We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Ranked #81 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Upgraded”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I found hotel using Hotwire $96 all in. Wanted something close to old Quebec but didn't want the price of too close. This was a perfect spot, 5 minute drive to where all the action is.
Front desk female very friendly and spoke great English. I asked for ground floor as I am very pregnant in case of emergency. We were told no as the ground floor is considered superior rooms and as we bought through Hotwire this in not what we paid for.( but offered me extra pillows, thoughtful )
Fine, no harm in asking. As we got into the elevator to go to the second floor the staff stopped us and said she had made an error with our room. Took the keys and told us we had been upgraded to a superior room on ground floor.
It was very nice of her and very much appreciated.
The room was nice, recently renovated and worth $100 but nothing "superior" about it.
I am guessing that all of the negative reviews are coming from the non superior rooms so I can't comment on those.
We would defiantly stay here again as long as we had this type of room.
If you have kids there is a great indoor pool area and splash pad looked like fun.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SJWick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. Our guests’ comments are very important for us and we always treat them with the greatest importance.

We are glad to hear that our hotel has met your expectations. We are also pleased that the small issue you encountered concerning your upgrade request has ended well. Unfortunately, it is true that when our guests are booking a room with an online travel agency we cannot respond to that kind of request. As you have booked with Hotwire, your request should have been adressed to Hotwire’s staff. This one of the reasons we encourage our guests to book directly on our website. By doing so, we are able to respond to all of your needs and we always offer a little extra that is not available on travel agencies’ websites.

We are happy that you liked our pool area. It is true that our guests generally appreciate our indoor heated pool and spa. They allow you to spend good times and to relax.

Again, thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. We will be happy to welcome you again in a near future. And remember, we invite you to book directly on our website, so we will be able to respond to all your requests.

Best regards,

Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    164
    144
    68
    53
See reviews for
236
134
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel ambassadeur in Quebec on Boul. Sainte Anne and was left very unsatisfied with overall service, cleanliness and upkeep of the hotel. We were not the only ones as the front service desk had a handful of people lined up with complaints with improper room bookings and poor service. Service clerk was not helpful and left us leaving earlier than our original planned stay to go to another hotel. Hotel room carried the very minimal and everything was outdated in the hotel for the price we paid (200$ a night). Will not be staying here again and definitely will warn others about those considering to stay here. I suggest checking out other hotels that are more up to date and significantly cheaper than this one.

Room Tip: If you do find yourself at the ambassadeur hotel, try and get a good rate deal as it is not worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee-Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. Our guests’ comments and opinions are very important for us and you can be sure we will treat yours with the greatest importance.

We are sorry to hear that our hotel has not met your expectations. We want to assure you that the kind of stay you had is not what we want our guests to live and we will do everything to ensure it will not occur again in the future.

The kind of service you received is unacceptable. You can be sure that follow-ups will be carried out with concerned people.

We really would like to discuss your stay with you. Our aim is to make our clients satisfied and we always do everything that is possible to reach it. We propose that you call us and ask to talk to Manon Fortin, Business Director.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future with the aim of showing you that the issues you encountered during your stay are isolated cases. We are really sorry about that.

Again, thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. Your comments are very important as they allow us to improve our hotel and our services.

Best regards,

Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here before and was on first floor excellent room. This time on fourth floor. Room was worn out. Furniture was scared, no light on desk or anything else for that matter. No extra power outlets for phone Ipad etc. Decent location minutes from Quebec City. Lots of restaurants across the street to choose from. Bike path at edge of property.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. Our guests’ comments are very important for us and you can be sure we treat them with the greatest importance.

We are sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be noted and follow-ups will be carried out to ensure it will not occur again.

On the other hand, we are glad you appreciated our location that much. It is true that there are numerous restaurants nearby the hotel and you can easily access to the city center by bus, taxi and even by car.

Again, thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. You can be sure that all of your comments and recommendations will be treated with the greatest importance.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future with the aim of showing you that the issue you encountered during your stay is an isolated case.

Best regards,

Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Liked the hotel , Really nice friendly staff , they speak both french and english. Nice pool, warm water, cool resort like look with plants and birds. HOt tub too.

Many restaurants in the area to choose from (Mikes, casa greco, kFC, cora, etc). WE were in the 'luxury' section, what it means is its renovated . It was clean and nice. However, a bit small for four of us (it accomodated 4 people with two double beds ) just a little tight to move around. I was disappointed they did not have any rent movie channels only cable tv (however I made the mistake of not verifying this before booking my stay). We booked a guided cruise with the reception . The cruise was pleasant, old Quebec was beautiful. 18 dollars to go and 18 dollars to come back by cab if you dont want to drive there and find parking., WE found the beds difficult to sleep and rest on for some reason (that may just be us , Im sure others can sleep well. Oh yeah if you don't want to book a room with a terrace they also have terrases on each floor you can go to (if you don't mind the smell of chlorine and the humidity)- which is normal because you want the pool to have chlorine and the humidity means the pool is nice and warm.

Room Tip: choose luxury section
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. It is pleasant to read good comments like yours.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is true that our staff is friendly and it is very important for us. It is also important to welcome our guests in both French and English and we are glad you appreciated that.

It is true that the numerous restaurants nearby the hotel fit everyone’s tastes and budgets and our visitor generally appreciate that.

We take note of your comment about your room. It is true that some of our rooms can be a little bit too small for a family with all the luggage.

Did you know that you can easily access to the city center by bus from our hotel? There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel, allowing you to access to the city at lower cost.

Again, thank you for your review. Our guests’ comments are very important for us and you can be sure that we treat them with the greatest importance.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards,

Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The only good thing about this hotel was the pool. My family and I are not picky about hotels- our only real concern is that it is clean, and the cleanliness of our room was questionable. The comforter draped at the bottom of the bed had clearly not been washed in some time due to the crumbs and stains all over it. There was a huge stain on the floor next to the bed, and I found lots of hair on the floor of my bathroom when I first entered the room. My family was not comfortable and we did not feel comfortable at all. We did complain about this issue and were given a discount, which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. Our guests’ opinions are very important for us and you can be sure we treat them with the greatest importance.

We are sorry to hear that our hotel has not met your expectations. Cleanliness is really important for us. You can be sure that a follow-up will be carried out with the concerned people to ensure this situation will not occur again in the future.

In another subject, we are pleased to hear that you liked our pool area. It is true that our guests generally appreciate our heated indoor pool and spa. They allow you to spend good times with your family.

Again, thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. We hope to welcome you again in a near future with the aim of showing you that the issue you encountered is an isolated case.

Best regards,

Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The location was great, lots of cost effective options in the area for feeding s family. Quick drive to Old Quebec, kids loved the splash pad :). The air conditioner was so loud that it interrupted our much needed sleep after 8 hours on the road with 12 hours still to go.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netta1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. Our guests’ comments are very important for us and you can be sure treat them with the greatest importance.

We are sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. It is true that a loudy air conditioner is really unpleasant and you can be sure we will have a look at it. Next time you encounter issues in a hotel, do not hesitate to ask the front desk to be moved in another unit. Our aim is to make you satisfied of your stay and we always do everything that is possible to reach it.

On another subject, we are glad you appreciated our location. It is true that the numerous restaurants nearby the hotel fit everyone’s tastes and budgets. It is also true that our guests generally appreciate our water games for kids and pool area.

Again, thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. We hope to welcome you again in a near future with the aim of showing you that the issue you encountered with the air conditioner is an isolated case.

Best regards,

Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Area, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Loved the area but the hotel needs a little attention. Carpeting needs to be replaced but the room was clean & comfortable. This hotel is great for families. The pool is clean & the kids seemed to love it. There is also a small splash area right beside it. The staff is very helpful with tourists & ideas on how to get around Quebec City. No language barriers. We loved our stay. Thanks Ambassador Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesHawaii821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TommyBernier1, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Ambassadeur.

It is true that our guests generally appreciate our pool area. It allows you to spend good times with your family and to relax.

It is also true that the numerous restaurants nearby the hotel are also well appreciated. They give you the opportunity to find something that will fit your needs and budgets.

We are happy to hear that you also liked your unit. At Hotel Ambassadeur, cleanliness is very important and we are glad that the room has met your expectations.

Again, thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your review with us.

We hope to welcome again in a near future.

Best regards,

Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
6.0 mi away
Hotel Universel Quebec
Hotel Universel Quebec
#86 of 102 in Quebec City
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#24 of 102 in Quebec City
290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#28 of 102 in Quebec City
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#54 of 102 in Quebec City
302 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Quebec Inn
Hotel Quebec Inn
#68 of 102 in Quebec City
198 reviews
9.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Howard Johnson Quebec City
#78 of 102 in Quebec City
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec

Property: Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Address: 3401 Sainte-Anne Boulevard | Beauport, Quebec City, Quebec G1E 3L4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec offers 145 rooms where everything is close by. Located in front of St.Lawrence River, the Hotel Ambassadeur is only a five minutes drive to Old Quebec. The Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec offers a surprising view on Quebec City and the Beauport Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadeur Quebec Hotel
Ambassadeur Quebec Beauport
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing