We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greeeeeat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal William
Ranked #58 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
1 review
“Greeeeeat!”
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

LOVED THIS PLACE. everything was fabulous. Felt right at home. Parking was a little annoying and the walk up to old Quebec was all up hill. Otherwise it was fantastic! So clean! Good breakfast! Nice staff. Stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triptrap133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you sincerely for taking the time to write this review for Royal William. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our rooms exceeded your expectations and you felt right at home.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    111
    41
    14
    13
See reviews for
67
122
15
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I really liked my stay here. The hotel is clean and well-presented with contemporary design features. Interestingly the corridors are very wide. This cuts down on the size of the rooms but it makes the building seem very spacious. The location is good for staying in Quebec and particularly if you want to keep a slight distance to the old city. There is a decent shopping street to the rear of the hotel. I slept soundly (always an important yardstick). The breakfast was excellent, one of the best that I have had. The staff also deserve a mention. They were very polite and helpful. All in all a charming experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure to read you enjoyed our convenient location in Quebec City and our spacious accommodation. I am so delighted to hear you had the best breakfast ever at the restaurant and you had exceptional service during your stay. The Royal William staff always strives to provide the best service for all of our guests and we are so pleased that we were able to do this for you during your stay.

Thank you for your great review!

We look forward to your next visite in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Royal William Hotel turned out to be a fantastic find within walking distance to the old city of Quebec. The walk itself will take you past some great shops and restaurants as well. The room we had was huge, modern, comfortable and with a bathroom I wanted to take home with me! The staff was especially polite and helpful and made suggestions of excellent restaurants close to the hotel when we had walked the city for hours and just wanted to dine close to the hotel. We found the price reasonable, the service excellent and the quality of the room outstanding. We will return here on our next trip to quebec city!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Bonjour Dale K,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the Royal Williams fantastic location and accommodation. We truly appreciate all your positives notes and I’m sure our team will be very grateful that you took the time to compliment their efforts.

We look forward to see you on your next visit to Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddeford, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Royal William. The hotel is immaculate and beautifully renovated. Staff are friendly and very accommodating. There is a $16.00/day charge for parking in the garage across the street. It would be helpful to know in advance that it is easier to drive around to the rear of the building to unload prior to check in, rather than cross the busy street with luggage. The front desk person can then open the door. Much easier!!!! It is about a 15 minute walk to St Jean Street. We enjoyed it, but it might be too much for an elderly person. Rate includes a nice breakfast, which can be upgraded for little money in the hotel restaurant. We had dinner there 1 night, and it was one of our favorite dining experiences.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Charest Blvd have nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Bonjour Robert L,

I am so please to here you enjoyed our recently renovated rooms and you have experienced great service from the front desk staff and the restaurant. I do apologies for any inconvenience from the parking. The full front and back side of the hotel Royal William is an unloading zone, it is intended to accommodate our guest to unload their luggages and stay parked for 15-20min. I will definitely take your suggestion in consideration and put a note on our website about parking access.

Thank you for sharing you wonderful feedback, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Old town Quebec City was exceptional: more amazing than we had expected. From the moment we booked into the Royal William Hotel, with upscale modern accommodations, we engaged with friendly, helpful people. The hotel staff went above and beyond to help us make our time in Quebec City most memorable. The room was lovely and the breakfast delicious. With hotel provided complimentary maps of the city, we walked to restaurants, shopping and festivities which included fireworks and midnight old town tours. This city oozes with history, french ambiance, and delicacies too numerous to mention. It is a place that we loved visiting and hope to visit again to explore further. A truly awesome time!! Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear guest,

I am so please to hear you enjoyed the City and the Royal Williams accommodation. I am delighted that you experienced excellent service from the team, they will be very grateful that you took the time to compliment their efforts.

Thank you very much for this amazing review. We hope to see you again during your future stay in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

not in the tourist area , but even better in the real people quebec, a real French city; a 15-20 minute walk up to the tourist mecca.
A quiet elegance to the rooms a 1920's-1930's feel to the furnishings and space

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allensandraalexmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind note. We are happy that you enjoyed our convenient locating and found the Royal William had plenty of charm.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback, I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The parking is 16.00 and you have to park across the street!!
It should be free for all that hassle!!

The room was Not setup for 4 guests as booked, had to wait for front desk to bring towels cups, coffee, etc up.

The rooms air conditioning was not working properly was too warm.

No pool!

Other Comfort Inn and Quality Inn's had full breakfasts, only contential here?? It cost more too!!

Room decore and hotel lobby and hallways were nice! Beds were very comfortable!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!!y
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
triprwqc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal William, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Royal William. It is feedback such as yours that we always work on improving our services and hotel facilities. In regard to your comment on the air conditioning, it was indeed a very HOT day outside I am truly sorry for any miss comfort it cause you; I would like to assure you that all matters raised in your review are being dealt with.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the décor and that the room accommodation was comfortable. We greatly apologize for the disappointing experience you had in the hotel and hope you would give us a chance to provide you the full Royal William experience on your next visit to Quebec City.

Thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel PUR Quebec
Hotel PUR Quebec
#45 of 101 in Quebec City
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Vincent
Hotel Le Vincent
#24 of 101 in Quebec City
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 101 in Quebec City
902 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
1,764 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal William

Property: Hotel Royal William
Address: 360 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal William 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal William Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing