We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Au Bois Joli B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$141
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$166
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$149
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$211
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Auberge Aux Deux Lions(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Chateau Bellevue(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$287
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Clarendon(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
US$237
US$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$295
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
248
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaple syrup piemaguire streetbus passesliving roomwonderful hostsquiet neighborhoodbreakfast dessertbeautiful bed and breakfastwalking distance to some greatdowntown abbeycooked omelettedaily itinerariesexquisite breakfastseparate tableshomemade jamssweet breadwalk into town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My husband and I were very nervous about our stay in Quebec City. We heard that staying in the old city was very run down and very pricey and this is why we ended up choosing this bed and breakfast and we are SO glad we did.
This B&B is located about 10 minutes from the old Quebec City (easily accessible via the local bus at a cost of $5.00 for a trip) It is set in a beautiful suburb, quiet with gorgeous tree lined streets.
The house it's is beautifully decorated, grand furnishings and the photographs on the website are exactly as they were in real life. We stayed in Room 1 and the bed was exceptionally comfortable and the room and bathroom luxurious and spacious. Room 1 only has a spa however, so we definately indulged with a bath every night!
The hosts Jean and Georgette however were the stars of this B&B. They were so welcoming and personable. Georgette is SUCH an amazing cook- breakfast was devine- truly generous. We had 3 courses and Jean's Maple Pie is a must have (I think we ate nearly half of the pie between us).
This is a beautiful home and the hosts were beautiful people. Thank you both for a very memorable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 and the bed was exceptionally comfortable and the room and bathroom luxurious and spacious. Room 1 only has a spa however, so we definately indulged with a bath every night!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Gracious hospitality is the priority at Au Bois Joli. Jean and Georgette's home has been updated with modern and comfortable furnishings providing a restful and pleasant atmosphere. The neighborhood is quiet yet near to some excellent dining and attractions in the old city. The delicious breakfast was beautifully presented and finished with Jean's amazing maple syrup pie. They also provided valuable suggestions for our further travels in Canada. We certainly enjoyed our stay with them and hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandp2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We spent two nights in Quebec to celebrate the end of 2012 in Jean and Georgette's cozy house! It was so beautifully decorated in a festive theme. We felt welcomed the moment we walked in the house. Jean greeted us and walked us around the house. There is free wireless connection in the entire house and we parked our car on the street in front of their house for free.

We stayed at Room 2. Despite its size, the room has everything we need: a private washroom, a glass-door shower in the bedroom, a wall unit with hangers and shelf space for clothes, a desk, a sofa, and of coz a comfy queen-size bed. You can even find a binder with the basic information of this inn, and four customized trip itineraries for Quebec visitors! Jean helped us make a dinner reservation at his favorite French restaurant, which is only 10 minutes' walk from their house.

We met Georgette the next morning during our breakfast. The two breakfasts she made during our stay were definitely the highlights of our visit in Quebec! Jean served our breakfast, starting with juice and coffee, followed by pineapple with yogurt dressing/fruit salad dipped in brandy, ham crepe/shrimp omelet, and varieties of delicate dessert. Everything was just perfect! We had so much that we didn't even feel hungry until late in the afternoon. Jean and Georgette introduced many places of interest to us in addition to the printed itineraries.

In addition to all these things above, we particularly enjoyed their cozy living room. We sat there for hours beside the warm fireplace after our exciting day trip, writing postcards, enjoying the hot tea and classic music in the background. I can't say how much we appreciated Jean and Georgette's B&B. We'll find time to visit again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qzhever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

All around the best B&B we experienced. In our 15 years of travels, my husband and I stayed at many B&Bs and Au Bois Joli offered the perfect experience. We stayed 3 nights in Room #1 which was large, comfortable and elegantly decorated. Breakfast every morning was delicious and the variety from the multiple courses made it that much more spectacular. An example of one of our breakfast is as follows: we started off with a berry mousse, then a shrimp omelet, then a nutty sweet bread and finish up with a piece of maple syrup pie.

Jean and Georgette were very gracious hosts and provided impeccable hospitality. With the beautifully decorated home, scrumptious breakfast every morning and attentive service, they really got it right. We enjoyed our stay tremendously.

Room Tip: Try to get room #1 if you can. It is well worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArgoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Very comfortable B&B with good breakfasts and a nice lounge to relax in. However, on two of the three days we were there workmen started on an extension soon after 7am and we were not pre warned about this so there was no lie in on two mornings. This did mar an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bazzer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giteauboisjoli, Owner at Au Bois Joli B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Our experience with TripAdvisor is very recent as we have just recently registered and we are only getting familiar with its functioning. Au Bois Joli is new in the hotel/B&B business in Quebec city and since opening in 2010, its occupational rate has maintained at the highest level. To the point where we have decided to build an extension to the Inn, a 4 month project in 2012. Some days, our contractor could let us know how much noise would be caused by the workers, some days, we were not informed. We have sent e-mails to inform guests about this inconvenience, have we missed some people in the busiest season, it could be. We apologize and sincerely regret the situation. We are deeply sorry that your stay and perhaps other people's was made unpleasant during that period. Our establishment is otherwise renown for its calm, and very quiet retreat only a breath away from the city noise and heavy traffic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews