We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior hotel , staff and restaurants!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Book early if you go , so as to not miss out on a real treat! We arrived a day early and
Stayed at the Hilton which was also nice but don't miss the experience of thie beautiful
Boutique hotel! The artefacts tastefully displayed were an interesting bonus.
Our room was spacious, clean and well appointed. I loved the soaps provided as well.
We overlooked the water and were in the middle of all the action in the lower part of the
City but walking distance from everywhere!
The gym and spa area looked inviting but we wanted to explore!
You must have dinner at Panache! From beginning to end , every bite was flavorful
And amazing, the best meal my husband and I have ever had! We dined on lobster and
Halibut appetizers, sea bass and salmon for the main course. Desserts x2 , chocolate x
3 and strawberry selections...wow, so good , we ordered some to bring home! Maitre 'd
Exceptional ! When can I come back.. Don't miss out on this truly superior hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizc004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,621 - 1,627 of 2,227 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

Just back from a Quebec region trip and spent two nights at the Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel, located in the lower town of Quebec City. First, as to location: many will suggest you to stay in the Upper Town as that is where all the action is--nonsense. First of all you can go from the Upper Town to the Lower Town in just a few minutes by the Funicular (an outdoor elevator), or a steep set of steps. The Upper Town, does have several streets of local shops and restaurants and several historical and noteworthy sites, i.e. Nortre Dame Cathedral, Chateau Frontenac Hotel, parks, battlegrounds, etc. You can also take, and I recommend, a horse carriage ride (about $80 for four of us, but well worth it-about 40 minutes taking you up further into the Upper Town where you may not have walked and past several different residental and notable locations) but after a while, you may grow weary of the Upper Town, which is also much more crowded.
In the Lower Town, at the base of the Funicular, is Rue de Petite Champlain, a 3-4 block long quaint street of more shops and restaurants (and really good Gelato). About two blocks from the foot of the Funicular is Place Royale, the oldest square in Quebec. The square usually has some street performers and just outside the square is a large mural onthe side of a building that is pretty amazing.
From this point on, extending several more blocks in several directions is the rest of the Old Town, merging with what is called the Old Port area. First of all, much less crowded than up above and more upscale.
As you walk through the Place Royal, in one block, you come to the AUBERGE ST.-ANTOINE HOTEL in a class by itself, but more about the hotel in a minute. The hotel is located next door to the really good Museum of Civilization. It also is about two blocks from the waterfront where you can get a sightseeing day cruise for a few hours (about $32 per person for the 90 minute cruise, but they also offer brunch and dinner cruises) or the ferry to the island of Levis. As you continue walking past the hotel down the narrow cobblestone side streets you come to several upper end art galleries and at least six restaurants, (most with outdoor seating) several of them on a square with more art galleries and interesting antique shops. (these shops close at 5PM so if you wanted to visit them, walk around before dinner). Don't forget to go out (usually at 10PM but some nights at 9PM) to view the Image Mill, also just a few blocks from the hotel at the foot of the Port. It is a 45 minute outdoor spectacular video (of the history of Quebec) and light show projected onto large concrete structures. Really very well done and without charge.
Back to the hotel. Located in several old historical buildings, this was a gut renovation into a modern setting, yet still preserving some of the past. A large lobby with a bar and more sitting areas below where you can order a light snack. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms with terrace -about $360/night including breakfast--take the bed and breakfast rate no matter what size rooom you choose.
Breakfast is served in the hotels deluxe restaurant which has really unbelievable architecture. The breakfasts were top notch, made to order and the service is outstanding. Virtually everything on the menu is included. The menu reads like a really nice brunch place you might go to celebrate a special event,, and the food is superb.
Our beautiful room was large with a king bed and separate seating area and desk, a large spa style bathroom and a large terrace overlooking the St. Lawrence River (request this if you are opting for the terrace rooms). Our friends had the same rate room but done completely differently and both were very upscale. When walking around the hotel, which is very compact and easy to negotiate, don't miss the gym/spa-really very interesting architecture in there as well.
Summary: so here is how we managed our two nights in Quebec. Arriving in late afternoon, the first day, we walked through Place Royale and to Rue de Petite Champlain. Had dinner. The next morning, took the funicular to the Upper Town, walked around for a few hours, then took the Carriage Ride. Had lunch. Back down the Funicular to the lower town, and boarded a 90 minute sigthseeing cruise. A short rest at the hotel and a stroll through the rest of lower town/port area exploring some art and antique galleries, ending up at a one of the restaurants in this area. I forget the name, but the first outdoor restuarant you come to heading to the port, from the hotel,has outdoor seating, heat lamps if the night is cool and a terrific menu. Somewhere along the way, we spent a little time at the museum.
We spent the next two days travelling north making several stops in small quaint towns and at the St. Anne Dupre Church. Arriving at La Marbaie and the Chateau Manoir Richelieux (phenominal view of the St. Larence River) and then at Baie St. Catherine, a whale watching cruise and a short trip up the Saguenay Fjord.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RGrochow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Along with five other family members, my beau and I stayed at the St. Antoine for the weekend leading up to a wedding. It's ideally situated in the historic district. It's also not far from the water which is simply lovely. But what really impressed us about the hotel is the warm reception we received. We hadn't realized how open and friendly the Quebecois are, but we were initiated into their culture when we arrived at the hotel. Genuine, warm smiles from everyone we encountered. I had requested a complimentary upgrade (as i always do at upscale hotels) and when we arrived, they had already blocked out a room that was a grade above the one that we had booked. Fantastic! The front desk personnel and manager were very happy to accommodate us and give us suggestions regarding the town where we'd be staying for the wedding, as the manager had once worked there in the past. (Baie St. Paul, about an hour or so away.) The bellman (David) chatted us up quite naturally and was entirely friendly and personable. Our room was spacious. Crisp white linens, a comfortably firm mattress, a sweet view, a powerful shower, dual sinks, plenty of space for our toiletries, and a free, very strong wireless connection. They even leave bottles of water every night at turn down, also free of charge. We're used to getting nickel and dimed at other high end hotels. (Getting charged for bottled water and internet access are our top pet peeves. So how nice to find that the Antoine does not charge for either.) There's an excellent gym with room to move complete with free weights, treadmills, exercise balls etc, (working out while on the road is a great way for us to work out the aches and pains of flying/driving so we're always looking for hotel gyms that aren't simply glorified closets with dilapidated machinery) and a lovely restaurant, Panache, is also connected to the hotel. We loved the design concept of the St Antoine, too. They manage to showcase the history of the excavation done on site, (artifacts displayed prominently throughout the hotel) while providing the best of modern conveniences. We live in Manhattan and a hotel like this would cost far more in our city, so we were quite pleased to enjoy the level of service at the St Antoine at a rate that, while not cheap, (our 2 night stay cost nearly 1000. The taxes in Canada are very high!) definitely feels like a good value. It is so rare to write a review in which we have no complaints. It makes me think that readers may suspect that the Antoine paid us to write this! But that's not the case at all. It's clear that the staff and management strive to make their guests comfortable and happy. So we hope that this review rewards them for their effort. The St.Antoine has all the elements of a fine hotel. And we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globaldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Having booked our stay at the St Antoine on the basis of reviews here and elsewhere, it's fair to say that we were expecting good things.

We were far from disappointed!

The St Antoine exceeded our expectations on every front, from the delightful touches in both rooms we booked, to the welcoming and friendly attitude of the staff who went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Seldom have we stayed in an hotel which delivered so many pleasing moments, so many small surprises.

The artefacts which are displayed here and there throughout the hotel offer an insight to the history and background of the building and are in themselves a decorative and unique addition to the atmosphere of a very stylish renovation project. Attention to detail is consistent throughout, both in terms of design and service. We appreciated these small touches which made our stay so very special.

Our room was spacious and well equipped with tea and coffee, free wi-fi and a comfortable bed dressed in the coolest bedlinen. Perfect for a good nights sleep following a busy day sightseeing on a hot summer day. The shower was one of the best we've come across, with plenty of water pressure and unchanging temperature. The quiet location in a small street in the lower part of the city makes for a peaceful retreat from the hubbub of the tourist trail and an undisturbed evening. The St Antoine is the perfect place to retreat from the crowds of the more obvious places to stay.

The public areas manage to be both intimate and generously-sized, with plenty of nooks and crannies for private chats. Unusually reasonably priced for a hotel of this quality, breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented. We don't often dine in a hotel's restaurant, but we were tempted to try Panache and weren't disappointed. It was a memorable meal, but this time came with the sort of price tag one would expect.

I could go on in this vein, but it's fair to say that the Auberge Saint-Antoine is one of the best hotels we've had the pleasure of staying in.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Like the other rave reviews, this is one of the best hotel and hospitality experience ever!

There is absolutely no reason to stay anywhere else, really!

Yes, it is pricey but worth it - only if service, luxury and comfort is important to you.

Well done Auberge Saint-Antoine staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ineedtoeat-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I booked the St. Antoine for 3 nights to celebrate my 40th birthday and will remember our stay as one of the most romantic, relaxing and special short trips I've ever experienced! From the moment we arrived with large, delicate snow flakes blanketing the Old Lower Town in a soft white that glowed in the Christmas lights, to the moment I entered our room and found a special gift basket of delicious, locally made sweets wishing me a Happy Birthday - I was in love! The hotel makes full and delightful use of the artifacts unearthed at the site during renovations several years ago, and every room, door and hallway proudly display evidence of Quebec City's rich cultural history. The location is perfect - in the heart of old Lower Town (Basse Ville), across the road from the museum and a short walk to a local farmer's market. The food was exquisite and such a treat, utilizing locally sourced ingredients, prepared to order with a knowledgeable sommelier to help with wine selection and several Quebec beers on tap. The room was soft, elegant and comfortable, and I loved how the turn-down service would turn on the Bose CD player (with a selection of Classic music performed by a local orchestra) and turn on the heated floor in the bathroom while also turning down the sheets and leaving a tasty treat to enjoy before bed. So many special touches! - I won't share them all here so as not to ruin the experience for you. In spite of the beauty and excitement that awaited us outside of the St. Antoine's doors, it was a very difficult room to leave each day! A truly exceptional experience in a beautifully appointed hotel in a remarkable city. I've never had a birthday like it!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogbonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

My husband and I found this hotel through Fodor’s and checked reviews on Trip Advisor before we booked a room. The hotel is exactly what was promised – great service, lovely ambiance, beautiful décor, modern comfort, quiet location and great access to Old Quebec. Although the room was not very spacious, it had a very functional layout and modern décor. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was very quiet. The staff was very friendly and professional from the bell man to housekeeping.

We very much liked the location – just outside the “Walls” and in a close proximity to several great restaurants and stores. We did not use the hotel restaurant as it seemed a little pricey. We discovered the gym and spa a little too late; both seemed worth a visit.

I will certainly recommend this hotel to my friends. However, if you are planning to stay near Old Quebec for several days you need to be in a good shape to walk uphill and downhill day in and day out.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olgakell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,874 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 100 in Quebec City
1,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 100 in Quebec City
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 100 in Quebec City
1,758 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#11 of 100 in Quebec City
1,193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £133 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a boutique hotel, Auberge Saint-Antoine is a window on Québec City’s past. Hundreds of artifacts from both the French and English regimes were discovered during an extensive archaeological dig on the property. In this unique contemporary space, the past has been audaciously re-interpreted for you to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing