We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Luxurious Get Away”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Located in the lower area of old Quebec City.. this charming very elegant hotel had everything we where looking for as we shared a couple of days with our Grandaughter from Ontario... She loved our suite, the heated bathroom floors and oversize tub made her feel like the princess she is. The hospitality that is extended to the hotel guests on Wednesday evening was a delightful surprise. A cocktail party with the opportunity to meet the owner and her Executive Team. We lunched at Panache, which is a small terrace on the upper level... food was tasty and excellent presentation... a rather mature menu but ok for a sophistaced young 13 yr old. The General Manager told us about the Panche Mobile located on I'le D'Orleans overlooking the vineyards.. so we made sure to stop and enjoy en route back to Montreal... We bought two bottles of their white wine and have since enjoyed every sip.

We loved the fact that the hotel was located close to everything without having to climb heart ache hill or use the Fenicular...

Room Tip: We had a deluxe King with a pull out sofa and it was perfect for the two adults and one child
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinegal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,791
    206
    39
    11
    8
See reviews for
283
1,345
43
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Townships, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at L' Auberge Saint-Antoine and we had a wonderful time. The auberge is located in the lower city or "basse ville" which is a lovely, quieter area of Québec City with old cobblestone streets and picturesque fieldstone buildings decorated with beautiful flowers. L'Auberge Saint-Antoine is built upon a heritage site and is a modern boutique style hotel which has all of the contemporary comforts that we are all accustomed to.

As soon as we arrived, the friendly and professional valet immediately parked our car and led us to the reception desk. Reception was friendly and informative and they gave us some excellent suggestions for restaurants in the area (we wanted something less touristy). We had a lovely room on the 5th floor with a view of the water even though we asked for a standard room. The decor is crisp, clean and elegant, featuring beautiful, fluffy duvets, huge & comfortable bath robes & slippers and a great evening turndown service for our return from our evening walk or evening meal (what a pleasure to return to our room and hear beautiful baroque music performed by a Québec City ensemble called Les Violons du Roi .. very nice local touch). The breakfasts are wonderful and we ate al fresco on the auberge's lovely courtyard terrace. The morning menu choice is excellent and includes healthy options. In addition, our morning server was great and always greeted us with a smile when we entered the dining room. It is so wonderful to see someone who is so professional and good at his job, KUDOS. This really got us off to a wonderful start in the morning.

We also sampled the chef's "Menu Degustation" or Taster's Menu (with wine pairings) at Panache, the auberge's restaurant and the restaurant was very much up to relais chateau standards. Excellent service, great presentation, lovely pairing of wines and a relaxed, warm ambiance. Our only small criticism would be that perhaps the menu was not as adventurous as we would have liked but we do understand how difficult it is to please most tastes, especially in such an internationally visited city. The classic menu that we had was beautifully executed and everything was perfect. We plan to return to Québec City next June and you can bet that we will be staying at L'Auberge Saint-Antoine again. For those of you who prefer cheesy, outdated hotels in the tourist trap area of Québec City, go for something like the Chateau Frontenac (we tried to go in there for a drink one afternoon and I was so disgusted, we turned around and walked out again). If, on the other hand, you have a more discriminating taste and would like to experience Québec in its true charm and splendour, then go for L'Auberge Saint-Antoine instead. It is definitely worth the extra money and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandeGourmande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Without a doubt, the place to stay in Quebec City. Old town atmosphere, on the St. Lawrence River, with superb service and food. They make you feel extra special. A discrete location, with truly extraordinary rooms. Choose the river view room on the 5th floor - you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceandCarolHyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This hotel is a beautiful place and the location is perfect, 5 minutes away from anything you would want to see. The best part was the service, when we checked in at reception they explained everything we would need to know about the hotel. Concierge were a great help and very friendly, they helped us with everything we needed and we had a great time in Quebec city.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novascotia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My son and I stayed at Auberge St Antoine for 6 days in July 2010, and I returned, this past July, along with my wife, son, dtr-in-law and 2 grandchildren for a lovely week in Quebec City. The hotel is everything you might expect at a 5 star hotel, without the 'glitz'. They offer 95 rooms, though you'd never guess it. The atmosphere and service is much more akin to a small, elegant inn. Its location, in the 'Old Port' area, is much preferable to the crowded, 'carny' 'Old Quebec' area. While you're there, be sure to visit the Museum of Civilization, just steps from the St Antoine, and be sure to ask to be given the 'gratis' tour of the hotel and its history. Finally, do not miss the Wed afternoon cocktail party, in the hotel lobby, hosted by the gracious owner and her family.
MLW

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlwFortLee_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We spent 3 night in a deluxe room vith a King and sofa ( we have 2 kids 10 and 11)
Beautifull, desugn, every single details makes the Auberge a top class jotel. The view in tge st Lawrence from our balxonny was amazing
Those who like modern furniture ( Starck, Kartell), uncreadible restaurant ( 2 level ,classy barn stiml, outdoir patio) and the most incredible cocktail bar will appreciated. We will come back in the winter

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, ME
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This is an excellent hotel! Very friendly and attentive staff. To our surprise, we were offered an early check-in, which we appreciated, before setting out to explore the Old City. The room was large and very comfortable (we had a "Comfort Room", with a separate closet/dressing area). Well-decorated, with excellent lighting, with dimmers on all fixtures. Large, well-appointed bathroom, with separate toilet stall.

Dinner and breakfast at Panache were outstanding. Excellent, friendly service. Be sure to make a reservation for dinner when you reserve your room, as it is popular with non-guests as well.

The owners have gone to great lengths to highlight the history of the property and have many artifacts displayed, both in public spaces and in individual rooms. There is a very interesting book with detail in each room, in French, but we could figure out much of the history, despite our limited French..

Room Tip: Request a room with a view, if posisble. Ours overlooked an outside dining terrace, thankfully not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldmayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Property: Auberge Saint-Antoine
Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a boutique hotel, Auberge Saint-Antoine is a window on Québec City’s past. Hundreds of artifacts from both the French and English regimes were discovered during an extensive archaeological dig on the property. In this unique contemporary space, the past has been audaciously re-interpreted for you to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing