We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stay Unlike Any Other”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Stay Unlike Any Other”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I make a living out of staying at high-end hotels. Approximately 150 nights/year. And I can honestly say that this hotel takes luxury accommodation to the highest level. The hotel is beautiful with every detail done with exceptional class and attentiveness. Each room is named specific to an artifact found in the hotel's excavation. The hotel boasts antique style rooms, as well as those comparable with the W's contemporary styling.

But let me be clear; as beautiful as the hotel is, the star of this luxury hotel is the service. The people on staff go to zenith of effort to make this a dream stay. I even had a bellman offer to go to his house to pick up a baby gate for our son because our room had a steep flight of stairs in it. WOW!!! The hotel breakfast plan is a must. Panache (the hotel restaurant) is 5 star dining and the breakfast plan is a steal at $20/person. Do not leave the hotel for breakfast. Trust me!

I would suggest the king suite with terrace to enjoy the beautiful summer weather.

If you miss this hotel, you miss a chance at one of the great experiences of your life - just last night we enjoyed Chocolate Creme Brûlée and Rose Champange while watching 007's Casino Royale in the hotel's private movie theater. My son slept on his cot at our feet, and we were the only ones in the theater. Seriously???

This hotel has earned EVERY accolade!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DallasNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    207
    39
    11
    8
See reviews for
283
1,348
43
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. It is listed in '100 places to stay before you die' and i can certainly see why.
My husband was lucky enough to stay here on a work trip a few years ago and raved about it, so i took him back there (all the way from NYC) for a surprise weekend, for his 30th birthday.
Our room was beautiful and the service was fantastic. The common areas are beautifully stylish without being over the top. This is a historical hotel, and they have creatively planted reminders of this around the rooms and common areas.
One evening we has dinner in the hotel restaurant, Panache, and it still stands as one of the most delicious meals i have ever eaten, and with beautiful atmosphere too.
We also had a couples massage which was nothing less than luxurious.
This hotel is not cheap and neither is the restaurant, but it is well worth every penny if you feel like splashing out for a special occasion.

Quebec is the cleanest city I have ever been to, and one of the most beautiful too. It's like a mini Paris, if you don't have time to cross the Atlantic.

Enjoy...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westchesterlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This hotel is for the successful and discerning traveler. It is beautifl, quiet, and elegant. If you have earned the best this is it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My husband, 27-year-old son, and I stayed for three nights. The location cannot be beat - in the charming old Quebec neighborhood, next to the Museum of Civilization. The rooms are nicely sized; bathroom is very large and incredibly well-appointed. Luxury and sophisticated touches throughout the hotel. Wonderful concierge, extremely pleasant staff - we ran into one of them in the village and he recognized and greeted us. The restaurant is very expensive. but one of the finest I have ever been to anywhere. We went on our first night (of six in Canada), and everything was downhill after. Save it for the end and leave with a memory (you'll also leave the hotel checkout with a snack from the restaurant!).

Room Tip: Our room had a small sofa; my's son room was almost the same except for a chair. The couch was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailDez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Located in the lower area of old Quebec City.. this charming very elegant hotel had everything we where looking for as we shared a couple of days with our Grandaughter from Ontario... She loved our suite, the heated bathroom floors and oversize tub made her feel like the princess she is. The hospitality that is extended to the hotel guests on Wednesday evening was a delightful surprise. A cocktail party with the opportunity to meet the owner and her Executive Team. We lunched at Panache, which is a small terrace on the upper level... food was tasty and excellent presentation... a rather mature menu but ok for a sophistaced young 13 yr old. The General Manager told us about the Panche Mobile located on I'le D'Orleans overlooking the vineyards.. so we made sure to stop and enjoy en route back to Montreal... We bought two bottles of their white wine and have since enjoyed every sip.

We loved the fact that the hotel was located close to everything without having to climb heart ache hill or use the Fenicular...

Room Tip: We had a deluxe King with a pull out sofa and it was perfect for the two adults and one child
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinegal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Townships, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at L' Auberge Saint-Antoine and we had a wonderful time. The auberge is located in the lower city or "basse ville" which is a lovely, quieter area of Québec City with old cobblestone streets and picturesque fieldstone buildings decorated with beautiful flowers. L'Auberge Saint-Antoine is built upon a heritage site and is a modern boutique style hotel which has all of the contemporary comforts that we are all accustomed to.

As soon as we arrived, the friendly and professional valet immediately parked our car and led us to the reception desk. Reception was friendly and informative and they gave us some excellent suggestions for restaurants in the area (we wanted something less touristy). We had a lovely room on the 5th floor with a view of the water even though we asked for a standard room. The decor is crisp, clean and elegant, featuring beautiful, fluffy duvets, huge & comfortable bath robes & slippers and a great evening turndown service for our return from our evening walk or evening meal (what a pleasure to return to our room and hear beautiful baroque music performed by a Québec City ensemble called Les Violons du Roi .. very nice local touch). The breakfasts are wonderful and we ate al fresco on the auberge's lovely courtyard terrace. The morning menu choice is excellent and includes healthy options. In addition, our morning server was great and always greeted us with a smile when we entered the dining room. It is so wonderful to see someone who is so professional and good at his job, KUDOS. This really got us off to a wonderful start in the morning.

We also sampled the chef's "Menu Degustation" or Taster's Menu (with wine pairings) at Panache, the auberge's restaurant and the restaurant was very much up to relais chateau standards. Excellent service, great presentation, lovely pairing of wines and a relaxed, warm ambiance. Our only small criticism would be that perhaps the menu was not as adventurous as we would have liked but we do understand how difficult it is to please most tastes, especially in such an internationally visited city. The classic menu that we had was beautifully executed and everything was perfect. We plan to return to Québec City next June and you can bet that we will be staying at L'Auberge Saint-Antoine again. For those of you who prefer cheesy, outdated hotels in the tourist trap area of Québec City, go for something like the Chateau Frontenac (we tried to go in there for a drink one afternoon and I was so disgusted, we turned around and walked out again). If, on the other hand, you have a more discriminating taste and would like to experience Québec in its true charm and splendour, then go for L'Auberge Saint-Antoine instead. It is definitely worth the extra money and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandeGourmande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Without a doubt, the place to stay in Quebec City. Old town atmosphere, on the St. Lawrence River, with superb service and food. They make you feel extra special. A discrete location, with truly extraordinary rooms. Choose the river view room on the 5th floor - you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceandCarolHyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Property: Auberge Saint-Antoine
Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a boutique hotel, Auberge Saint-Antoine is a window on Québec City’s past. Hundreds of artifacts from both the French and English regimes were discovered during an extensive archaeological dig on the property. In this unique contemporary space, the past has been audaciously re-interpreted for you to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing