We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So”
Review of Hotel Acadia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Acadia
Ranked #56 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted promptly by a friendly front desk. We stayed in a room a the fifth floor of the hotel. This meant that our ceiling was slanted and in turn our tv was a tiny 12 inches. We paid for a deluxe room with brick wall, the brick wall was very nice but on closer review our hot tub we paid extra for wasn't working. The real trouble though began once we realized the heat was not working. The staff promptly brought a plug in heater which did the job but in the middle of winter the hotel should make sure their heating system is working... The bathroom is tiny as well. The location of the hotel is great, a nice short walk to pretty much anything you would want to see. The buffet is located in a restaurant which is a 5 minute outdoor walk. Not a big deal for us but could be an issue for others. All in all, for the amount of money spent not the best deal considering all the issues our room had and I would probably research other hotel in the area next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickyweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear guest,

We are very sorry that problems with our heating system occurred during your stay as well as problems with the whirlpool bath in your room. We understand your disappointment in that matter. We are deeply sorry and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel and that everything will be up to your expectations on your next visit, as it is for the large majority of our guests. Thank you for posting your comment, we will make sure that these problems won't happen again to any other guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    267
    130
    57
    35
See reviews for
107
366
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Our recent stay at the Acadia was very plesant. Our room was quite comfortable, clean and of a decent size. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was small, especially the shower/tub area, but also clean and well maintained. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Very good option for the price. In a good location in Old Quebec within walking distance of most attractions and some very good resturants. Our only complaint was the noise from the street due to overnight snow removal and trash collection, but that is one of the things you encounter on occassion in a city hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms located off the street may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for sharing your comment on your stay at our hotel Acadia. We are happy to see that you had a nice stay at our hotel and that it had met your expectations. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed here for three nights with my partner during September 2011. Old Quebec is such a beautiful place and we really enjoyed our stay.
Service at the hotel was good. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was nice. It was served at a restaurant around the corner from the hotel, not at the Acadia.
Our room was quite small but clean and comfortable. It was obvious the room was old but it didn't feel run down.
Location was the real positive. It was located right inside the walls of Old Quebec on a quiet street, but only a short walk from all the sights. I highly recommend staying within Old Quebec, much nicer than the surrounding areas. Hotel Acadia is one of the cheaper options and presents great value for money.
Overall I can highly recommend Hotel Acadia.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for taking some of your time to comment your stay at our hotel Acadia. We are pleased to see that you had a nice stay and that our hotel has met your expectations. We appreciate receiving great comments like yours. We look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Quebec city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Amazingly beautiful and very help full staff , stayed in one of the Signature plus and was fully satisfied :)

Room Tip: Go for room 101 or 103 or 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear guest, we are more than happy to see that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations. We are also very recognizing that you took a few minutes to write it online. We will welcome you again with pleasure on your next visit in Quebec City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel, which is conveniently located in Vieux-Quebec (Old Quebec), on our first visit to beautiful Quebec City. Our stay was excellent. The hotel was located very centrally, within walking distance of the centre of the old town. Shops, restaurants and sights were all very close by. The room wasn't big, but it was comfy, warm and quaintly decorated. The hotel was very quiet and relaxing, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast (included) was satisfactory.

We didn't realize there was a complementary jacuzzi/hot tub in the building, otherwise we would have brought our bathing suits!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking some of your time to post your comment on our Hotel Acadia! We are really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel this last december. We are looking forward to receive you again and this time, don't forget your bathing suits! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Stayed at the hotel Acadia with my girlfriend for 3 nights. We got there just before 10:00pm the first night and we were greeted by a friendly staff member at the front desk. Our room was cozy, had two stone walls, and although we thought we paid the extra for a room with a good window view we ended up with a room with a window view of the back alley and emergency stairwell. But the room was clean and quiet and the window functioned to let fresh air in. The bed was very comfortable. There was a TV in the room but it was a bit dated, it was an old CRT TV that looked to be about 19 inches, but it was only used at night when winding down after being out on the town. Good selection of both french and english stations. Over all the staff was very friendly and the room was clean. Too bad we didn't pack bathing suits to take advantage of the hot tub. Would go back to this hotel again and recommend.

Room Tip: Try for room 302 or make sure when you book to ask for a room with a window view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gamit_rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear guest,
we are really pleased to see that you had a nice stay at our hotel Acadia and that it has met your expectations. We give a major importance to the quality of the service performed by all our team and appreciate your feedback on our friendly staff. We hope you had a wonderful trip in Quebec City! We are really thankful that you took some of your time to review our hotel. We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was our first trip to Quebec City and I thank the postings of others to accurately describe what I could expect. Two adults and two adolescents we had room 412 as our "home" for four nights, which has two doubles and a large bathroom overlooking the street. It was plenty roomy for the four of us. The purpose of our trip was to "experience" a European style city in an intimate way so I selected a small hotel and not a large chain type. If you are high-maintenance or require large lobbies and super plush amenities - this is not the hotel for you - you want the Hotel Frontenac at twice the price. Hotel Acadia is priced for a budget traveler who requires personable staff, cleanliness, a comfy bed, and a convenient location. We enjoyed the charm of the walk-up to our room through a tiny staircase, the wooden shutters, the sound of the garbageman arriving promptly at 7:47am each day - it feels different than the Marriott for a reason. The staff was terrific at helping us find a corner grocery, pharmacy, and making dinner reservations. The breakfast was a quick walk around the corner to a restaurant. If you are looking for gourmet food this is not it - go elsewhere - but with a family of four it was an easy way to get a first cup of coffee and plan our day.
Thanks to another posting I knew to request a room on one of the higher floors as it was definitely noisier at street level. But know the "4th" floor is really only two flights up and is nothing compared to the stairs from upper town to lower town. This is a great choice if you have older children. It would be a bit of work with babies and strollers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarMee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking some of your time to review our hotel Acadia. We are really pleased to see that you had a nice stay at our hotel and that it has met your expectations. We hope you had a wonderful time on your first trip in Quebec City and that you will come back soon! We appreciate great comments like yours and we look forward to welcome you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#61 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#47 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia

Property: Hotel Acadia
Address: 43, rue Sainte-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Acadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Quebec City
Acadia Quebec City
Hotel Acadia Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing