We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, not great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Saint-Antoine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The good: location, charm of the building, the deck outside our room, the staff save for the concierge. The not so good: the concierge. It was impossible to get help on sight-seeing. Everytime we went to speak with the concierge there was a line of people waiting. He spent way too much time telling guests his life story while others were waiting for help. The other not so good was the condition of our room. The sink was badly scratched, furniture and walls looked like it was time for an update. A little less than we were expecting for a Relais and Chateaux Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WSD526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,655
    192
    39
    11
    8
See reviews for
256
1,255
37
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We were given a room with a view of the river. The room was very comfortable, good size and well laid out. The hotel was within minutes of walking to the sights.
We ate at the hotel's resident restaurant one night, The Panache, and it turned out to be the best meal we had in Canada. The hotel lounge was a nice place to hang around in after a day of walking. It has live jazz performances on certain nights of the week.
Overall a great stay at the Auberge Saint Antoine, and the place to stay In Quebec City.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MelitaTeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and it was fine, but for the price we paid we expected better. Some of the furniture in the room looked damaged, probably burned by the lamps. We thought with a 'Luxe' room we'd have a separate shower, but instead we had a bathtub/shower combination. We anticipated using the sauna together, but the saunas were connected to the locker rooms. The concierge was busy every time we had a question -- never available for us. The heated bathroom floors were nice, and the bed was very comfortable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zip_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeSaint-Antoine, Director of Sales & Marketing at Auberge Saint-Antoine, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Zip_11,

We are sorry to hear that you expected more from your room, sauna and concierge service. Please note that all our rooms are constantly inspected and that our reaction to comments like the one's you posted is extremely fast.
Our rooms are not all the same, even in the same category, but individually designed and not meant to be from a cookie-cutter.
It is true that we do not have a mixed sauna and do not offer a full-service spa. But this is not our pretension either. We want our clients to be happy and simply be a great, small boutique hotel.
It is true that there is sometimes a waiting line at the concierge desk because our team provides customized service to every clients and sometimes we do not want to cut short on the provided service. Therefore the front-desk agents are also trained to help out our guests.
We remain hopeful that you come back to Auberge Saint-Antoine to celebrate your wedding anniversary.

Kind regards,

Ingrid Lemm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for an anniversary trip in early July. Our room was big and sooo comfortable - king bed, sofa, desk, window overlooking the restaurant patio, bathroom with heated floor tiles (really nice!), Nespresso coffee maker and more. There is a helpful concierge, a medium-size fitness room (with a tree in the middle), and they have jazz at the cafe/bar several nights a week. The location is great - it's in the lower town close to shopping, restaurants, the river, and the harbor, and you can climb up to the upper town (or walk the long way around to avoid all the stairs!) We parked our car at the hotel (you can take it in and out, but we only took it out once in the three days we were there - it's much easier to walk around the city).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeSaint-Antoine, Director of Sales & Marketing at Auberge Saint-Antoine, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear April C,

We did enjoy reading your comments about our hotel, Auberge Saint-Antoine. It is true that with our well decorated rooms and their many special features as well as our well-designed public areas we did put everything in place for our guests so they may spend a wonderful moment with us.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Ingrid Lemm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

To celebrate my parents' wedding anniversary and their first visit to Quebec City, I booked a luxe king room at Auberge St-Antoine, for its coziness and reputation. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to one of the four modern suites! Perfectly blended the heritage building and modern amenities (heated floor, Bose stereo system, and Nespresso machine...), our guest room has a garden view and features the low-profile luxury. Located next door to the Museum of Civilization, the hotel is easily accessible. In the evening there's a live jazz performance in the lobby lounge. The Panache restaurant is lovely too. Overall my family had a great time staying here and we'll definitely come back next time.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade if possible, there might be surprises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JY198011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeSaint-Antoine, Director of Sales & Marketing at Auberge Saint-Antoine, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear JY198011,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and happy to share your comments with the team.
We hope to have the chance to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ingrid Lemm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I have been fairly frequent visitors to the Auberge Saint-Antoine, having stayed there on a yearly basis over the past ten years, or so. I previously reviewed the hotel and gave it an overall excellent mark, as befits a Relais & Chateaux property. Let me first say that we still love our favorite room (501) and the wonderful view of the St. Lawrence from the room's deck. We also think the housekeeping staff is outstanding and the Restaurant Panache continues to deserve the kudos it gets. The concierge could not have been more helpful and as in past years, cheerfully made all or our restaurant reservations for us. However, this year for the first time, we had two fairly major Disappointments in our visit. The first was with the Café Bar Artifact. Each evening prior to dining my wife and I liked to have a cocktail in the Bar. This year, the bar tender and server seemed more interested in pushing tapas type food than serving customers who only wanted drinks; and the redesign of the Bar with half of it taken up with booths and tables, seemed to back this. Each evening the service was slow and the first night my wife asked for a glass of water to go with her $20.00 glass of wine (which turned out to be a very short pour). The water never appeared, even though we repeated the request when the waiter poured her wine at the table. The third evening we visited the Bar, we sat for some time and no one was behind the bar. While we waited 3 young men came in and sat in a booth. After over five minutes of waiting I went behind the bar and called into the small kitchen to the right side of the bar. After another minute or so a young woman (who turned out to be the server) came out and looked perplexed. I asked her for a Grey Goose vodka martini, straight up and a glass of the $20.00 Sauvignon Blanc my wife had been drinking the two previous nights. She smiled, and said "Just a moment". We waited a couple of more minutes while she went to the three young men and took their order. A couple of minutes later, she returned with three beers for their table. Some five more minutes passed and the bar tender finally appeared and came over and asked us what we would like (obviously the server had failed to communicate our order to him). I repeated it and he finally filled the order. All three evenings we were never asked if we wanted additional drinks as I sat with an empty glass. Each time I had to seek out the server or bar tender to get a second drink. After the third night we decided that we would not ever again attempt to have pre dinner drinks at Café Bar Artefact .
The second Disappointment occurred upon checking out. Per our usual practice, my wife went down stairs to the desk to pay the bill, while asking for a bell man to go to our room, where I waited with the luggage, and also to have our car brought up from the parking garage. The bell man appeared in short order and when I got down to the lobby, my wife was still talking to the desk clerk. I went with the bell man and luggage to the car and loaded it. I waited with the car for around 10 additional minutes, but still my wife had not appeared. I finally left the vehicle and went back in the lobby and my wife was still busy with the desk clerk. She finally finished and joined me and we went to the vehicle. I could tell she was quite angry and when we got to the car she explained that when she received a print out of the bill she noted a bar charge of $36.00 that she didn't believe was ours and asked the clerk to retrieve the charge slip. Upon reviewing the charge, it turned out that the charge was made to our room some 5 hours prior to our checking in. When she pointed this out to the female desk clerk, the desk clerk continued to argue that she couldn't or wouldn't remove the charge and that my wife must pay it as it was charged to our room. She totally kept ignoring the fact that the charge was made prior to our arriving at the hotel. While it obviously was not a huge sum, my wife was not going to pay for something we had not ordered. The female desk clerk continued argue and refuse to remove the charge, until a male desk clerk, who had been busy with another check out, finally came over and told the young lady to "just remove the charge as it obviously was not this lady's". My wife said that her husband had been waiting with the car for some time and would be furious with the delay as we had a long drive ahead of us. Still the female clerk was balking at the removal of the charge. The male desk clerk was now obviously angry with her and told her to "just remove it". Finally she did, but was still arguing about its removal; and my wife authorized payment of the new printout and received a copy of it, just as I appeared on the scene. It really left a bad taste in our mouth and probably will affect any future decision about returning to the Auberge. I apologize for the length of the review, but felt the details needed to be included.

Room Tip: Room 501 has a wonder view of the St. Lawrence and a beautifully appointed bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VaDigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeSaint-Antoine, Director of Sales & Marketing at Auberge Saint-Antoine, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear VaDigby,

We are truly sorry about the two disappointments you encountered during your stay. Please note that actions are taken presently so that situations like this do not happen any more.
We take great pride in looking after our guests and situations like the one's mentioned in your post are against our philosophy!
We would love to see you again to demonstrate that we can do thing right from the beginning to the end.
Kind regards,
Ingrid Lemm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The Auberge Saint Antoine was a fantastic little hotel in the heart of old town with an excellent staff, bar and restaurant! It was a lovely experience. So glad we didn't stay at the Fairmont as suggested. The best part of that hotel is the exterior! It's packed with cruise ship visitors.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nottinghillw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#16 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,907 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Property: Auberge Saint-Antoine
Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing