We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostess and Great Accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed and Breakfast La California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Breakfast La California
Ranked #73 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Torbay
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Hostess and Great Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Let me start by saying this is where I will stay any time I am in Quebec City. This was my second time, first time was in a big name chain hotel. Staying with Mary is like staying at home. Great conversation, great breakfast, great room, FANTASTIC HOSTESS!!!! We stayed in room 2 with a private bathroom and could not ask for anything more. The house is in Sillery, 12 minute drive from downtown. Mary will help plan your stay if so desired. I cannot say enough good about this bed and breakfast! Cleanliness is top notch - one day they were on hands and knees scrubbing the floor tiles and another day they were ironing the bed sheets!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiess73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed at this wonderful house for a few weeks and felt like home as soon as I got in. Mary and her son Alex are just the kind of people I would choose for my own family if It was possible. Breakfast are to die for and the rooms are cosy and quiet. I would recommend this place for anyone looking for a stay in Quebec City.

Room Tip: Try the big room at the back with a double bed for the best sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvesKoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

La California is located in one of the best neighborhoods of Quebec City: a leafy quiet location with squirrels climbing up trees and birds singing in the morning. The house is beautiful, warm and welcoming, Mary (the owner) is extremely nice and a great person to talk to. Room was immaculate, bed very confortable. And last but by no means the least, food at breakfast was absolutely gorgeous. My 2-year old kid, my wife and myself really enjoyed this great accommoddation in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Nice owner, beautiful house, calm street, wifi, great breakfast with cheese, eggs, cereals, maple syrup, etc...What more can a person ask? Ah, clean rooms with wooden floor too! I´m very allergic, so I always choose rooms without carpets and this one was perfect. We payed CAD 103 for a double room with bathroom (the bathroom was in the corridor, but only for us).

The only thing I should say is that this B&B is outside Old Quebec. We took the bus (half hour) and it wasn´t a problem for us. If you go by car, I think you will pay 15 CAD for the day in the historical site, but I´m not sure. Also, I don´t think the rooms have air con because we didn´t need it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lina_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Mary is a very special person who runs La California in Quebec City. She maintains a down home- away-from-home feel. Everything was clean and updated. The food is to die for! The location is right along all of the major bus routes so when we flew in from New York we were just a stones throw from all of Quebec Cities stunning sights and attractions. There is a supermarket right across the street for sundries and supplies. Wifi was a big plus. Mary and her son were very flexible with the dates and when our flight out was cancelled she made accommodations for us to stay in another room. The rates were very reasonable. Mary provided invaluable advice on sightseeing. When we were running late she even gave us a ride!

La California is a MUST STAY if your are looking for Bed and Breakfast in Quebec City. Very Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PainDocNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

It's a very beautiful B&B, and parking is excellent, the rooms are outstanding, we wanted for nothing, it's easy to find, and very convenient when visiting Quebec. The breakfasts were excellent, and more than enough to fill us up for our busy day. Mary, the owner, is a wealth of information on Quebec, and what to see, and how to get around the city. We will definitely be recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpeterka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed at the B&B La California for 9 Nights and it was just great.
Mary (Owner) and her Sun are such lovely person's and we had a lot of fun there.
The House is really nice, clean and the area around (Supermarket 50m away) is also great.
Breakfast was awesome instead :-)
If I come back to Quebec City, I'll come back to Mary's B&B!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian_Br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel ALT Quebec
#26 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Montcalm
C3 Hotel art de vivre
C3 Hotel art de vivre
#18 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B & B La Bedondaine
#45 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
B & B Le Soleil Nordique
#53 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Auberge Maison Roy
#83 of 119 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast La California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast La California

Property: Bed and Breakfast La California
Address: 2506, Chemin Saint-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1W 5A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Sillery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B La California. This home away from home is a staple of Quebec city. A beautiful Bed & Breakfast located only minutes away from the old city, it's a prime location for a weekend getaway or a weekday business trip. With its beautiful spacious and sunny rooms, its comfort will seduce you. With a breakfast included, you will be able to savour freshly baked breads and pastries from a our artisanal baker, accompanied with fresh fruits, cereal and yogurt. With over 400 feet of backyard, you can relax in the sun. There are many local restaurants located 5 minutes (walking) away along with a supermarket, ice cream stand, pharmacy, and barbershop just across the street. For environmentally Friendly travellers: There is a bike route right in front of the Bed & Breakfast along with a bus stop for easy access to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast La California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast La California Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing