We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Ranked #80 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The room was supposed to be a non smoking but when when we walked in you could smell cigarettes clearly. They had no more rooms available so they offered to send up some kind of device that cleans the air...didn't really work. The room had a very noisy air conditioning system with no possibility of turning down the fan speed so I found myself turning it on and off because the noise was driving me crazy, but then the room would get hot so round and round we go. The hallways were very hot and uncomfortable. The bathroom was fine with good pressure for a shower. The staff was very nice. They have a pool and I went down for a swim but it was very cloudy and small. The hot tub had this weird foam that i did not want to go near. you are about a 5- 10min car ride from old Qc but you need to pay for parking which is not cheap so what you save on hotel costs you loose on parking, next time I will get a closer one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vantheman1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment, the hotel takes into consideration all impressions from our guests to improve our services and facilities.

We are pleased to read that you had a nice service at the front desk. Our team is always happy to know his work is appreciated.

We are sorry about the smell of cigarette, our room are definitely non-smoking, but some guests do not respect this condition. We are trying our best to avoid this type of situation. We do take note of your comments about air conditioning and halls; we will surely try to fix those problems as soon as possible. We are disappointed that our atrium did not meet your expectation; guests are usually very satisfied with our indoor facilities.

Also, it is almost better to travel by taxi or bus to reach the down-town because the price of parking is certainly expensive.

If there is something else we could do, please let us know.

Again, thank you for your comment and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

wanted to give this place another chance...so we called the hotel the hotel directly the price we got was the same as using hotels.com.
the room was bigger and the beds were much better than last year,

Room Tip: call and request the "new" section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumana n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are pleased to learn that you give our hotel a second chance. You always get the same price on our hotel website than on travel agencies like hotels.com. Using our booking engine will even give you access to some exclusive discounts like the E-newsletter promotion that you can not get on other websites.

Indeed, our renovated rooms are very appreciated by our guests, thank you for sharing your great experience with us.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were disappointed that the hotel was out of the city, but in reality it was a really easy drive into the centre. We parked in the port, $18 for the whole day. This was great, as near the funicular to get up to the town and then near the cirque du solei at the end of the night.
The room was clean and the bed was really comfortable.
The only real problem was the air con, that was as loud as a tornado!!!!

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for sharing your experience.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Québec City ; it is truly an exciting city, especially in the summer. We are also happy you found your room clean and comfortable, cleanliness and comfort being our priorities.

We take note of your comment about the air conditioning.

Again, thank you very much for this review, and au revoir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a nice hotel just off the beaten path. Not new by any means but the staff is very courteous, professional, and quick to respond at the reception desk. The staff that served us is young but they were excellent. They spoke to us in English without hesitation. There is a lovely pool area with a hot tub and sprinkler pad for the kids. There are a couple of bird cages with budgies as well as plenty of chairs and towels. It's a nice place to just sit and relax. I'm pleased that we chose this hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 325. Just a basic room with 2 double beds, tv, desk, etc. No bugs! Which is alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runawayHudson_QC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for this review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Québec City and at our hotel. Our staff members will be very happy to know you appreciated their professionalism and their courtesy - thank you.

We are also pleased that you and your family were able to enjoy our indoor pool and spa area.

Once again, thank you very much, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We are budget travelers. If you want luxury, don't stay here. This is a low frills hotel.

We booked a Junior Suite. It is in the old part of the hotel. Everything is a little weather beaten but the price was great, $108 a night. The temperature outside was record highs of 95+. The AC could not keep up with the heat in the room. In the afternoon the room was in the 80's. We were a family of five. The offered to move us to a cooler room with two double beds but a rollaway wouldn't fit so we couldn't move. They offered to move us into a King Suite but we would have to pay the difference, $50. We stuck with the hot room. It got down to a bearable temperature after the sun went down.

The location is great if you have a car and plan on visiting Vieux Quebec, Chutes Montmorency, and Ile d'Orleans. It is minutes from all three.

Cheap beers in the lounge, cheap rooms, good location, We'll be back but hopefully not in a heat wave.

The service at the front desk during the reservation process was exceptional.

Room Tip: Junior suites are a great value, but a little worn down. Very hot on a sunny day. New rooms by the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeinFebruary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for this review. We are happy you found the service at our front desk and our rates to be outstanding. Our located is quite central for guests wanting to avoid staying in downtown Québec City.
We are sorry you had some trouble with temperature in your room ; it was indeed a heat wave that made some rooms quite warmer than usual.

Again, we thank you for this review, and we hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have been going to Quebec for over forty years. Have stayed at many hotels/motels. We have stayed at this hotel years ago and it was fine. This time was different. There were holes on the walls in the bathroom, rust, mildew and cracked tiles. The towels all need to be replaced they are so worn. The furniture was all chipped and marked. Furniture was missing from the room and there was a big open space where a table should be. We had problems with the keys and one of the two ice machines was broken the entire time we were there. The whole first floor smelled from the pool. A very heavy bleach smell. I should have know when we saw all the buses. Kids everywhere. The only good part is it is close to Cora's and the Normandine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joseph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear guest, thank you for this review.

We apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay.
We will let our staff members know about your comments on your room ; we do want all our rooms to be satisfactory.
If there is something else we could do, please let us know.

Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel many years ago and were very satisfied.
This trip however was quite the opposite. We booked at the last minute through Travelocity. (Our first and Last time). The price we got at the time seemed great, $625. for 5 nights for 3 people.. after staying there. I think that we overpaid. Later in this review I will include photos taken in the room that we occupied. Twenty or so teen agers running rampant in the hall way on one night, Our key cards had to be recoded every other night because we would get up to the room and they would not work in the door, which meant going all the way down to the desk, getting them recoded and back to the room to get in.. 3 times in a 5 night stay, I find that a bit much.
In the bathroom near the ceiling there was mold on the wall that had been painted over, a lot of huge chips in the tub and basin, the shower curtain rod was rusty and peeling, mildew all over the grout on the wall in the shower. The desk was all worn and scratched, the light by the bed was operated with a pull string!!!! The air conditioner made noise like a jet engine; but it did keep the room cool!!
The crowning glory was the white stain found on the red bed spread when we flipped it open!! It remained on the floor throughout our stay! Please view the photos of the room.
The best advice I can give anyone about this hotel is; STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear guest, thank you for this review.

We are sorry about the problems you encountered during your stay. If there was any loud noise in the hallway at night, we hope you contacted our front desk clerks so they could try to sort it out.
As for your key cards, we take note of the problem you had and will make sure it doesn't repeat itself.
We also hope you let our front desk personnel know if you were unhappy with your room so they could try to get you another one. We will let out staff members know about your review and your comments on your room ; we want to ensure that our rooms are all satisfactory.
If there is something else we could do, please let us know.

Again, thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#22 of 100 in Quebec City
346 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Universel Quebec
Hotel Universel Quebec
#89 of 100 in Quebec City
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Littoral - Hotel & Spa
Littoral - Hotel & Spa
#28 of 100 in Quebec City
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville
3.4 mi away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#54 of 100 in Quebec City
2,186 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Quebec Inn
Hotel Quebec Inn
#69 of 100 in Quebec City
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec

Address: 3401 Sainte-Anne Boulevard | Beauport, Quebec City, Quebec G1E 3L4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range: £43 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec offers 145 rooms where everything is close by. Located in front of St.Lawrence River, the Hotel Ambassadeur is only a five minutes drive to Old Quebec. The Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec offers a surprising view on Quebec City and the Beauport Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadeur Quebec Hotel
Ambassadeur Quebec Beauport
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing