We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here while in Quebec City for the Winter Carnival, and it was wonderful! Dan and Linda were gracious, friendly, and very accommodating hosts, and went out of their way to make sure our stay was as comfortable as it could be. From parking to luggage storage to suggestions, everyone on staff went the extra mile for us. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast was very good. The location for Carnival events was perfect. We hope to have the opportunity to stay here again!

Room Tip: We had room 11, which faces front. The Carnival music from the live stage near the Ice Palace was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Bonjour and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are definitely front row to the Ice Castle, Fireworks and Carnaval Celebrations, so yes, it can be loud until 11pm on the weekends during Carnaval. But I think that is just part of the Winter Carnaval experience. I am delighted you enjoyed it so much. Dan and I really enjoyed meeting you, and we hope we will have the chance to welcome you with us here again. Room 11 is one of our classic queen rooms with the Parliament Views. For a quieter room, a room on the back is a great option, but you do give up the view. Take care, et un gros merci! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    180
    17
    8
    0
See reviews for
128
742
48
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of January and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very proactive in communicating with us from the time we booked to the time we checked in. Great service and attitude from the staff who helped us book a taxi to the airport and recommended some great restaurants. The breakfast was super and definitely worth the price. Location of the hotel is great, within the walls of old Quebec. If you care about the view from your window, you can ask for a room facing the park and the Parliament. We stayed on the 4th floor which is a couple of flights of stairs up so keep this in mind if you have trouble with stairs. The room doesn't have a closet and refrigerator but it fitted our needs because we were leaving very early the second morning for the airport and just needed a simple place to stay. I rate it 5 stars due to its great location and hospitality.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hlin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Bonjour Mme. Lin, First I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your suggestions about the stairs and views are great insights to share with the travelling community. You were in room 43, which is one of our european rooms, and is the smallest in that category, thus no closet. Even so, it is probably my personal favorite in the european category and is perfect for a short stay in Quebec City. I am delighted everyone on our team was so attentive. I will be sure to share the review with everyone, trust me, your comments will make them all smile today! Enjoy the upcoming year, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you here with us once again. Encore, un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I was looking for a hotel not too far from the conference center, and it would have been a fine commute except for the very cold weather and ice on the sidewalks. Live and learn.

The hotel was very charming. No lift (again; live and learn) but the people there couldn't have been nicer and the small bar on the ground floor was a godsend at the end of the day. And for the times I was able to get into Old Quebec, it was very well located for this as well. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 40 doesn't face the street and the morning traffic wouldn't wake me up - very nice of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Bonjour, and thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we did indeed assign you a room on the back side of the hotel, as you were here on business, we knew a solid night's sleep would be important. I am thrilled the room choice was the right one for you. We are just a short walk to the conference center entrance, but this year, the entire North East experienced some VERY SEVERE weather. This winter was quite exceptional as far as cold is concerned, so yes, I realize going outside was not fun. We are the closest hotel to the Conference center that is located within the walls of the old city, so we definitely get a lot of conference goers. I am glad you were able to take some time to visit the old city, and get a little sight seeing in as well. Thank you for your support, and for having chosen to stay with us. We really appreciate it. Have a wonderful 2014 ahead. Un gros merci! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Lovely little delightful boutique hotel. Excellent location right near great restaurants, shopping and sights. Our room was large and bright, the bed was very comfortable with lovely plump down pillows and the bathroom was newly renovated. The shower had good water pressure and was nice and hot….and the tiling was new and shiny and clean. The best part was the extremely charming front desk staff who went WAY out of their way to take care of any need or request with kindness, warmth and professionalism. We would like to return to Quebec City in the summer for hiking and kayaking and look forward to a return visit to Le Manoir d'Auteuil. Highly recommend!
Thank you to all of you at the hotel! Aimee and Bill

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Bonjour Aimee and Bill, Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. Everyone on our team will be thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I am not sure just which room you had stayed in, but all of the rooms have been updated and renovated. I am really tickled that you liked the room decor and tile work in the bathrooms. We have kept the historic art deco tilework in the historic bathrooms, (it is just too beautiful to change), but in all of the other rooms, we went with classic marbles and granites, as we felt it stayed true to the art deco history of the building. Glad you liked it! The european style rooms are our smallest, all the way up to our very spacious Deluxe King rooms and Junior Suites. I hope we will be able to welcome you with us once again for a summer visit! Take care et un gros merci! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Arriving in Quebec City, we were so happy to find that our hotel had probably the most perfect location. On the edge of the old town, just within the walls in a more peaceful that anywhere else- we could easily walk to everywhere. Our reception was really inviting too- we were shown to our room and given some suggestions about where to go/what to do as we just had one night in Quebec City. The room is very tastefully furnished- ideal amount of furniture for the space. It is a boutique hotel and the rooms obviously reflect that in size. Everything was clean and welcoming. Make sure to ask for the temperature control settings in advance however- it was a pain to figure out the centralized system later in the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nehaaurora11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
We are tickled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. One night is really too short for a Quebec City trip, so perhaps we will have the chance to welcome you again. Each room has an individual thermostat for your room, but we do also have a second additional thermostat to kick in the electric as well for those winter days that can be -30 to -40. (I know, scary cold!) I am sorry it was confusing to you, but because of the severe cold that has hit the North East this winter, we have had no choice but to implement the two systems to ensure our client's comfort. Thank you for your support and for having chosen to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The place left some positive memories. Especially the staff was helpful and most of the things were functioning. The rooms could have been better equipped; the hotel is not cheap, but many simple things were missing, such as a kettle for boiling water. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Bonjour John, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us back in June 2013. You are absolutely correct about our location, as it is excellent! I am not sure which room you were in, but each room varies in size and style, and each category varies in pricing. You came during the high season, and during a conference, so yes, the rates in Old Quebec are definitely high during those high compression dates. We do continually watch the pricing in our area, and make sure we are competitively priced with the other hotels. I am a little suprised by the cleanliness rating, particularly because the hotel was renovated in January of 2013, and I am a stickler when it comes to cleanliness. In fact, most clients consistently comment on just how clean our rooms are. Perhaps we missed a detail in your room. We certainly wish you would have pointed it out, so that we could have addressed it. As for a boiler for tea in the room, we do have them available upon request, and you can always help yourself to hot water in the dining room. Obviously, we did not do a good job of letting you know that was available to you. Your experience is important to us, and your comments truly help us to do a better job, so I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is truly appreciated.

Have a fantastic 2014, and who knows, perhaps we will be fortunate to serve you once again in the future. Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A great find in Quebec City. This small "boutique" style hotel/B&B is in a great, quiet location facing the beautiful Esplanade Park. Walking distance to everything. Only 27 one of a kind rooms helps make this hotel something special. Clean, comfortable, room of a decent size. Very nicely appointed. Breakfast room in the lower part serving a nice selection breakfast items. The service was excellent. If you want a luxury hotel in Quebec City you don't need to pay outrageous prices. Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Since this is a boutique hotel with only 27 rooms do some research, ask questions and find the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borninthebronx54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you so very much for such a generous and informative review. I think your suggestion to inform yourself as to the various room choices is a great insight, as we can help you select a room category that best fits your needs, tastes and budget. Looking at the room categories on our web site is a great way to start.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and everyone on our team truly appreciates your input. New York is really not to far away, so I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you with us once again in the future. Un gros merci! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir d'Auteuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Property: Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Address: 49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Manoir d'Auteuil 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir d'Auteuil invites guests to enjoy the glamour and elegance of our French art deco boutique hotel. We offer visitors the charm of our historic building, the personal attention of our devoted multi-lingual staff and the special touches found in the smaller and intimate hotels in Quebec City. Our location inside the old city walls, across from the Parliament building and near the Quebec City Conference Center, is ideal for tourists, business visitors and travelers seeking romantic getaways in Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Manoir d'Auteuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir d`Auteuil Hotel Quebec City
Le Manoir D'Auteuil Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing