: I called and requested the room with the balcony on the top floor(which was available) facing the F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsofmississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Min and all staff were very helpful and kind. Location can't be beat. Rooms very clean, small but efficient washroom, and great backyard and patio area! Would certainly come back and stay again. Loved this quaint as can be little city!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katydyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel is wonderful. The owners upgraded our room so we had lovely accommodations on the main floor, and therefore did not have to walk to the second floor. Parking was only a block away. The breakfasts were very good. The owners were extremely helpful in directing us to a convenient restaurant, and other points of interest.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms would be very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were very pleased with this old dame of a hotel with pleasant service. The parking is a couple blocks away, covered, for $20. Within walking distance of all the big attractions. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Great little B&B situated in the Shadow of the Chateau Frontenac, Close to all points of interest in old Quebec. My wife & i lived in Quebec for 30 years and were very happy we chose this little hotel to visit our old haunts and favourite restauants. The new owners Ron & Min are delightfull hosts. Continental breakfast was a surprise.

Room Tip: Liked the lower floor with King bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 mi away
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#42 of 101 in Quebec City
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
504 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#28 of 101 in Quebec City
929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sainte-Anne
Hotel Sainte-Anne
#40 of 101 in Quebec City
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
#52 of 101 in Quebec City
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Pierre

Property: Le Chateau de Pierre
Address: 17 av. Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Chateau de Pierre 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Chateau de Pierre, an intimate hotel located in the heart of Old Quebec, is distinguished by its English-Colonial charm. Each room offers quality, comfort and good taste. Some have a view of the St Lawrence, others, adjoining balconies overlooking the garden. The hotel is located in one of the most picturesque areas of Old Quebec, set back from the Citadelle and close to the Chateau Frontenac, boutiques, historic sites and the winter carnival activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Chateau de Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Pierre Hotel Quebec City
Le Chateau De Pierre Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing