We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassumingly good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Ranked #79 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unassumingly good hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Here for St Jean Baptist holiday, everything was booked out, Found this hotel through Hotwire, cant beat $83 per night for standard room with two double beds. Less than 10 minutes to downtown Quebec City, don't waste your money on overpriced hotels and B&Bs in tourist traps, conveniently located, just off the 440 (cant hear traffic at all), just off the St Laurent river and right next to many amenities, eateries and other hotels. Room was spacious, clean, fresh smelling upon arrival, nothing fancy, little dated, but came with LCD tv, big closet, iron and iron board, was quiet, kids slept comfortably, only thing is theres no mini fridge and bathroom doesn't have vent, overall great stay, would come back.

Room Tip: Check out the pool and hot tub, kids loved it! 15% off and hotel's bar and grill for guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myintd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us about your recent stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read good comments like yours.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Ambassadeur. It is true that our guests really appreciate our location. From the hotel, you can easily access to the city center, to the Old Quebec City and to the Quebec City’s greatest attractions.

We are happy to hear that you liked your room that much. It is true that our guest appreciate our LCD TV, our big closet and our comfortable beds. We also take note of your comment about the fact that there is no fridge in the room.

We are also pleased you found our rates that affordable. It is true that $83 per night is far less expensive than the rates of the hotels located in the city center. In addition, at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, you can park your car for free in our large outdoor parking lot.

Again, thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. We really hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards,

Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    162
    142
    68
    52
See reviews for
235
133
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

For some reason, this hotel has an "economy" side and a "luxury" side. As part of our group tour we were booked in the "economy" side. The paint on the outside door was chipped and uneven. The furniture was scratched and well worn. One of the small tables in the room was a plastic outdoor table. The room smelled very musty and the room my students stayed in smelled like sour laundry. The staff agreed to move them to another room for the night and fumigate the room they had originally received. They were able to stay in a room on the "luxury" side and the difference was night and day. As soon as you step onto the carpet on that side you felt like it was a totally different hotel. The room was fumigated and the students were able to return, however the next night the ceiling began to leak in the bathroom. At this point, we knew we only had one more night in this dreary place that we agreed to tough it out. I will not go here again.

Room Tip: make sure you are on the "luxury" side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenfwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review about your recent stay at our hotel. Your opinions and comments are important for us and you can be sure that we will give them the greatest importance.

We are sorry to hear that your unit disappointed you that much. We have renovated a part of the hotel a few years ago and we plan to revamp the other part in the coming years. As in regards to the odours in the rooms, you can be sure that we will install a special equipment for the odour. We will let our staff know about your comment to ensure that this situation does not occur again.

Asking the front desk to move your students in another room was the good thing to do and we want to thank you for that.

Again, thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. The experience you had at our hotel is not a usual situation and this is certainly not the kind of stay we want our guests to live. Each of your comments will be processed with the greatest importance.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future, with the aim of showing you that the kind of stay you experienced is an isolated case.

Best regards,

Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Visited this hotel as part of a coach trip. The coach driver took us on a tour of Quebec City, and we had time to walk round, so it was late when we arrived at the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The receptionists were attentive, friendly, and efficient. The room was very nice, clean and appointed. We liked the fact that we had a balcony , with two comfy leather chairs, overlooking the indoor pool. Listening to the birds (although they were caged) and the running water wad very relaxing
On our second day there, we decided to use the pool as it was open until 10 pm. This was a very pleasant experience, as was the hot tub
The breakfast was served in a bright and clean room. Although it was a continental breakfast it was very filling, and we enjoyed it. The waitress was very efficient.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 114gilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. It is always pleasant to read good comments like yours.

We are glad to hear that you appreciated our hotel that much. You can be sure that we will let our front desk staff know about your good words. It is always a pleasure to receive compliments and good comments.

We are also happy to hear that you appreciated our indoor heated pool and spa. It is true that our guests generally appreciate that area. Birds singing and water sounds are very so restful.

We are also pleased to hear that you appreciated your room that much. It is true that our rooms with balcony are well appreciated by our guests and they give you a beautiful view on the pool area.

Again, thank you for taking a moment of your time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards,

Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nice hotel at a convenient and quiet location! It has a restaurant on site and there are also a few restaurants in the immediate neighborhood. The bus stop to the city or to the waterfalls is just around the corner. The hotel has a really nice pool area that looks a little bit like the outside facade with balconies in a cozy mediterranean village.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. It is a pleasure to read good comments like yours.
It is true that our guests generally appreciate the immediate neighborhood and all those restaurants only a few steps away from the hotel, fitting everyone’s needs and budgets.
Our guests also like the proximity of Old Quebec City. The bus stop provides an easy access to the city center and allows our visitors to let their car parked at the hotel.
We are glad you appreciated our pool area that much. It is true that our exotic indoor garden is well appreciated and it gives our visitors the opportunity to enjoy good time in family.
Again, thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was married here, so I have fond memories of this place. Their staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. We were upgraded to a suite and it was a lovely stay as we had floor to ceiling windows with a view of the St. Lawrence river. I wish we could have stayed longer.

I'm a native Floridian and so I was excited to see they had an indoor pool. However, this pool was absolutely freezing for me. The native Canadians seemed to enjoy it. So, beware, if you're used to a warmer climate, this pool may be too cold for you. I found the hot tub to be absolutely enjoyable and it's where I spent a majority of my pool time. The atrium is absolutely lovely.

There were many nights that we enjoyed dinner at Chez Greco, which is the onsite restaurant. They have fantastic prices and food. The hotel is right next to a Cora's and if you've never been, you need to go there for breakfast. Across the street is a sports bar.

The staff seems to be bilingual. My husband is fluent in French and he did most of the talking, but they did attempt to speak to me in English when they saw me by myself, which wasn't often.

Try and get a room on the 4th floor. The views are fantastic.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsPoirier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are pleased that you liked our hotel experience! Our employees are working hard to make you feel like home and to make your stay above your highest expectations.


We hope to see you again soon in Quebec city for your wedding birthday !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Pro.
Good location if visiting both, the falls and the Quebec City.
Helpful and friendly staff.
Decent room for one night stay on road trip.

Cons.
We were asked to pay for the breakfast when we were told it is included in our booking made over the phone.
The pool area closes early and opens late. Not useful if planning to use it before or after a day of sight seeing.
Smells like bleach

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danniecaron, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. Those are helpful to get better has an hôtel. We are sorry for the missunderstanding about the breakfast. It is not an habitual situation. We are going to correct this information with our employees.

About the atrium area, cause many rooms offer the pool view, we cannot open it early and close it late but, we are considaring your comment and we will see our possibilities.

However, we are very pleased you liked our employe’s service. They work very hard to make your stay better than you expect. It is true that our location is perfect for sight seing. It is easy access to Old Quebec and Montmorency Falls. It is also across the bridge from l’île d’Orleans.

Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards,

Maxime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed for one night at this hotel before I flew to Boston to embark on a return Cruise from there back to Quebec City. The hotel was very clean, reasonably priced and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a $35 dollar taxi fare to the airport and a modest $12 to the cruise terminal and all the attractions of Old Quebec. The hotel allowed me to park my car at the hotel free for one week which was a big bonus. I would stay at this hotel again on a future trip to Quebec.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your recent experience with us. It is always a pleasure to read good reviews like yours.

We are very pleased you liked our hotel that much. It is true that our guests generally appreciate the proximity of Old Quebec City and all the attractions.

We are also glad you liked our free outdoor parking. We all know how hard it is to find a parking space in town and this is why Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec offers free parking spaces to its clients.

Again, thank you for taking a moment of your time to share this review with us. We will be glad to welcome you again on your next trip to Quebec City.

Best regards,

Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Universel Quebec
Hotel Universel Quebec
#86 of 101 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#27 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#24 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
L'Hotel Quebec
L'Hotel Quebec
#54 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#55 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Quebec Inn
Hotel Quebec Inn
#67 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec

Property: Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Address: 3401 Sainte-Anne Boulevard | Beauport, Quebec City, Quebec G1E 3L4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec offers 145 rooms where everything is close by. Located in front of St.Lawrence River, the Hotel Ambassadeur is only a five minutes drive to Old Quebec. The Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec offers a surprising view on Quebec City and the Beauport Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadeur Quebec Hotel
Ambassadeur Quebec Beauport
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing