We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Choice”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I found this hotel to be a lovely choice for a quick getaway in Quebec City. To be honest things got off to a rocky start during check-in when I discovered that not only was my room smaller than anticipated, but I had paid extra for a luxe terrace that looked out over a courtyard – their room description not only indicated larger size but also that “all these rooms offer an amazing view of the fortifications or the Saint-Lawrence River”. In the hotel’s defense if I went out to the very edge of the balcony and positioned myself just right I could see a small corner of the fortifications but that was not exactly what I was expecting. Given the hotel was at capacity my alternatives were limited so I ended up staying put. I did take a tour of a room or two in the process and found rooms to be quite varied in size and mood which does of course add some charm. My bathroom was huge with a heated floor which was a nice touch. I also found the staff to be very accommodating and rooms to be well appointed. Noise from both street and hallway was limited. I loved having breakfast delivered to my room which made for a relaxing start to the day with coffee on the terrace – a special shout out to the waiters who successfully navigated the challenging entry to my room every day. The hotel is located in lower city which could provide a challenging if most of your planned activities are up the hill, but to be honest no matter where you stay in Quebec City you should be prepared to walk. I found going in the back way as opposed to the stairs by the funicular to be totally manageable. Of course just taking the funicular is a viable option as well. I am still chuckling a bit thinking about the panting people at various levels of the stairs which I think must have initiated more casualties historically that the single funicular incident but I digress. All in all a great place for a relaxing stay whether you are on your own or with others.

Room Tip: If possible ask ahead for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzplacedinphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,791
    206
    39
    11
    8
See reviews for
283
1,345
43
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed for three nights in April. The hotel was easy to find and the men at the valet were very polite and helpful. We were welcomed at the front desk after a long drive by great staff who speak both English and French fluently. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet, the bathroom was huge, and the floors were heated. We had room service and were happy to find that they could accommodate a gluten-free diet with ease. While the meal took about an hour, it was definitely worth it. We were a little disappointed they could not offer us more help with finding gluten-free eateries in the rest of the Old City. I was nervous because I purchased our stay through a promotion and was worried we would be treated with less care, which was definitely not the case. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheButtercups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This may be the best hotel at which we have ever had the pleasure to stay. The staff couldn't be more helpful or pleasant (and in particular our thanks to Johannie of the Concierge Desk who prepared an entire folder of things to do and directions for a day trip we took out of the city), the owner, Mrs. Price, hosts all the guests for a cocktail reception every Wednesday evening and the room was charming. The entire experience was positive and the visit to Quebec City was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is located in a calm área of Quebec City coles to the Port and fez steps from the Champlain "Casse-Cou" stairs and the funiculaire. Room is spacious and bathroom flor is heated gaiving a good feeling.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcioPalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at the Auberge Saint-Antoine and it really is a perfect hotel. From the extremely attentive front desk staff to the thoughtful and helpful Concierge, they do a great job of making you feel welcome upon arrival and throughout your stay. One thing I appreciated about their customer service was that it was genuine - where many hotel and service industry staff tend to fabricate their friendliness, the Auberge Saint-Antoine staff truly want to be nice and helpful, and it shows. They obviously do a great job of hiring and employing wonderful people.
The rooms are very spacious and clean, and most importantly, quiet. At no point could I ever hear sound coming from the other rooms.
The hotel is well located within the old city and has no shortage of amenities - they have a decent work-out room, a great restaurant, a nice bar to sit and have drinks in, and great music.
I am also usually somewhat reluctant to let other people drive my car (another pet peeve of mine) , but we found their staff to be very responsible and careful with our vehicle. If we return to Quebec City we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon Falls, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

It doesn't get any better.. hotel staff is top notch..from the reception desk to valet parking, the concierge, waitstaff at the restaurants, etc. all impressive. Location is perfect..walking distance to everything in Old Quebec. On site restaurants are excellent... we had drinks and apps in the Café Bar Artifact by the cozy fireplaces and dinner at Panache, the best fine dining we've ever experienced..worth every penny! Rooms are quaint, nice accessories, heated bathroom floors, and higher floors have a balcony with a great view. I have stayed at several high end hotels in Old Quebec over the years, including the Chateau, but this hotel would definitely be my 1st choice!!

Room Tip: choose a higher floor for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A Relais and Chateaux hotel Superbly located on the Old Port in the Old Town, just below the Chateau Frontenac Hotel, and within walking distance of all the sites you would want to visit, Next to the Museum of Civilization.

The rooms, amenities, decor, public areas, service and the highly rated restaurant le Panache are allexcellent. We love suite 403 with a porthole window view of the river.

..Prices are moderate to high, but well worth it. Many nearby restaurants, cafes, shops and galeries just minutes away. Abundant pay parking across the street by the port.

Room Tip: Try room 403.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter310143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4,244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Property: Auberge Saint-Antoine
Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a boutique hotel, Auberge Saint-Antoine is a window on Québec City’s past. Hundreds of artifacts from both the French and English regimes were discovered during an extensive archaeological dig on the property. In this unique contemporary space, the past has been audaciously re-interpreted for you to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing