We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second impressions are even better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Ranked #5 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Jetersville, VA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Second impressions are even better!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had fallen in love with this city two years ago. Loved the quaint hotel with breakfast basket hanging on the door each morning the personnel, location etc.
But then---- we enter Saint Antoine's and the past was, well; the past. From the gorgeous museum/artifact decor to the service and food in both the restaurant , Panache and the lobby area bar/grill ( with live entertainment ), we were swept along on a wave of incredible service and amenities.
I am on a diet that would make most chefs moan, especially French ones. Raw juice, veggies, no sauces, breads, dairy or meats. No problem. They would respond with a smile and say, "Excellent!" with each request or suggestion.
The rooms are luxurious, though not palatial. With a touch of a button and maybe a two minute wait, a maid would arrive at the door ready to serve. The lovely con siege assisted us with excursions and identifying eateries that would be appropriate for our needs. Amazing experience from registering to check out.

Room Tip: Both of the parties we travelled with were more than satisfied with their rooms and not having toure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,820
    215
    41
    12
    10
See reviews for
297
1,369
44
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We opted for a luxe river view suite and the room was fantastic. So wonderful in fact we decided to stay a third day when we only planned on staying 2. There was a wonderful deep tub that I took several great soaks in and a shower with rainshower showerhead as well as a handheld showerheard. Very nice décor and touches in the room. When housekeeping would come you could actually see where the floor had been mopped and soap bubbles in the toilet. I don’t ever remember being so impressed with housekeeping on any of my stays. The hotel staff was also a highlight. Extrememly friendly, accommodating and helpful with tips on where to eat or go see. One night we walked around late in to the evening and by the time we thought about dinner resturants had closed. The hotel staff called a local pizza place and made sure that they would be open by the time that we walked down to order. It seemed that the hotel had very good relationships with other local businesses.

The location on the river was great. Within a block there were plenty of shops and restaurants. There is a large hill to go up if you want to continue your explorations in old Quebec but we enjoyed the exercise and the view from the top of the hill. All in all we thought the location of this hotel was the best possible location.

There is a complimentary tour of the hotel (which is on a archeological site) that is advertised with your stay although we had difficulty scheduling this during the 3 days that we there. The first day there was no on available to do it. On day two it was only offered at 9:30 am which we thought was too early for us and then needed to leave early on day 3.

After embibing cocktails at several of the old Qubec City establishments we think that the hotel bar here was one if not the best place to grab a cocktail. Great wait staff that made great cocktails.

We had breakfast at the hotel one morning in Panache and it was amazing. We also took advantage of the work out facility which has a nice selection of weights and machines and the sauna. We would not stay anywhere else on a return visit! And will definitely recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I chose Auberge Saint Antoine to celebrate our first wedding anniversary in Quebec City based on the very favorable reviews on trip advisor. We arrived on a Thursday evening and the valet/ check in was seamless and the hotel is very easy to find from the main road. The hotel also had interesting historical artifacts on display and all the rooms are themed with a certain artifact. The location is excellent, close to many great restaurants and convenient to some of the main attractions. Be prepared to get some exercise if you plan to walk up the hill every day, or multiple times a day as we did by mistake....

The hotel room was very nice. A bit small perhaps but efficient. The room had an incredible comfortable bed with really nice linens. The bathroom was great with heated floors and a massive soaking tub with good water pressure on the shower. We had an issue with the tub/shower draining slowly on the first night, which was promptly resolved when we told the front desk. Free wifi was nice and My husband enjoyed the fancy coffee maker; he is quite picky about coffee and thought the in room coffee was good. I was a bit disappointed they didn't have breakfast tea in the room, but the front desk provided the tea when I requested it.

My complaints are primarily with the service at the hotel. At least twice we went to ask the concierge a question and there was no one at the desk, but a tablet was left in place of a person. One time we were told by the front desk, who couldn't help us, to come back 20 minutes if we wanted help....not particularly helpful. Secondly, housekeeping didn't seem particularly attentive to details. Every night when we returned to the room everything in the bathroom was exactly as we left it - not a catastrophe, but it probably indicates that nobody wiped down the counters over the course of our three night stay. Also, I went to sit down on the the little sofa thing in the room and noticed my empty water bottle from the night before was on the floor where a left it.

It's a nice property but the service shortfalls prevents me from giving a five star rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwenni8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Little to add to past comments - this is an excellent hotel in a beautiful city. The single most noticeable feature was the standard of service from everyone that we met - cleaners, handymen, concierge, waitresses etc . There was always a real desire to help and a genuine smile. Shame we are unlikely to be back there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyBirder2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

really lovely hotel - and the service was truly second to none... staff always so friendly - GREAT concierge w/ WONDERFUL restaurant recommendations. GREAT location - really nice restaurant at hotel that we used for breakfast - really all A++

if had to mention one neg - work out room just ok, wish they had water and towels there.

but really - stop looking and stay here - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieg18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel for our 5 year anniversary. Disclaimer - we have stayed in luxury hotels around the world so our standards are high. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay but it is not the "best" hotel we have stayed at by any measure nor what appears to me to be the best hotel in QC. There seem to be many many boutique hotels throughout the city and some in more central locations. Old port area is lovely but very touristy (as is most of QC). A few highlights - nespresso machines and mighty leaf tea in your rooms, nice soaking tub (overall standard room was small though), umbrellas at door, staff willing to help and sufficient in numbers, gym, yoga room and spa area quaint and well done, cookies upon departure. A few areas for improvement - concierge gets tied up which leaves you waiting, concierge tried to dissuade me from getting a massage elsewhere (pushing for the high rates for on-call massesuses at the hotel), concierge also sent us on a double decker bus tour that is marketed as hop on hop off but forgot to mention to us that there were only 2 hours left of travel time on the bus itself, and lastly, we arranged for a very early morning wake up call as we had a very early flight and the staff "forgot" to look at the sheet and to give us a call - unacceptable in my book. Also, I was underwhelmed by the fact that they did not make any small gestures (some chocolates or a note etc.) given that it was a special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The good:

1) Great location
2) Friendly helpful staff and concierge (very helpful)
3) Wonderful lobby bar and atmosphere
4) Great design including rooms
5) Comfortable beds
6) Private, secluded, romantic feeling to the whole place
7) Classy (they were shooting professional models in the lobby area one night)

A couple issues:

1) Challenge getting wifi in the room (room 224 -- the wifi doesn't quite reach)
2) Dust balls in the corners in the bedroom -- still there after a few nights -- they clean, yes, but not extremely carefully

Overall a very fine hotel in a great city. Would definitely recommend this place. Reminds me of ABAC in Barcelona, for example, which is another great hotel.

Room Tip: 224 is a good room (except we had wifi challenges). I cannot compare to other rooms, but this room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shantap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#9 of 102 in Quebec City
1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Property: Auberge Saint-Antoine
Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a boutique hotel, Auberge Saint-Antoine is a window on Québec City’s past. Hundreds of artifacts from both the French and English regimes were discovered during an extensive archaeological dig on the property. In this unique contemporary space, the past has been audaciously re-interpreted for you to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing