We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Arriving in Quebec City, we were so happy to find that our hotel had probably the most perfect location. On the edge of the old town, just within the walls in a more peaceful that anywhere else- we could easily walk to everywhere. Our reception was really inviting too- we were shown to our room and given some suggestions about where to go/what to do as we just had one night in Quebec City. The room is very tastefully furnished- ideal amount of furniture for the space. It is a boutique hotel and the rooms obviously reflect that in size. Everything was clean and welcoming. Make sure to ask for the temperature control settings in advance however- it was a pain to figure out the centralized system later in the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nehaaurora11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
We are tickled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. One night is really too short for a Quebec City trip, so perhaps we will have the chance to welcome you again. Each room has an individual thermostat for your room, but we do also have a second additional thermostat to kick in the electric as well for those winter days that can be -30 to -40. (I know, scary cold!) I am sorry it was confusing to you, but because of the severe cold that has hit the North East this winter, we have had no choice but to implement the two systems to ensure our client's comfort. Thank you for your support and for having chosen to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    184
    17
    8
    0
See reviews for
137
784
51
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The place left some positive memories. Especially the staff was helpful and most of the things were functioning. The rooms could have been better equipped; the hotel is not cheap, but many simple things were missing, such as a kettle for boiling water. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Bonjour John, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us back in June 2013. You are absolutely correct about our location, as it is excellent! I am not sure which room you were in, but each room varies in size and style, and each category varies in pricing. You came during the high season, and during a conference, so yes, the rates in Old Quebec are definitely high during those high compression dates. We do continually watch the pricing in our area, and make sure we are competitively priced with the other hotels. I am a little suprised by the cleanliness rating, particularly because the hotel was renovated in January of 2013, and I am a stickler when it comes to cleanliness. In fact, most clients consistently comment on just how clean our rooms are. Perhaps we missed a detail in your room. We certainly wish you would have pointed it out, so that we could have addressed it. As for a boiler for tea in the room, we do have them available upon request, and you can always help yourself to hot water in the dining room. Obviously, we did not do a good job of letting you know that was available to you. Your experience is important to us, and your comments truly help us to do a better job, so I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is truly appreciated.

Have a fantastic 2014, and who knows, perhaps we will be fortunate to serve you once again in the future. Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A great find in Quebec City. This small "boutique" style hotel/B&B is in a great, quiet location facing the beautiful Esplanade Park. Walking distance to everything. Only 27 one of a kind rooms helps make this hotel something special. Clean, comfortable, room of a decent size. Very nicely appointed. Breakfast room in the lower part serving a nice selection breakfast items. The service was excellent. If you want a luxury hotel in Quebec City you don't need to pay outrageous prices. Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Since this is a boutique hotel with only 27 rooms do some research, ask questions and find the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borninthebronx54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you so very much for such a generous and informative review. I think your suggestion to inform yourself as to the various room choices is a great insight, as we can help you select a room category that best fits your needs, tastes and budget. Looking at the room categories on our web site is a great way to start.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and everyone on our team truly appreciates your input. New York is really not to far away, so I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you with us once again in the future. Un gros merci! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great little hotel with lots of charm and personal service. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh - hard-boiled eggs, pastries, yogurt, cereal, tea and coffee. Room was spotlessly clean. European room (4th floor) was fun, but watch your head on the low ceiling. Great view of the park across the road and the city lights. Staff was super super friendly and helpful, calling around and getting information for us (since we don't speak French) and making reservations. Room was super warm, shower was hot and great. Excellent location for walking around the Old City. Great value for money. It is an old building, and the walls are thin, but the other guests were quiet and respectful. Parking is an extra charge in an underground garage near-by. There is no elevator, so keep that in mind. Understated and unpretentious. Felt like home. Would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view of the park across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Classiccartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Bonjour and Happy New Year! Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Your tips are great, and the european rooms are very charming and full of character. Glad you liked them. This Christmas was unusually cold for us (-30 C), so the fact that you were warm and cozy in your room is truly important to us. Again, many thanks for the review, and thank you for choosing to spend your holidays with us. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you with us once again. Un gros merci! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We picked one cold weekend to visit Old Quebec City (-17F). Le Manoir d'Auteuil was easy to find and very comfortable. It seemed like like we were in France, with the exception that the staff was friendly and helpful! We had a great room with plenty of space for the two of us. Breakfast was very nice, especially the croissants. I'm looking forward to visiting again some time soon.

Room Tip: We had room 10 with a nice King bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Bonjour, and yes you were here on an exceptionally COLD day! Honestly, cold days like those (-30) are not uncommon in Quebec City during January, but very uncommon in December. You can imagine our heating bills! Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You stayed in one of our deluxe king rooms, situated on the back side of the hotel. Thank you for writing a review, and for your kind comments. We truly appreciate your support. We look forward to welcoming you here with us again in the future. We will have those fresh croissants waiting for you! Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A gem of a hotel within the walls of Old Quebec City.

Exceptional staff; professional, warm and friendly (Nancy, Arianna, Michel and Linda), who made our stay extremely welcoming.

Our hotel room("classic room" w/ queen bed) was beautifully decor'd, clean and cozy. Super comfortable bedding for good night's sleep.

Simple yet satisfying continental breakfast of freshly baked croissants and chocolatines, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, toast, coffee and tea.

Nice little bar for drinks.

Hotel is close to everything within the old city.

We will definitely return to this hotel when visiting again, simply because of the genuine staff and their superb service.

Highly Recommended!

Thank-you :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 8silverangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Bonjour "Silverangel" (I love your screen name),

Thank you so much for the kind review. I will show it to everyone on our team, and they will be absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am tickled you liked the decor and your room as well. Each room is unique in size and character, but overall the decor and quality of mattresses and bedding are the same in every room. Our sincerest appreciation goes out to you for taking the time to write and to share your experience with the travel community. I also want to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the wonderful support. We truly appreciate it!

I hope we will have the chance to welcome you with us once again in the future. Have a great winter and a festive holiday season ahead. Encore, un gros merci,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is a old building and it has some quirks that go with it. However this is part and parcel of what you get for staying in a piece of history.

That said, I had a great experience: the location is perfect, and makes it really easy to visit the city without being in the middle of the noisier are. The service was great: polite, genuinely keen to ensure you have a nice visit. My room was nice and comfortable and I had a great night's sleep. THe bathroom was probably a bit on the smaller side but it was functional.

The only thing I would have to say was that whilst I had communicated my flight plan well ahead to the hotel, I got called twice after I landed with the front desk insisting that the reception closed at 11pm and enquiring when I was gong to be there. As it turns out I was there at 10.50 but the fact that I had taken the precaution to give all my details only to be called on the day at the very moment my plane touched down was a bit weird. I would venture that when a client informs you that they are landing at 10.15pm, you either turn the reservation down, or you arrange to have the front desk stay open a bit later.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveling_Chuck_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Bonjour, and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. As for the two calls, yes, that is a little strange. My guess is that the reception called to confirm, and then the night person as well when their shift started. Regardless, because you did contact us with your flight details, there was no need for the follow-up and we probably did not correctly note the details in your reservation. My apologies. We definitely do make the occasional mistake.

But with that all said, I am glad you decided to experience the history and charm of Old Quebec by choosing a heritage property like ours. I truly feel that the small boutique hotels like ours are true treasures in Quebec City. They are really reminiscent of what you typically find in European cities such as Paris.....just much closer! Again, thank you for the review, and thank you for your support! Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
2,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 101 in Quebec City
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir d'Auteuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Property: Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Address: 49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Manoir d'Auteuil 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir d'Auteuil invites guests to enjoy the glamour and elegance of our French art deco boutique hotel. We offer visitors the charm of our historic building, the personal attention of our devoted multi-lingual staff and the special touches found in the smaller and intimate hotels in Quebec City. Our location inside the old city walls, across from the Parliament building and near the Quebec City Conference Center, is ideal for tourists, business visitors and travelers seeking romantic getaways in Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Manoir d'Auteuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir d`Auteuil Hotel Quebec City
Le Manoir D'Auteuil Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing