We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room, Concierge, and Restaurant all top-notch.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Ranked #4 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I'm writing this review on Tripadvisor solely to commend the concierge, Genevieve. She stayed past her work hour to help us plan activities for our stay in Quebec, made all of our restaurant recommendations and reservations, helped me find and reserve for us a cooking class in English (Ateliers et Saveurs, which was really fun), convinced her spa colleague to squeeze in a last minute appointment I think it was even past her worktime, and left me a surprise birthday treat in my room. All of this with a wonderful enthusiasm that made us excited about everything we were about to do. Thank you, Genevieve!
Also, Panache restaurant in the hotel for dinner was fantastic, both food and wine list.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrotter212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,363 - 1,369 of 2,194 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

This was our second stay at Auberge Saint-Antoine, which is easliy the equal of The Post Hotel in Lake Louise, The Rimrock in Banff, or Langdon Hall in Cambridge. Everything is of a very high standard, faultless really, but their restaurant, Panache is truly a revelation. Headed by a young French chef, very innovative in his approach, locally sourcing his ingredients, the two dinners we had during our 3-night stay closely approached memorable meals we had this summer at Daniel and Le Bernardin in NYC. We will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: A few of the suites have large decks overlooking the St. Lawrence river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldwidewanderer93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This hotel is reconstructed across several warehouse buildings in the lower town in Quebec City. Although technically on the St Lawrence, it is across a major street and parking lot from the docking port of several large boats, so any romantic vision you had of a beautiful view of the river may be slightly shattered when faced with reality. The hotel is on many levels, meaning not just several floors, but loads of nooks and crannies that are up several steps and down a few, and not level with any main floor. This is charming, and also a bit odd, but if you have a problem with stairs, there are SOME rooms that may be less than friendly. Suite 007 is one of those rooms, so take care. If your knee hurts as mine did, this was really quite inaccessible.

The furnishings are of excellent quality, boutique orientation, and some are just plain odd. For example, above our bed, was a virtual "crack in the sky" painted with clouds and an art nouveau angel light fixture descending from it.

The personnel are lovely, multilingual and will do anything for you--except carry your luggage unless you make a direct request. It doesn't seem to be a "goes with" amenity. I have seen others comment on this also. I do believe the hotel should make it a policy to help guests into the hotel with their bags automatically.When placed in an unusual locaiton, taking the bags for the guest should absolutely be done.

The Augerge is an exceptionally charming otel, albeit a bit odd. I have been at the Chateau Frontenac and in my opinion, the top of the line here is far better--and more intimate. No crowds or large conventions.

Our suite had a huge living room with an open dining room, a kitchenetteand a tiny kitchen table, a huge master bedroon with a "fainting couch" art nouveau in design, The living room had a pull out sofa, but do not be deluded into thinking that this is actually acceptable for a sleeping adult--the mattress is pathetically thin and the springs are hard and miserable- The living room serves as just that, not an extra bedroom.

The linens are luxurious, but the bath was an odd combination of black marble and a deluxe circular shower with interestin sprays attached to an amorphous black jetted tub which was wonderful!

I highly recommend this hotel--accepting the fact that you MUST book a room that is accessible easily if you have any problem with stairs and that you are adventuresome enough to accept the quirkiness of the place--it is luxurious, and wonderful.

By the way, the lower town is in my opinion, far more charming than the upper--with a huge amount to do, so the location was terrific.

The entrance to this hotel is harder than heck to find without a GPS--and many of the surrounding streets are pedestrian only so be sure to plan your entry into the lower town.

Still, with a few flaws, we loved it!!!

Room Tip: An upper floor is probably better and be sure when you book to ask about the view and where the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

What a great hotel. From arrival to departure we had a marvellous time. The service, food and lodging were superb. Literally everyone at the hotel was warm helpful and friendly. Evelyn the concierge was wonderful. Helped organize our trips, transportation, driver(if you need a driver/guide fluent in English ask for Guy) and had an itinerary delivered to our room within hours of meeting with her. La Panache was out of this world and their breakfasts are great. Our room was large and extremely comfortable with a great view of the Frontenac from the balcony. We didn't think that it was particularly expensive. In fact it was great value. It was quiet,( as opposed to the Frontenac which is like a railway station). We travel a fair amount and stay at hotels in the Relais or Luxury collection, whenever feasible. This was undoubtedly one of the best. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrasse looking onto the Frontenac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Auberge St Antoine service quality was absolutely outstanding – across the board! – not just one or two employees, but everyone. It began with a warm welcome from a valet, who had our names as we drove up to the front door. Any extra wishes or desires were attended to with cheerfulness and speed. Genevieve, the chief concierge, was knowledgeable and enthusiastic – probably the best concierge we encountered in all our travels, staying in 5-star hotels worldwide.

We had a wonderful dinner at the Panache, hotel’s restaurant. Fortunately, we were at the hotel on Wednesday, the day when the owner’s family treats guests to drinks and canapés. We answered many friendly questions from the room services manager as well as the general manager, who use these parties to keep their fingers on the pulse of their guests. It was a pleasure talking with Mr Price about archeological digs he performed prior to building his hotel on this site (many artifacts are tastefully displayed throughout the building).

This stay was a highlight of our drive through Quebec!

When planning our three-day trip to Quebec City, we first looked at the famous Chateau Frontenac – a magnificent pile towering above the city. After reading Tripadvisor reviews we chose Auberge St Antoine– and it turned out to be a wonderful choice.

Chateau Frontenac is great to look at – and look at it we did from our room terrace – but we visited it looked old and overcrowded, somewhat of a factory feel. Auberge St Antoine, on the other hand, was relatively small (95 rooms) and spacious, absolutely modern on the inside, with the best appliances, while on the outside it blended into the centuries-old block of buildings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ccess to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex_Tallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel. We had previously visited as a couple but this time had our two young daughters, ages 6 and 8 with us. The hotel service was exceptional, starting with the helpful recommendations for restaurants from the concierge at the time we booked, to the valet service on arrival, and throughout our two day stay. On one occasion the doorman quickly retrieved a forgotten item from our car. On another he ran up the street to advise a neighboring restaurant that we would be slightly delayed for dinner while we finished our drinks in the hotel lobby bar. When we discovered that the restaurant reservation was mixed up (we thought we had booked at a nearby restaurant but had inadvertently booked at their other much further location) the concierge made a quick phone call and secured a difficult to obtain last minute reservation at the nearby location.

The modern room as lovely with a king bed and sitting area with a very comfortable pull out for the kids. The turn down included two hotel teddy bears for the girls which delighted them. We had breakfast each day at Panache which was delicious. Our dinner with our daughters at Panache was not as exceptional as I remembered from our previous visit. The food was certainly good but not amazing. Given the prices charged the food should be at least memorable, as should the service. We found that the servers in the restaurant and lobby bar were neither as efficient or personable as everyone else we encountered during our stay. The hotel however was otherwise flawless which counterbalanced any mild disappointment in the restaurant. The restoration is beautiful. The historic pieces throughout the hotel are a nice touch and the kids found it fascinating. The gym facility was excellent. I would certainly recommend it to anyone travelling to Quebec City. The location is great in the lower city. Lots of wonderful shops with far less touristy t-shirt boutiques than in other locations. It is also next door to the Museum of Civilization which had great exhibits and there is a wonderful farmers market on the river which is within walking distance, along with any number of good restaurants. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This is a top-level hotel that has a location that is within walking distance of all major Quebec City sites. Staff is courteous and accommodating. We had a room with a queen-size bed, the smallest they offer, and it was more than adequate. Best hotel breakfast we've ever had. Get the breakfast package. We were fortunate to arrive just in time for the weekly wine and hors d'oeuvres reception that the owners provide (and they attend). Very nice event and set a good tone for our stay.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room they offer and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 102 in Quebec City
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £135 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a boutique hotel, Auberge Saint-Antoine is a window on Québec City’s past. Hundreds of artifacts from both the French and English regimes were discovered during an extensive archaeological dig on the property. In this unique contemporary space, the past has been audaciously re-interpreted for you to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing