We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonder small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
St. Marys, GA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonder small hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2007

beautiful small hotel, excellent conceirge service,
great location, nice room
Best restaurant in the city: Panache
View of the river from my terrace
Staff and city fluent in English and French

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank BobMixson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,676
    194
    39
    11
    8
See reviews for
259
1,270
39
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

My perspective is that for $339 per night absolutely everything in a hotel needs to be spectacular. While this hotel was nice overall, that was not the case.
We had a huge room (grand luxe I think) with a nice view of the river. The bathroom looked absolutely nothing like the website. The fixtures looked old, the tub jets were discolored, the drain on the tub kept falling off. I was expecting the nice tilework and basin sinks like on the website, but ours had basic home depot tile and stainless steel kitchen sinks. That's not to say it was terrible, just not what I'd expect for that price.
The concierge service also, not bad but not what I'd expect. We called ahead for help getting some tickets, and continued to call 3 or 4 times to find out if they were successful, but no return call despite promises. In the end they did have the tix waiting when we arrived, but the level of service I'd expect wasn't there.
By far the best thing about this hotel is the location. It's ideally situated in the middle of lower town, near the river and the museum. The archaeological items were interesting to see, but you could tour them for free if you stayed elsewhere. There were no general use facilities like a gym, sauna, anything like that, which would have been nice. The fireplaces looked pretty but they stayed off the whole time even though it was rainy and cold out.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and no major complaints. But I wouldn't stay here again unless we got the room for a lot - a very lot - less.

  • Liked — location can't be beat
  • Disliked — not as luxurious as they claim
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank KitchaMitcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

Thought this hotel was very nice. The rooms were interestingly done out and the bathrooms were fab. The service was a bit poor though. We checked in at midnight after a very long flight and the guy on the desk didn't tell us which direction the lifts were in til we went the wrong way twice.

Have to say we didn't eat or drink in the restaurant as although the spaces were well designed they lacked atmosphere and there are too many great little places nearby to do that.

If you want a gym they give you a voucher for 1 nearby. However you should note that it's a 25min walk not 15mins as they suggest and when you get there chances are you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steviem71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2007

This hotel is very well located and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The sheets are luxurious and the bathrooms great - rainfall showers, double sinks and heated floors. However, in my opinion, for the price that I paid ($309 per night) there should have been a "bit" more...perhaps a better view, more attentive service, a pool, or perhaps a lounge with a "game area"...just a few extra touches would have sufficed. With that said, there was definately nothing that stood out as negative - all in all a lovely stay. One of the nicest touches was the turn down service, each evening the staff created the perfect mood lighting and topped it off with an infusion of classical music that ensured a restfull and peaceful evening.

Lastly, we ate at Panache (the hotel's restaurant) and had a seven course tasting menu. While some of the courses were wonderful other were not (of course, not terrble, just not amazing). In addition, in our opinion, each course was too much and left you too full to enjoy the later courses. (We ate at L'Initiale the next evening - right next door- and found it to be complete perfection. Each course was perfectly prepared, the service was seamless and the atmosphere sublime. We wished we had waited to do the tasting dinner at this restaurant.)

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms, excellent turn down service, expensive sheets
  • Disliked — No real extras at $309 per night
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kmcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta Ga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2007

The hotel is gorgeous, the setting is unique. Service is exceptional and the rooms are very large and comfortable.
You can't bit the location , it's next to the port, the best restaurants are near by and great little shops are all around..

We traveled from Atlanta Ga with 2 pre teens girls and we loved
every moment of it. Highly recommended//

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Eden123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
181 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

We stayed here in early July, 2007. Really liked this hotel - had a great, modern, airy room. Generally, the whole hotel feels like a lot of thought has been put into every detail and that was also true in the room and bathroom we had.

We ate breakfast in the hotel - don't miss it because it's absolutely stunning. We also ate dinner in the restaurant one night - the food was very good but I'd have to say that it was pretty expensive even given the UK/Canadian$ exchange rate.

I'd have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone unless you're looking for something less modern and more traditional than the St Antoine is.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miller Place, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

We stayed at Auberge Saint-Antoine 7/8-7/12. Had wonderful time. Made reservations directly with hotel, their on-line system is not good, couldn't book packages thru it. We had Luxe room with breakfast. Room was very nice, breakfast was great. Panache restaurant is wonderful one of our best meals while in QC & Montreal. Not sure what previous reviewer is talking about as our check-out time noted in room was 12pm.
Would highly recommend hotel. After trip saw in
Travel & Leisure this hotel is in top 20 for best hotels in US & Canada. Only small complaint towels could be of better quality were hard not soft as should be, floor in bathroom was heated which was nice.
Panache restaurant is located in hotel. Toast, Initiale, Echaude are all very close to hotel. All of these restaurants are worth a visit.

  • Liked — Comfortable room, bed, huge shower, heated bathroom floor
  • Disliked — towels
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tddn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
3,957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
1,464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Saint-Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Saint-Antoine

Property: Auberge Saint-Antoine
Address: 8 Saint-Antoine St, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#1 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auberge Saint-Antoine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge Saint-Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Saint-Antoine Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Antoine Quebec City
Auberge St Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing