We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott”
Review of Que Sera Sera

Que Sera Sera
Ranked #260 of 1,434 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: They are located inside the Courtyard by Marriott
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Marriott”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

very good restaurant inside the Marriott, open breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had breakfast everday, one lunch and 2 dinners. All were excellant, our kudos to the chef which we shared with him.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I don't know where the other guests ate but...”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The food and service competed for the worst of the worst.

While being seated in a nearly empty dining area, we were given a choice of 3 tables. 2 tables were right next to the thoroughfare entering the kitchen/busing area. The remaining 1 was next to the cash with its obnoxious fluorescent light pointed into the eyes of diners. When asked if we could sit in another are that looked nicer, we were told the area was closed.

We had the french onion soup, smoked chicken risotto, and braised lamb shank. The french onion soup was palatable, but over sweetened and salted. Nothing special. The smoked chicken risotto was a cream based risotto with generic vegetables, and processed smoked chicken cubes. About what you'd expect from the frozen food section at the supermarket. The braised lamb made me feel bad for whatever animal it came from. Stringy, chewy, poorly seasoned. If we don't get food poisoning, it will be the only good thing to come of that dinner.

Not to mention, the total came to over $70 without tip and no booze.

Service was lackadaisical and impersonal. 3 waiters for 5 tables, who all seemed to be serving every table at random. Our questions and orders took longer than necessary because each one would come by then wander off. Another would then show up 5 minutes later and allow us to fill a different hole in the menu (specials/market items). Water glasses could not stay full. Food deliver was poorly timed/staged. Just did not do the meal any favors.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

As guests of the hotel it was most convenient to eat here but as there are plenty of other options nearby we didn't have to. Breakfasts were works of art and very good value. The French onion soup was tres bon! We had three breakfasts and three dinners here and thoroughly enjoyed all meals.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reginald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great service, Great food”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Service was great, food was excellent and reasonably priced. Atmosphere is nice even though it is in the lobby of the hotel (not a lot of ambient noise goes through into the restaurant)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toronto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

It was pouring rain when we arrived in Quebec City so we ate at Que Sera Sera at our hotel, the Courtyard by Marriott. What a pleasant surprise and it was not even recommended by the front desk staff! We had a gourmet meal that was absolutely delicious. I had the scallops and my husband had the seafood pasta. Both were delicious. The restaurant was short staffed and the waitress was doing everything she could to take care of everyone. It was very busy because it was a pre-cruise location. She had an excellent attitude and we just enjoyed a 2 hour dinner. Felt like Europe.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant and ordered from the menu. Again, it was delicious and far exceeded our expectations. I had the maple apple breakfast and it was absolutely yummy. I need that recipe.

Do not miss this experience when you are in Quebec City.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Que Sera Sera also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Que Sera Sera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing