We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different, yet enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Different, yet enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just spent 3 nights at Le Manoir and enjoyed it. It's a quirky little hotel. Definitely not the traditional inn we were expecting. But the room was nice, the bathroom was very nice, everything was clean, and the people were wonderful. They people at the front desk had excellent recommendations on what we should do in the city, and where we should eat. They called for additional information when necessary, made reservations, gave us maps, and generally made seeing the best of Quebec City very easy. If you are looking for something predictable and fancy, this isn't it. But if you have an open mind and need advice on how to spend a few days here, you will have a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Bonjour Michael, Thank you for taking a moment to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I want to take a moment to educate any readers as to why you might find the hotel "quirky". Because this was originally a private residence back in 1835, each room is unique and different. Back in the day, you would have had master suites, along with rooms for the children (they had very large families historically) and finally the servants quarters and a chapel for family worship. Our deluxe king rooms and junior suites are most certainly very spacious and quite luxurious. The classique queen rooms are on the smaller side, but very well appointed. The european rooms are situated on the top floor, or the garret. These rooms would have served as servants quarters back in the day, and they have the slanted ceilings along with a dormer window. I find the classic queen rooms as well as the european rooms very charming. I encourage everyone to go directly to the hotel website (not a third party travel agency) and to click on the rooms. We have great photos as well as great descriptions of each individual room category. This will really help in choosing the right room and right budget for you! Again, my sincerest thanks Michael for your support and for having chosen to stay with us. I am thrilled that all of us were able to share some of our insights with you and that this helped to make your visit to Quebec City so enjoyable. The season in Quebec City is a short one, so prices are quite high during this time period, but if you are willing to travel off season, and if you enjoy a little snow and winter sports, Quebec City is a great value at that time! I hope we will have the chance to welcome you with us once again in the future. Un gros merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    176
    17
    8
    0
See reviews for
127
721
47
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Manoir d'Auteuil was just great.. The staff were excellent and most helpful, the rooms were clean and fine, the breakfasts were excellent... But the location was simply the best... Still inside the walls of the Vieux-Quebec but at the end, facing away from the crowds and the noise. Parking was just fine ... the garage was a short walk away and always available (as a New Yorker, I also fear garages that are filled). Anyway, we did just fine and had a wonderful stay at this lovely hotel. Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: No elevator, but Michel helped with our luggage on our arrival. Plus, it was good to walk off the go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spedprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Bonjour! Yes, if you have ever travelled to a big city like NYC, you really appreciate just how close the parking is to the Manoir d'Auteuil. This is a luxury, even for a hotel in Old Quebec. I want to thank you for your support, and for having chosen to stay with us. I absolutely agree, that yes, our location is perfect. I am thrilled that we met your expectations as a whole during your stay. Because we are an historically protected building, we cannot add the modern amenity of an elevator, but we are all available to help with any bags. Please let us know at arrival if you need assistance. Either Michel, or one of the gentlemen working behind the scenes, is happy to help with your luggage! I hope we will have the chance to welcome you with us once again! Again, un gros merci! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destrehan, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was our first trip to Quebec, but won't be the last. The hotel's location was perfect, on a quiet street, but convenient to all of the attractions. We were able to walk to everything, and the only time we were in a taxi was to and from the airport. Even better than the location of the hotel was the people that worked there. From the minute we walked in the front desk was as sweet and polite as they could possibly be. The continental breakfast was tasty, and convenient, a great way to start the day. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, although at times a bit noisy. (we were on the first floor and could here footsteps above us) but this was a very minor thing and all of the positives more than made up for it...Lucia was wonderful, and so were the others who helped us during our five day stay. We would definitely stay there again when we return...Art & Laura LeCompte

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurL62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Bonjour Art and Laura, Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. Lucia is an absolute doll, and I have no doubt she enjoyed you both as much as you enjoyed her! The building dates to 1835, and although we have taken care to insulate all of our rooms thoroughly, the floors are not concrete slab like you would find in modern hotel construction today, so yes, you will hear some movement. This was a single family residence back in the day! I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast as well. We bake those croissants fresh each morning, a nice light and traditional french way to start your day. Again, many thanks for your support, and I hope we will have the chance to welcome you with us again in the future. Merci Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I just returned from a 2-night weekend getaway in Quebec City. We chose this hotel based on it’s great reviews and location inside the walls of Old Town Quebec.

Location couldn’t be better. You are within the historical walls of the city and many of the attractions are within quick walking distance like Rue St. Jean, Chateau Frontenac, The Citadelle and The Plains of Abraham. Old Town is quite hilly so some leg strength is required to get around, but it is surly worth it for some awesome views.

The hotel itself is quite historic. It looked like it was an old apartment residence back in the day. There are no elevators so our room required walking up to the 3rd floor. Also the washroom in the room is up a set of stairs (never seen that before), so if stairs aren’t your thing you would have to try and secure a ground floor room.

The room was anything but modern, but was clean, welcoming and retained much of its old charm. The TV was in quite an unusual spot on the wall. As this is a small boutique hotel it lacks some modern amenities and in-room features like a gym, pool, bar fridge and ice machine (ice was available at the bar via the front desk attendant).

Our package included breakfast which was light but very high-quality with freshly baked croissants, yogurt and fruit. We were also offered a free pint of beer each which we enjoyed on their outdoor terrace one afternoon. There was Wi-Fi included but it was quite slow. Parking was offered around the block for 18 dollars a day which wasn’t the ideal scenario but given the historic location, not unexpected.

While the hotel has limited staff (the front desk agent was also the bartender) they always did their best to meet your needs and were fluently bilingual.

If you are looking for a historic boutique hotel in Old Town Quebec and don’t mind forgoing some modern amenities of a larger chain then this would be the perfect choice.

Room Tip: No elevator on property so higher floors require stairs. Washroom also requires stairs (not sure if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CardioCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Bonjour, and thank your for taking a moment to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we are most certainly not like a chain hotel. For a chain hotel experience, you really need to stay outside of the walls. Quebec City dates to 1608, and so as you can imagine, all of the historic properties within the walls, such as ourselves, are very unique and full of historic charm. I sincerely think that this is why we choose to stay inside the walls, to experience a bye gone era. The city also dates to an era before cars, so parking is limited. We are very fortunate that we have parking so close! I most certainly agree with you, the views are worth it! Again, thank you for your support and we are glad you chose to stay with us. Enjoy your travels ahead! Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and found the hotel lived up to previous reviews. It was quiet and very clean, close to the touristy part of old town, but away from the bustle. The room was small but nicely appointed. Breakfast was great and the staff were very helpful. We highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSilverSpring_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Bonjour, and thank you for taking a moment to write a review. As you commented, you were in a small room, so it would have been one of our european or classique queen rooms. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with you, the location is ideal. The rooms on the back of the building are very quiet, but the view rooms will definitely experience the city noise, although away from the hustle and bustle....we are still in the city center! Thank you for your support and for choosing to stay with us. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you with us again in the future. Enjoy the rest of summer! Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is absolutely one of the best hotels to stay at when visiting Quebec City.
The staff was attentive and very helpful. Rooms are good size and very clean. Beds were very comfortable. This hotel is close enough to everything you want to see and do, yet far enough from the noisy tourist areas. You can' t go wrong choosing Le Manior d' Auteuil...

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielcZ1854RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Bonjour, and thank you for taking a moment to give us a review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your room tip is duly noted, and I agree, the views are fabulous. The city sounds, however, may be too loud for some, and in this case a garden level or room on the back side would be best. Our deluxe king rooms and junior suites are very spacious. The queen rooms all vary in size, but they are smaller in size, with the european rooms, situated on the fourth floor being the most "petite". I just want to take this opportunity to highlight the size difference, as room size is important to some. I personally really like the petit rooms, situated on the 4th floor. Room 43, is the smallest of the european rooms, but one of my favorites because I love the view of the Price Building lit up at night through the dormer window.

Again, many thanks for the review and for your support. We really depend on word of mouth, as we do not have the advertising budget that the larger hotels do. Un gros merci, and I hope we will have the chance to welcome you with us once again. Merci, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights recently during the music festival. It was our second stay at Le Manoir d'Auteuil. We stayed in room 8 (Edith Piaf suite). The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom is as large as the room space, and has some unusual quirks...i.e. no soap dish or counter space (to hold a shampoo bottle for instance) in the shower. The staff is accommodating and very pleasant. We love the location. The hotel's parking situation is not the best, but that's a minor annoyance. The only reason we did not give a 5 star rating is that we have stayed in places that provide a greater degree of "luxury" (however you define that)...but Le Manoir has character and charm. We plan to return again, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank N_M_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFollette, Owner at Le Manoir d'Auteuil, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Bonjour, and thank you for taking a moment to write a review. We truly appreciate it. You know, we had to redo this shower in room 8, and that is why there is no soap dish......we forgot it when we re-tiled! This will be a project for us in the low season, as we missed this detail in a few of the rooms during the remodel. Thanks for the comment, as it is a great reminder for us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we most definitely look forward to welcoming you with us once again. You are absolutly correct, there are definitely luxury hotels that offer more luxury services than we do, but we certainly make every attempt to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you for your continued support, and à la prochain! Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,959 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir d'Auteuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir d'Auteuil

Property: Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Address: 49, rue d'Auteuil | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Manoir d'Auteuil 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir d'Auteuil invites guests to enjoy the glamour and elegance of our French art deco boutique hotel. We offer visitors the charm of our historic building, the personal attention of our devoted multi-lingual staff and the special touches found in the smaller and intimate hotels in Quebec City. Our location inside the old city walls, across from the Parliament building and near the Quebec City Conference Center, is ideal for tourists, business visitors and travelers seeking romantic getaways in Quebec. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Manoir d'Auteuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Manoir d`Auteuil Hotel Quebec City
Le Manoir D'Auteuil Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing