We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique Hotel in Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel in Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I just returned from a 2-night weekend getaway in Quebec City. We chose this hotel based on it’s great reviews and location inside the walls of Old Town Quebec.

Location couldn’t be better. You are within the historical walls of the city and many of the attractions are within quick walking distance like Rue St. Jean, Chateau Frontenac, The Citadelle and The Plains of Abraham. Old Town is quite hilly so some leg strength is required to get around, but it is surly worth it for some awesome views.

The hotel itself is quite historic. It looked like it was an old apartment residence back in the day. There are no elevators so our room required walking up to the 3rd floor. Also the washroom in the room is up a set of stairs (never seen that before), so if stairs aren’t your thing you would have to try and secure a ground floor room.

The room was anything but modern, but was clean, welcoming and retained much of its old charm. The TV was in quite an unusual spot on the wall. As this is a small boutique hotel it lacks some modern amenities and in-room features like a gym, pool, bar fridge and ice machine (ice was available at the bar via the front desk attendant).

Our package included breakfast which was light but very high-quality with freshly baked croissants, yogurt and fruit. We were also offered a free pint of beer each which we enjoyed on their outdoor terrace one afternoon. There was Wi-Fi included but it was quite slow. Parking was offered around the block for 18 dollars a day which wasn’t the ideal scenario but given the historic location, not unexpected.

While the hotel has limited staff (the front desk agent was also the bartender) they always did their best to meet your needs and were fluently bilingual.

If you are looking for a historic boutique hotel in Old Town Quebec and don’t mind forgoing some modern amenities of a larger chain then this would be the perfect choice.

Room Tip: No elevator on property so higher floors require stairs. Washroom also requires stairs (not sure if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CardioCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Bonjour, and thank your for taking a moment to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we are most certainly not like a chain hotel. For a chain hotel experience, you really need to stay outside of the walls. Quebec City dates to 1608, and so as you can imagine, all of the historic properties within the walls, such as ourselves, are very unique and full of historic charm. I sincerely think that this is why we choose to stay inside the walls, to experience a bye gone era. The city also dates to an era before cars, so parking is limited. We are very fortunate that we have parking so close! I most certainly agree with you, the views are worth it! Again, thank you for your support and we are glad you chose to stay with us. Enjoy your travels ahead! Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    176
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
127
725
47
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and found the hotel lived up to previous reviews. It was quiet and very clean, close to the touristy part of old town, but away from the bustle. The room was small but nicely appointed. Breakfast was great and the staff were very helpful. We highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSilverSpring_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Bonjour, and thank you for taking a moment to write a review. As you commented, you were in a small room, so it would have been one of our european or classique queen rooms. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with you, the location is ideal. The rooms on the back of the building are very quiet, but the view rooms will definitely experience the city noise, although away from the hustle and bustle....we are still in the city center! Thank you for your support and for choosing to stay with us. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you with us again in the future. Enjoy the rest of summer! Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is absolutely one of the best hotels to stay at when visiting Quebec City.
The staff was attentive and very helpful. Rooms are good size and very clean. Beds were very comfortable. This hotel is close enough to everything you want to see and do, yet far enough from the noisy tourist areas. You can' t go wrong choosing Le Manior d' Auteuil...

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielcZ1854RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Bonjour, and thank you for taking a moment to give us a review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your room tip is duly noted, and I agree, the views are fabulous. The city sounds, however, may be too loud for some, and in this case a garden level or room on the back side would be best. Our deluxe king rooms and junior suites are very spacious. The queen rooms all vary in size, but they are smaller in size, with the european rooms, situated on the fourth floor being the most "petite". I just want to take this opportunity to highlight the size difference, as room size is important to some. I personally really like the petit rooms, situated on the 4th floor. Room 43, is the smallest of the european rooms, but one of my favorites because I love the view of the Price Building lit up at night through the dormer window.

Again, many thanks for the review and for your support. We really depend on word of mouth, as we do not have the advertising budget that the larger hotels do. Un gros merci, and I hope we will have the chance to welcome you with us once again. Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights recently during the music festival. It was our second stay at Le Manoir d'Auteuil. We stayed in room 8 (Edith Piaf suite). The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom is as large as the room space, and has some unusual quirks...i.e. no soap dish or counter space (to hold a shampoo bottle for instance) in the shower. The staff is accommodating and very pleasant. We love the location. The hotel's parking situation is not the best, but that's a minor annoyance. The only reason we did not give a 5 star rating is that we have stayed in places that provide a greater degree of "luxury" (however you define that)...but Le Manoir has character and charm. We plan to return again, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank N_M_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Bonjour, and thank you for taking a moment to write a review. We truly appreciate it. You know, we had to redo this shower in room 8, and that is why there is no soap dish......we forgot it when we re-tiled! This will be a project for us in the low season, as we missed this detail in a few of the rooms during the remodel. Thanks for the comment, as it is a great reminder for us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we most definitely look forward to welcoming you with us once again. You are absolutly correct, there are definitely luxury hotels that offer more luxury services than we do, but we certainly make every attempt to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for your continued support, and à la prochain! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here in July during the Quebec Music Festival. The location is excellent - inside the city walls and just adjacent to Rue St Louis, which runs down to the Terrace Dufferin and all the sights. It's also a great location to explore the city walls. Parking was available nearby and was very convenient. It seemed no matter where we were in Old Quebec, our hotel was just 5 minutes away.

The hotel itself is a wonder. It is an original building which is lovingly looked after; considering both the requirements of guests (every whim considered!) and the architecture of the building. The owners have really thought about the decor, and it is lovely to see their touch in the fittings and design of the rooms. The common areas are really beautiful - some fantastic deco pieces and design integrated well into the hotel usage. Rooms vary in size - ours was a good king-sized one at the front overlooking the park. Great view, but well insulated from noise. Air-conditioning was perfect; hot water aplenty, rooms have a fridge and a large TV. Free, excellent, wifi. Rooms and hotel generally were spotless. I really want to visit in winter to use the stoves in the room.

Finally the owners and staff were amazing and made the visit. They really take the time to say hello and give good tips on what to do in the area. This personal touch goes a long way to making a great holiday - thanks so much for making ours in Quebec so memorable. Hope to revisit some winter :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Greetings to Dublin! Thank you so very much for taking a moment to write a review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Manoir. We most definitely try to accommodate any requests by clients, and although not always possible, we do our best to do so. It really helps when our clients communicate those preferences with us. I am also glad that you found the room well enough insulated from the city sounds. That is not always the case for some travellers, so it is important to keep in mind when reserving. The quietest rooms are on the back side of the building and at the garden level, but hey, in my opinion, the view is worth the city noise!

It was truly a pleasure meeting you both and speaking with you during your stay. As you know, I am an art deco fan, and it was so much fun discussing the art deco possibilities with you! In your part of the world, there are some amazing art deco and art nouveau finds. Look on ebay, especially in the London area, and you will be amazed!

Again, my sincerest appreciation for the support and for taking a moment to write a review. We truly appreciate it. Un gros merci, et à la prochain.....Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a middle of the night issue at an apartment we rented and we ended up finding Le Manior d'Auteuil and couldn't have been more pleased. The room was spacious and clean, the front desk staff was friendly and helpful and the location was great. We had a lovely room on the second floor facing the park. It was quiet (you could hear the clip clop of the horse drawn carriages but that added to the atmosphere) and a perfect place to stay. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berkeleymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Bonjour, and I am so glad you found us! Yes, the rooms on the second floor facing the park are either deluxe kings or junior suites. They are very spacious rooms, which is very unusual for rooms within the walls, as all of these buildings date to the early 1800's. Some people do find the park side rooms too noisy because of the city sounds, but if you are accustomed to the sounds of people and cars in a city, these sounds really won't bother you. I too love the clip clops of the horse and buggy passing by!

Our Queen rooms and European rooms are quite a bit smaller, and are much more typical of the rooms sizes you would find within the walls. Thank you for taking a moment to share experience with us with the travel community. We truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again in the future, and I hope you enjoyed your trip to Canada! Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
228 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This small boutique hotel located on Rue d'Auteuil is placed exactly between Vieux Quebec and the new part of the city, making it an easy walk to either. There are 27 rooms of varying size and furnishings and the junior suites feature art deco style.
Our delightful "executive" suite (room #1) was exceedingly spacious, with its own separate bedroom and living room. The bed was a four poster, the ceiling lamps were deco, and books lined the living room walls on either side of the fireplace. Our one window faced the lovely linear Esplanade Park across the street.
The multi-lingual staff was always most helpful and friendly - Nancy at the front desk, Michel in the bar and the front desk, Tonya in charge of the breakfast room, and, most of all, the owners and managers Linda and Dan, who go out of their way to assist you. I became ill on a Thursday and Linda arranged for a clinic to see me the next day, which was just before a holiday weekend. My recovery began right away.
The hotel lounge serves breakfast and is open for drinks and snacks all afternoon and into the evening. Arriving late on a weekday, we were able to get a pizza and drinks that evening. The breakfast consists of good coffee, a fine fresh croissant and fresh fruit.
The original 1835 stone walls and arched stone entrance still stand. The house changed hands twice more before Dr. Jos A. Paquet, the chief surgeon of both city hospitals became the owner. It was he who infused the house in 1933 with art deco design, hiring the premiere Beaux-Arts architect of Canada — J. Omer Marchand, who is remembered most for his work on the reconstruction of the Canadian Parliament building in Ottawa. His ironwork doors and stairway railings, marble bathrooms and intricate woodwork can be found throughout the house. The famous French singer Edith Piaf was among the admiring visitors.
If you love boutique hotels, staff who make you feel at home, excellent service and a great location, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want room to move about, the suites are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roamin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Bonjour Roamin88! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complete review. I remember you and your husband well. I think you chose the perfect room for your stay, The Omer Marchand Historic Junior Suite. Clearly, you love history and the wonder of a time gone by. This room is very special due to the design of the space by Omer Marchand. The woodwork and chandeliers, even the Marconi radio, all original and designed by this famous architect. When M. Marchand designed and oversaw this project, it was in the 1930's after a fire that destroyed the interior of the building. His art deco influences are still present throughout the first and second floor of the building. If you are a fan of this era, you really need to reserve an historic junior suite: the Omer Marchand, Edith Piaf, or Amyotte. These 3 rooms are very spacious and still have much of the original art deco details from the 1930's.

Again, many thanks and we truly appreciate your support! Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir d'Auteuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Property: Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Address: 49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Manoir d'Auteuil 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir d'Auteuil invites guests to enjoy the glamour and elegance of our French art deco boutique hotel. We offer visitors the charm of our historic building, the personal attention of our devoted multi-lingual staff and the special touches found in the smaller and intimate hotels in Quebec City. Our location inside the old city walls, across from the Parliament building and near the Quebec City Conference Center, is ideal for tourists, business visitors and travelers seeking romantic getaways in Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Manoir d'Auteuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir d`Auteuil Hotel Quebec City
Le Manoir D'Auteuil Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing