We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Kept Secret in Quebec City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Saint-Antoine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in Quebec City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

Great location with a lot of comfort. Each guest room is individually named (PHOTOS ATTACHED) . Very quiet and perfectly located for walking to all major tourist attractions. A little on the pricey side, but well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalot023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,656
    193
    39
    11
    8
See reviews for
257
1,255
38
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

...and we've stayed and travelled to a lot of very good hotels. It happens very rarely, but sometimes, just sometimes, a hotel really does deliver on all fronts and leaves you realising how much effort goes into that. From being welcomed after 11 hours of flying and not getting there until 11pm, this hotel just do things the right way. The room was exceptional - small things like having specific space for 2 suitcases, clever lighting, amazing bathroom and toiletries and plenty of space. The interior of the hotel is a great mix of the old and based on archealogical finds and quality modern touches - a great mix. Breakfast is superb in the restaurant which has great atmosphere. Staff could not have been friendlier and went to extra mile. This was truly a great hotel, I'd say in my top five of all time. Go - you'll be impressed.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank In-The-Shires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading,
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

This place is a real gem of a hotel it is beautiful with any number of touches that make it unique. On arrival we got upgraded to a suite (always a good start) which was absolutely lovely. The hotel itself had a really elegat feel to it but was in no way intimidating. The restaurant was amazing and their wine list was really impressive, we waned some advice on a dessert wine and the sommalier was incredibly friendly and informative - he picked out some excellent wines for us as well. This was by far the nicest hotel I have stayed at for a long time and I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raquelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

The best well known in Quebec City might be Chateau Frontenac, but Saint-Antoine is a hidden gem. The rooms are modern and comfortable maintaining the old style ambiance of the building. The restaurant Panache was excellent. Good food, fine service, romantic atmosphere. We suggest you to try the tasting menu (including wine selection). Within walking distance from historic downtown. Pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuincasBorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

An absolutely beautiful hotel. We found the staff, helpful and friendly; our room was charming, the bath had a heated floor. The breakfast on the outside balcony was delicious and the wait staff professional and gracious. We loved the location in the lower city; it was quiet, convenient to everything we wanted to see. I cannot imagine a more perfect hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auroraam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

My husband booked this hotel for the second part of our honeymoon. When we drove to the front of the hotel I was so excited! The outside looked so chic and fancy, but when we got into our hotel room it was not so fancy. We did have a view, a view of the parking lot that is. The front desk said that our view would be beautiful; Not really. The location of the hotel was convenient for us to sightsee and tour around.

Although reviews said it was wonderful I was quite disappointed with quality. The bathroom had a whirlpool but it looked old. The sink was like a lab sink from high school which splashed every where when we used it. The shower was small and the tiles were old; not old fashioned but old and cheap looking. The side tables were so small it barely held anything but the cheap telephone and the $1 alarm clock. The turn down service was nice and we got two bottles of water but that made the side tables look really crowded. I liked the king sized bed but my husband found it too soft. The pictures of this hotel from other sources looked MUCH nicer than what we got.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank honeymoonwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West of the Drink, East of the Swamp
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

We could see the hotel from our starboard cabin when our cruise ship docked in Quebec. When we disembarked the next morning, it was just a short walk as we schlepped our wheeled luggage to the hotel entrance.

Our room was large, tastefully furnished, and very quiet. Mrs. Fussy Sleeper was very happy with the bedding and we spent a restful night once the room warmed up. The thermostat was a curious, incomprehensible device that neither of us college graduates could figure out, so we called to the desk for help, which was provided forthwith. . (Hint: turn the dial to +2 and do not touch the fan switch. The device next to the window, the one with an on/off switch, has no known function. The staff monsieur had no idea of what it was.)

Genevieve was particularly helpful, but whoever sits at the concierge desk will happily print up boarding passes for you. Expect a cookie treat upon checkout. Speaking of which, they had us down for the wrong rate plan, one that was over $300 per day higher. That was cleared up pleasantly enough in about a minute.

The location in the lower city is ideal; directly across the street (west) of the city's excellent museum. Top and bottom restaurants are very close by.

Opting for a simple breakfast after the gluttony of the cruise plus several city restaurants, we ordered yummy croissants in the hotel restaurant, and good coffee was included. We were out the door for just over $8.

As I recall, our cab ride to the airport was about $35 with tip. Having learned the secret thermostat code, yes, we would return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryAt27N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Property: Auberge Saint-Antoine
Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing