We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2012

If you are looking for the perfect winter get away, this is it. Very well located in lower town, across from the Museum of Civilization and lower town's best restaurants and galleries - this hotel has it all and more. The environment is warm and relaxing. I enjoyed a beer next to a roaring fire, in a private nook, while catching up on the news thanks to the free wifi.

The room was beautifully appointed with tremendous and thoughtful attention to detail. Built in fold out ironing board is a good example of this. Lots of drawers to put clothes away so you don't feel like you're living out of a suite case. The room and bathroom have beautiful lighting, the can be adjusted to suit any mood. A nespresso machine one of the nice features of the room. No iPod dock - but you can't have everything.

Some other reviewers have mentioned the bed. I couldn't agree more - one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. In fact I was looking at the hotel's website trying to find the name of the manufacturer. Bed linens are part of this experience. I can't say enough about it.

Bathroom is of the same high quality with an enormous bathtub for two and rain shower - shower head. Heated floor in bathroom adds to the effect.

Unlike some hotels, the room and surrounding halls were very quiet. Another huge plus.

We only stayed one night, but want to return to spend a full weekend. Location would be ideal for extended period at Christmas or New Years. The room rate was not inexpensive, but I feel I got value for money.

If you are thinking going I'll note or you the hotel is very close to the VIA Train Station (Gare du palais). Almost walking distance. Hotel has a shuttle which we did not use. Used the valet parking, which has a car wash facility that I should have taken advantage of!

The only downside for me personally is that the hotel was offering a lower rate the weekend (fifty percent off what I paid) I stayed. I should have shopped around more for the better rate. Anyway - not bitter given the great time we had. Will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,145)
There are newer reviews for Auberge Saint-Antoine
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,290 - 1,296 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

It chose this hotel as I do most based Tripadvisor reviews. It was all and more. The decor was just so detailed and interesting. The bed was very comfortable. Loved the friendly staff especially Jean.
-Baptiste. Great location. Panache may we be a good restaurant but that was not my experience. We had the signature menu with prestige wine. Nothing prestige about the wines served. I would not take that chance again - go a la carte and choose your own wine. This elegant hotel is a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VwmuchFood4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This hotel is, on balance, one of the good ones but with weaknesses as well as strengths.

We stayed in their top room - the Panorama Suite - which was pleasantly comfortable and benefitted from a large (albeit in October cold) terrace balcony. Pleasing views out over the St Lawrence and, at the terrace side, looking backward, photographable view of Chateau Frontenac.

The hotel's situated on the lower ground "below" the old city but it's easy to walk (if you're fit) up to the touristy area above, so a nice location.

Tricky to judge the concierge service; one never knows whether restaurant recommendations are based on a genuine assessment or not. We got a poor recommendation and one only needs a single failure to feel that further advice would be unreliable. Generally though the reception staff were good news - welcoming, friendly and keen to help.

The restaurant we felt was poor. Our first, and only, experience was at breakfast which was not impressive and was badly under-staffed too. Even worse, for me, was their attitude to smoking - I wanted to use a deserted yet pleasing little outside terrace beside the restaurant to enjoy a cigarette and got a rather unpleasant "no you can't" from the restaurant manager; this poor attitude drops my overall rating from excellent to simply very good. Dinner might have been wonderful but we didn't want to take the risk.

As long as your room has no problems (and ours didn't) what influences your feeling of a hotel is the staff and generally (with the two exceptions mentioned) at Saint Antoine they were a delight - welcoming, friendly, keen to help, chatty and effective. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank incomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Auberge Saint Antoine,in Quebec City, the week of October 22nd. It was without question one of the best hotels we ever stayed at. The staff,service,rooms,amenities,food,you name it was of the highest quality. Will make it a point to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinman070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed in Montreal for a week and then drove the 2-3 hours to Quebec City. Immediately upon arrival at Aurberg Saint Antoine the hotel felt like the centerpiece of our trip. We reserved a mid-tier room on Expedia (not the basic room, but not a suite either) and could not ask for anything more. The room was more comfortable and nicer than our suite in Montreal! Terrific deep soaking bathtub and amazing spa shower. Lighting was great, tv had solid selection of channels, plus fast free WiFi.

Also, the staff are incredible. Everyone in all areas of the hotel and all jobs were AMAZING. The bellman, the reservation staff, the concierge, the valet. Really unbelievable. During our stay in Montreal we stayed at a very upscale hotel expecting top of the line service, but unfortunately found the staff to be cold and somewhat detached. Staff here are warm, friendly and always had a smile on their faces. The concierge was super helpful in guiding us to sites in the area.

We had drinks in the bar/cafe several times and enjoyed the fireplaces. Very cozy. Excellent hotel location as well. Right in the heart of the lower town and near all of the shopping and cute French restaurants in Petit Champlain.

My only complaint concerns the spa. My fiancee and I both ordered facials, and we both were disturbed to see that the person giving the facials wore gloves the whole time. I understand hygiene and all, but the crinkling of the gloves during most of the facial took a lot away from the experience. I get facials fairly regularly in the US and have never seen anyone wear gloves before. Maybe for a part of the facial if she/he is using some sort of lotion or oil, but a face and scalp massage with gloves is not all that great, particularly for the price charged.

Room Tip: Go for a midlevel upgrade. The suite may actually be worth it though, the price seemed fair.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

From the moment we drove up to the very sad point when we had to leave, this hotel exceeded all expectations and is among the finest we have ever had the pleasure of staying in, anywhere. Staff, excellent, knowledgable, and professional. The hotel, spotless, tastefully decorated Nd with the finest of bedding. Location, you could not ask for better. Only down side, plan ahead if you want to experience their restaurant and it books up in advance!
Fabulous and we plan to go back again very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joltinjoe60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The good:
* Rooms are fantastic. We were upgraded and were given a beautiful room with small seating area. The rooms were really very stylish and contemporary,
* The beds are so comfortable. I have never slept as well out of my own bed.
* Good gym facilities.
* Free wifi.
* Fantastic bathrooms with heated floors and lovely big bath.
* Helpful staff, including a knowledgeable concierge.
* Breakfast was very nice, all a la carte, which is quite unusual.
* Great location in the old town.

The bad:
* I have nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Overall:
* This was the nicest hotel I stayed at during my trip to Quebec. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 102 in Quebec City
4,529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £144 - £615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a boutique hotel, Auberge Saint-Antoine is a window on Québec City’s past. Hundreds of artifacts from both the French and English regimes were discovered during an extensive archaeological dig on the property. In this unique contemporary space, the past has been audaciously re-interpreted for you to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing