We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean Hotel With Friendly Staff”
Review of Hotel Acadia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Acadia
Ranked #53 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Oshawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean Hotel With Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Stayed at the hotel Acadia with my girlfriend for 3 nights. We got there just before 10:00pm the first night and we were greeted by a friendly staff member at the front desk. Our room was cozy, had two stone walls, and although we thought we paid the extra for a room with a good window view we ended up with a room with a window view of the back alley and emergency stairwell. But the room was clean and quiet and the window functioned to let fresh air in. The bed was very comfortable. There was a TV in the room but it was a bit dated, it was an old CRT TV that looked to be about 19 inches, but it was only used at night when winding down after being out on the town. Good selection of both french and english stations. Over all the staff was very friendly and the room was clean. Too bad we didn't pack bathing suits to take advantage of the hot tub. Would go back to this hotel again and recommend.

Room Tip: Try for room 302 or make sure when you book to ask for a room with a window view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gamit_rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear guest,
we are really pleased to see that you had a nice stay at our hotel Acadia and that it has met your expectations. We give a major importance to the quality of the service performed by all our team and appreciate your feedback on our friendly staff. We hope you had a wonderful trip in Quebec City! We are really thankful that you took some of your time to review our hotel. We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    277
    140
    62
    35
See reviews for
115
383
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was our first trip to Quebec City and I thank the postings of others to accurately describe what I could expect. Two adults and two adolescents we had room 412 as our "home" for four nights, which has two doubles and a large bathroom overlooking the street. It was plenty roomy for the four of us. The purpose of our trip was to "experience" a European style city in an intimate way so I selected a small hotel and not a large chain type. If you are high-maintenance or require large lobbies and super plush amenities - this is not the hotel for you - you want the Hotel Frontenac at twice the price. Hotel Acadia is priced for a budget traveler who requires personable staff, cleanliness, a comfy bed, and a convenient location. We enjoyed the charm of the walk-up to our room through a tiny staircase, the wooden shutters, the sound of the garbageman arriving promptly at 7:47am each day - it feels different than the Marriott for a reason. The staff was terrific at helping us find a corner grocery, pharmacy, and making dinner reservations. The breakfast was a quick walk around the corner to a restaurant. If you are looking for gourmet food this is not it - go elsewhere - but with a family of four it was an easy way to get a first cup of coffee and plan our day.
Thanks to another posting I knew to request a room on one of the higher floors as it was definitely noisier at street level. But know the "4th" floor is really only two flights up and is nothing compared to the stairs from upper town to lower town. This is a great choice if you have older children. It would be a bit of work with babies and strollers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarMee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking some of your time to review our hotel Acadia. We are really pleased to see that you had a nice stay at our hotel and that it has met your expectations. We hope you had a wonderful time on your first trip in Quebec City and that you will come back soon! We appreciate great comments like yours and we look forward to welcome you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

My wife spent 3 wonderful days at the Acadia to celebrate her 50th birthday. I cannot say a bad word about this place. The deluxe room was comfortable and quiet, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was perfect since we wanted to be in the center of Old Quebec and able to walk everywhere.

My only regret was having booked thru Expedia. I found out later that the Hotel has Fall special rates which also included buffet breakfast. Before you book with an agency, check their website at www.hotelsvieuxquebec.com/en/hotel/hotel-acadia.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reallynormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great review about our hotel. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at hotel Acadia and that our hotel has met your expectations. We give a major importance to the quality of the service performed by all our team and appreciate your feedback. We hope you had a memorable stay for your wife's 50th birthday in Quebec city and we are looking forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Hill, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed several nights in August, 2011. Good location; virtually next door to La Citadelle, and easy walk to central part of the old city. Room was small (not tiny) but very nice. Extra touch was available selection of music CDs with CD player in room. Staff friendly, helpful, all seemed to be bilingual. Parking not on site, but nearby (valet), easy to access if need be. Room very quiet. Only addition we would have liked - mini-fridge. Voucher for discount at nearby restaurant - not our best meal. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this great review about our hotel. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at hotel Acadia. Indeed, our hotel enjoys a privileged location in the heart of Old Quebec and you can easily walk to visit local shops and restaurants. We attribute a major importance to the quality of the service performed by all our team and we are pleased that it had a positive impact on your stay. Unfortunately, there isn't a mini-fridge in all rooms, but there is a mini-fridge in all rooms where we can place one. We will be very happy to welcome you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This hotel will complete your stay in Quebec. Very accessible to the Old Quebec and other interesting places within the city.

They have friendly staff, excellent service, valet parking & great rooms.

Room Tip: Choose the brick room as this will make you experience what Quebec is. Rooms have aircon and heater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monsiserrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other TripAdvisor users. We give a major importance to the quality of the service performed by all our team and we are pleased that it had a positive impact on your stay. Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I was going to be in Quebec City for a month so I decided to rent an apartment. It was the best of both worlds staying at an apartment in a hotel.
The rooms were spacious and the kitchen had everything you need.
The hotel is on a quiet street but is in Old Quebec so it's close to everything.
They have three levels of apartments and I stayed in the middle tier. It was not luxurious but it was all I needed.

Room Tip: The pictures of the top level apartment looked very nice but any of them will meet your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking some of your time to review our apartments. It is indeed a good location in the heart of Old Quebec and we hope that you had a wonderful trip in Quebec city! We are looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit in our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Just completed a three night stay at the hotel. I got a basic room (121) and it turned out to be very comfortable and perfect for my stay. It was quiet (from external noise) and quiet internally with respect to a quiet heating-cooling system. It has windows on two sides and a door to the parking area (very convenient). The room was very clean. The location couldn`t have been better. Walk out the front door and you are a half a block from one of the two main streets heading toward the heart of the old city along the St. Laurence River. Then it is a short walk to wherever you want to go. If you have a vehicle, parking is pricey ($18.50 per night) but there are no street alternatives (everything is metered) and area parking garage fees are the same or more). The breakfast is wonderful. You walk around the corner to a very nice restaurant and have a terrific buffet with crepes, eggs, sausage, potatoes, fruit, yogurt, muffins and cereal. I had read that some people didn`t like the idea of walking to breakfast-you have got to be kidding me. They have a hot tub on the top floor which I used one day and it was delightful.The staff was always wonderful although the English of some was better than others.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boneman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great comment about hotel Acadia. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel has met your expectations. We hope you had a memorable stay in Quebec city and that you will come back pretty soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Clarendon
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
1,439 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
#75 of 102 in Quebec City
311 reviews
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#28 of 102 in Quebec City
987 reviews
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
1,981 reviews
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia

Property: Hotel Acadia
Address: 43, rue Sainte-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Acadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Quebec City
Acadia Quebec City
Hotel Acadia Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing