We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I use came back from a wonderful stay at the Auberge Saint-Antoine. The hotel is a perfect getaway. One of the best we have ever been to. The architecture is a great mix of old stone and new modern design. We stayed in a historical room, with a fireplace and plenty of space. Every part of the room was immaculately appointed.

Location: The hotel is in a great location near the Vieux Quebec, within short walking distance of all the main attractions.

Facilities: The hotel is in mint condition. It has unique historical artifacts all wrapped within a modern spin. The gym is adequately staffed with good equipment. The sauna in the spa was top rate.

Nightlife: In the evening, we spent time in the lounge with drinks and found the ambiance very peaceful yet trendy. A jazz duo performed on Saturday night which added to the appeal.

Service: The staff was extremely courteous and flexible. When we arrived, they remembered I had requested a historical room if available and put us in that room. They spent a lot of time with us explaining the neighborhoods, providing food recommendations, storing our bought goods during the day, etc. We do not speak French, but that didn't phase them.

I can't emphasize how wonderful this hotel was.

Room Tip: We liked the historical room. Old but maintained very well. I would recommend a room with a firepl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeSaint-Antoine, Responsable relations publiques at Auberge Saint-Antoine, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Monsieur Schanman,

What a thrill to read such a great review about our establishment!
All the staff is very excited and happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you mentioned, we are located within a walk distance of all the main attractions of Québec, which is quite convenient for our guests. Concerning the jazz night, we are glad you get an opportunity to stop by at the Café-Bar, as it is, as you write, very appealing. It’s also nice that you had the chance to experience most of the services we offer! (Spa, Fitness, Restaurant, Bar, Conciergerie...)

Additionally, we are pleased you enjoyed the historical touch of our building, knowing that you stayed into one of our thematic room (which are definitely more rustic in terms of decor than our modern rooms). It’s also nice that you had the chance to experience most of the services we offer!

Be assured that we would be delighted to welcoming you again on your next visit to Québec City!

Ingrid Lemm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,687
    195
    39
    11
    8
See reviews for
261
1,277
41
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
320 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

What a contrast. We had just come from staying at the new Four Seasons hotel in Toronto where our room, although comfortable and hi tech was clinical and not at all cosy. Such a lovely surprise arriving late at the Auberge Saint Antoine to find a lovely, tastefully decorated, cosy room awaiting us with soft music playing in it. We had booked a luxury room with river view and we were not disappointed. The room had everything in it we could have possibly wanted. Lovely comfortable bed, nespresso machine and choice of teas, great bathroom with huge shower and bath. There was good lighting and heating (which we needed as the weather was freezing), and the bathroom floor was heated too.
This Relais Chateau boutique hotel deserves all the excellent reviews. It is very well situated in the old quarter and it has a lot of character, it was once a maritime warehouse.
The only negative points were the internet connection kept cutting out and the river view was actually car park/river view as there is a large car park in front of the hotel. Also breakfast was disappointing, we would have much preferred a buffet as non of the breakfast menus were quite what we wanted and the a la carte was limited.
Having said that we loved our stay in this unique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank multitrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
285 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at Auberge St. Antoine for a week. The location is perfect for walking to the upper walled portion of the city as well as the beautiful area around the hotel on the lower level of Vieux Quebec. Once again, we were not disappointed by choosing a Relais and Chateaux property. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was large with a soaker tub for one, a separate shower, enclosed commode, and double sinks. The public area was very pleasant and included a level with the registration desk, concierge desk, and large seating area with fireplace and an adjoining lower level lounge with a gorgeous view through the two-story windows looking out to the street entrance. The restaurant was top drawer and we ate many meals there for breakfast and dinner. The service, food and wine selection were the best. We toured the spa and were very impressed by the peacefulness of the private and common areas. At every turn we found friendly helpful staff that made our stay even better than expected. If we return to Quebec City we will stay at this lovely hotel again.

Room Tip: We found our room with bed, desk and chair, sofa, coffee table, two chairs, TV and dresser to be per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
251 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Auberge Saint-Antoine is on a little private side street in Vieux Quebec, Lower Town. it is a very highly regarded deluxe property as rated in all the Travel magazines, but let me tell you why: (1) The rooms are spacious. We were going to take a suite,but after seeing our room, it was not necessary. There was a couch and two chairs in a spacious sitting area; (2) the bathroom has convection heating in the floor tile; (3) the lighting inn the room is indirect and fabulous: (4) the staff are very friendly and helpful - particularly the very concierge, Genevieve Guay. (She is a delight.); (5) the hotel is a short walk from Le Petit Champlain, a delightful little shopping street in the Lower Town; (6) it is also a short walk away from the Upper Town and closely proximate to the Citadel and other major sites within the 'Wall'. The hotel is pricey, so watch for deals, but it is well worth doing, with the Panache restaurant and the elegant bar/lounge a very nice way to end a day sightseeing. Do it!

Room Tip: Go for 315. Do not go for 604
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Ok, first let me say that my budget did not allow me to stay at Auberge Saint-Antoine. I came upon it by accident, exploring the Petit Champlain. I was drawn by the stone work and stone walls that showed from the front door and wandered into the hotel to find out more about it. The conceirge and woman at the bar took much time to tell me about the geography and history of where we were standing. Glass, leather and mlitary artifacts are beautifully displayed on the walls of the bar and also in a special room to the right of the restaurant. Just fascinating history. They have preserved the 17th (?) century stone walls which you can see through glass windows from inside the hotel. Just a brilliant presentation. It was obvious I wasn't a guest, and I so appreciated the staff's kindness and generosity allowing me to photograph and explore. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank REJ810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I often stay at Auberge St Antoine for business and I am always impressed by the level of customer service they offer to guests.
Hotel has a very cosy atmosphere starting with the fireplace in the lobby and in the restaurant.. and it continues with the heated floors in bathrooms in your super comfortable room.
Love the fact that they have Nespresso machines in every room - that way you can have a great cup of coffee in the morning before you leave.
Panache restaurant is top notch (although not cheap :).. if you can - treat yourself to the "Panache breakfast" - poached eggs with wild mushrooms and duck covered in Hollandaise sauce - AMAZING!! totally worth the $25 they charge you for this treat :)
Convenient location to Old Quebec City - you can walk anywhere in a few minutes.

During my last visit I lost a necklace somewhere in the hallway and I called the hotel 3 days later. They checked with housekeeping and confirmed it was found and then they mailed it to my home - that's what I would call going above and beyond for your guests.
Overall - great staff, great rooms, great atmosphere - strongly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jarca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

we got a coupon from travelzoo for $100 off, otherwise this would have been too pricey for us. we stayed in a lux room, very nice!! very clean accommodations, exceptional service, the room was spacious, lovely bathroom. I loved the comfy easy chair and huge footstool instead of the usual motel chair available. we only stayed one night on our way through to Ontario, wish we could have stayed longer. very centrally located, old quebec shops and restaurants are within an easy walk. the valet service was very nice, no need to worry about finding a spot to park. we definitely would stay again if we got another deal on the price. regular price for our room was $269 but we got it for $169. beware of the heft quebec room tax, it was over $30 on our room. only one little complaint, no sleep timer on the tv, but such a small thing to complain about.

Room Tip: we were on the 3rd floor, no problems with noise whatsoever. this is a high quality hotel, id be sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H&B_love_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,968 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Property: Auberge Saint-Antoine
Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing