We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent - Mike and Ginette”
Review of Au Bois Joli B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Au Bois Joli B&B
Ranked #1 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent - Mike and Ginette”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A top-notch B and B with gracious hosts. From the moment we arrived we felt a part of the family. Jean and Georgette are honest and forthright individuals who go above and beyond to ensure that their guests have a wonderful and relaxing experience. And, we certainly did. The breakfasts are generous and healthy, there is endless coffee and tea, and a most delicious "tarte a l'erable". The rooms are extremely comfortable, nicely appointed, and cleaned daily. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for the "Cote Jardin" room. It is a suite with plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squash1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giteauboisjoli, Owner at Au Bois Joli B&B, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much, Mike, Ginette for your "return visit" at Au Bois Joli, you seem to have noticed all the points that we have dedicated as priorities for a nice stay with us. That is the way we would like it too! We hope to see you both again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
149
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at Au Bois Joli over New Years. Georgette and Jean are wonderful hosts and really go above and beyond to ensure their guests have an outstanding experience. We thoroughly enjoyed playing games in the parlor in front of the crackling fire, and the warm cookies and always available coffee/tea were an added bonus. The beds were super comfortable and everything was absolutely immaculate! This B&B is located right off the bus line and is walking distance to some great shops and restaurants!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giteauboisjoli, Owner at Au Bois Joli B&B, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Many months have gone by since we welcomed you all at Au Bois Joli, but Jean and I still remember the family whose members were so genuine in their appreciation remarks! It was a real pleasure for us to work at making your stay with us pleasant at this special Holiday moment. We wish you many more "Holiday Season" trips, as you always do. Come again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Let me say first, that I never write reviews and I should, but I have to when it comes to Georgette and Jean! They are excellent innkeepers and they work hard to make sure everyone is comfortable during their stay. Their attention to detail is impeccable! My husband and I had the pleasure of staying with Georgette and Jean for five December nights in their beautiful home, lovingly decorated for Christmas.

I felt so bad that our flight from Atlanta was delayed for four hours and we arrived much later than check-in time, but Georgette was very understanding. I even called her from the Atlanta airport informing her we would be late and had no idea what time we would get there. She said not to worry; our room would be waiting for us. We arrived around 8:30 p.m. and by the time we settled in the local wine shop had closed so Georgette offered to sell us a bottle of wine from their collection. Very much appreciated after a very long stressful day! We stayed in Room 3; it was immaculate, spacious and cozy. The bathroom was very nice and modern, excellent water pressure in the shower. Our room even had its own thermostat, though the house was a perfect temperature even though it was very cold outside. Breakfast was outstanding and plentiful!!! I believe Georgette’s crepes were my favorite, though everything was absolutely delicious. Keep in mind; you will need to have a piece of Jean’s wonderful famous maple syrup pie, so save room! You will not need lunch.

The bus stop is a block down the street from their home - take bus 11 to the old city. It was a breeze after Jean helped my hubby understand where we needed to go on Maguire Street and where we needed to catch it back. We purchased bus passes from Georgette and Jean. So glad we didn’t have to drive and try to find parking in the old city. We prefer lodging in quieter areas and the location of Au Bois Joli is perfect. The neighborhood is dotted with beautiful homes. We were able to park our car in their driveway, so free parking and we didn’t have to worry about snow plows. The B&B is right around the corner from Maguire Street which is lined with many shops and restaurants, even a very nice wine shop. One evening, the weather was so blustery and cold, that Georgette offered to drive us to the restaurant and even picked us up. We were very appreciative as we were dreading the walk in that weather, with winds gusting to 25mph.

I could go on and on about how wonderful our stay was. I was sad to leave and felt like we were leaving friends. We will go back in the future to see the beautiful city when it is not covered in snow (which we loved) in warmer weather and will definitely stay at the Au Bois Joli!! Georgette and Jean - thank you for a very memorable stay and until we meet again.

Room Tip: Garden Retreat, Room 3, one Queen bed and a very nice sitting area with couch and two chairs, table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyTravelbug06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giteauboisjoli, Owner at Au Bois Joli B&B, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
A simple Thank You doesn't seem to express well enough our appreciation of your positive and very encouraging note about what we do for guests at Au Bois Joli. We certainly will keep fond memories of you and your enthusiasm about Quebec's winter season and snow! Your remarks motivate us to keep on doing what we love doing, welcoming people to a small Inn that we have created with the purpose to share. Thank you so much for your presence here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Au Bois Joli for three nights during the Christmas holiday. We had two beautiful rooms, three delicious breakfasts, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Jean and Georgette. The Inn is spotless and the Christmas decorations were lovely. There is exceptional attention to detail and both of our hosts were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and Quebec sites of interest.

Georgette and Jean were dedicated to making our stay enjoyable. Our daughter has food allergies and they were so kind and attentive to her special needs diet. The food at breakfast was fantastic. I never imagined having maple syrup pie for dessert after breakfast, but it was irresistible!

I had relied on the previous reviews on Trip Advisor and they were accurate. Au Bois Joli exceeded our expectations on so many levels. I highly recommend this B & B to all considering a trip to Quebec.
I had previously checked out small hotels inside Old Quebec City and found that staying outside the downtown area provides the best value and personalized service. We took one trip in to the city by bus (15-20 minutes) and drove in the next day (paid about $18 to park).

We loved our stay at Au Bois Joli and are already planning a trip in the summer when we can see Quebec in sandals and shorts!

Thank you, Jean and Georgette!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeS228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giteauboisjoli, Owner at Au Bois Joli B&B, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
A simple Thank You doesn't seem to express well enough our appreciation of your positive and very encouraging note about what we do for guests at Au Bois Joli. We certainly will keep fond memories of you and your enthusiasm about Quebec's winter season and snow! Your remarks motivate us to keep on doing what we love doing, welcoming people to a small Inn that we have created with the purpose to share. Thank you so much for your presence here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at this B&B after reading all the glowing reviews. It's just off the Ave Maguire that has some excellent restaurants including two off my favorites Le Cochon Dingue and Brynd for smoked meat. Ave Maguire is just a 3 or 4 minute walk from Au Bois Joli. The B&B is an elegant older home that has been meticulously cared for and restored in a very peaceful neighborhood, absolutely no noise at night or early mornings. We stayed in a room 3 that had a queen bed and sitting area with a sofa and a newly renovated bathroom that looked like it had never been used.

We only met Jean as his wife was away in Toronto but he certainly knew his way around the kitchen and served up some wonderful breakfasts including his homemade maple syrup pie. I thought it would be too heavy to eat but it was very light and I found addictive. I tried to be polite and only take one piece but had to have a second. It's made with his own maple syrup that he harvests in the spring. By the way the best maple syrup in all of Quebec!! I purchased 2 containers to bring home with me.

As Jean is a local he provided recommendations on where to eat and each of the three nights we had delicious dinners in places that weren't frequented by tourists but mostly locals. He provided information on the bus service and had tickets available for purchase. He is a very friendly host but not at all intrusive but really a delightful proprietor. We hope to get back some time this winter and have a chance to meet his better half.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a very spacious room with a sitting area that has a sofa. Bathroom has its own heater so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamerboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giteauboisjoli, Owner at Au Bois Joli B&B, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
We do hope that you will have the opportunity to come again at Au Bois Joli! The Sillery area, as you have so nicely pointed out, is a real gem in Quebec city and Maguire street is so pleasant with its many choices for restaurants and all services. We believe that offering our guests a little more, like a nice, cosy livingroom with relaxing music, well decorated, neat and quiet rooms can make a difference in a stay. And we are happy when our menus have pleased. Thank you very much for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

It was a great 2 nights stay at this beautiful B&B. Really nice and friendly atmosphere, nice and really clean rooms. Jean & Georgette are gifted host/hostess; really attentive to details- they make sure that everything is perfect. Great breakfasts, which were delicious creative. Also, the B&B is well situated, close to University, Shopping center and different buses lines.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeriya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giteauboisjoli, Owner at Au Bois Joli B&B, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive comment about us. We take great pride in making our B&B a nice place where our guests will find what they expected and maybe a little more. We are blessed to get to meet respectful, appreciative people like you and we hope that your stay will keep on bringing you nice souvenirs of your séjour in Quebec city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our wonderful stay at this friendly, modern,very clean B & B was end Sept. for 4 nights. Jean &
Georgette are gifted host/hostess. Breakfasts were creative, delicious, and presented with class and attention to detail. The fact that this B& B is outside the city was a huge plus for us especially once in the city where we saw/ heard all the construction noise and confusion. Taking the bus presented no problem as Jean sold us the bus passes and pointed us to the bus stop. Upon leaving, we were even given Georgette's tips for our trip to Maine! We would definitely return to Au Bois Joli for the pleasure of Jean's famous Maple Syrup pie but also to share time with Jean & Georgette!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sante2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
3.0 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,109 reviews
2.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
922 reviews
3.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
4,103 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,510 reviews
3.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Bois Joli B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Bois Joli B&B

Property: Au Bois Joli B&B
Address: 2065, rue du Bois Joli, Quebec City, Quebec G1T 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Sillery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Bois Joli Inn B&B is well located, where you can enjoy the quietness you are looking for, just a step away from the heavy noise of the city. This beautifully decorated contemporary classic Inn sits in the heart of the most prized area of Quebec. Early coffee, full meal gourmet breakfast in a relaxed morning ambiance, itineraries that make sure you will not miss anything of the most unique european city in Canada, great restaurants at a 3-4 minute walk. Lovely, zen style romantic rooms with high quality beds, modern private bathrooms, Au Bois Joli has it all and you will not find such reasonable room rates with such high level of services. We welcome you with professionnalism, we make ourselves discreet, and we make sure to help you create what you expect of your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Au Bois Joli B&B Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing