We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good meal and a good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Copas

Restaurant Copas
Ranked #440 of 1,427 Restaurants in Quebec City
Price range: US$11 - US$22
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Downtown Quebec City
Description: Across the street from the Dagobert. Spanish offerings(wines and meals) very impressed. We dined JUly 31st,2011
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good meal and a good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

On Friday July 5th, I had the opportunity to dine at Copas. We were a group of four and all of us were very pleased with the service and the food. We were seated outside on the street. Two of us had the paella which was delicious which came with a cup of soup. The Gazpacho was very tasty. Considering the location the food was very fairly priced. A three course meal was about $20 Canadian. They also had very good Sangria and good draft beer. All in all a worthwhile place to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sicuani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    19
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Waste of money !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

The location is superb, amongst lots of other restaurants on Grand-Allee Est. We ordered the mix of most favourite tapas priced 39 $ and it was awful. Nothing tasted good, it had some kind of omelette that was tasteless, tuna salad, super salty chorizo,...Nothing different or good tasting ( the mussels tasted good though) . The french onion soup was a disaster ! sour and even the melted cheese was tasteless.
Considering all the yummy food you can have in Quebec city, I suggest you never try that restaurant. 55 $ for two ( we just had tapas ) you are better off spending your money somewhere else.
One point to mention: The service was good and the waitresses were really friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanazita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you have nowhere to go you can consider this restaurant.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

Went there on the first night for dinner with my family. Very disappointed, chicken was burned and dry. My wife had some pasta it was OK for her. Fast food in downtown Toronto way better than meal at this restaurant. They did't ask and put service charge on the bill.

P.S. washrooms at Union Station are better that at this place.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AikiWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We were seated by the window and had a marvelous meal. The sangria was excellent and very tasty--not too sweet. We had the lamb meal and the salmon pasta. Both were very good. The lamb was so tender and the gravy had a very intense flavour. The vegetables were cooked to perfection--not mushy and not too hard.

The service was great and not intrusive. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“If you don't better you will like it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

On the first night, for dinner, we ate at the Spanish restaurant beside Cosmos, Copas--VERY disappointing. My mother found the restaurant dark so difficult to see what she was eating. If you have never had Paella, you may be impressed. If you know what it should taste like you will not be pleased. The desserts were made with water instead of milk, but the vegetable soup and the sangria were tasty. A bit expensive however as dinner ran over 120.00 with only one drink.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tsahai85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Copas also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Copas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing