We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute & Charming”
Review of Hotel Acadia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Acadia
Ranked #52 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
“Cute & Charming”
Reviewed 20 May 2008

We just got back from a weekend stay at the Acadia. I travelled with my husband, parents, sister, her husband and their 3 yr old daughter. I stayed in room 121, in the basement. Even though the room was in the basement, I felt like I was on the top floor because it was bright and cheery. The room itself was small but enouigh space for my husband and I to move around freely in. The staff was very pleasant. We were steps away from all the attractions.
All in all, I was extremely satisfied with the hotel. I would stay there again!

  • Liked — small and quaint and right in the heart of the Old City
  • Disliked — cramped bathroom, smelled old and musty!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LauraPaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    277
    140
    62
    35
See reviews for
115
382
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New-Brunswick
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2008

This hotel is very nice. The historical features are still very present which is part of the hotel's charm. We stayed in room 101, a suite. Although it is located in the basement, it is very nice. Working fireplace, big shower, jacuzzi tub. The service is very nice. We booked the romantic package and went to Conti Caffe for supper. Good communication between staff at hotel and restaurant. Massages available right in hotel. Hot tub up on the roof, often vacant in the evening.

I would recommend this hotel to anyway wishing to experience the magic of old Québec.

  • Liked — Historical charm/Wine, chocolates, fruit basket in room at arrival
  • Disliked — Parking very far away
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Entoucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

We have just returned from our stay at Hotel Acadia in Quebec City. Perfect location inside the old town. What was going to be a great week-end started on the wrong feet at our arrival.
We had the real impression to disturb the personnal at the desk.
When we reserved we were told we were getting a deluxe room but let me tell you this room was small and cold, and not well decorated.
The person at the reception could not give us information on the activities that were going on for the Carnaval de Quebec. She handed us a flyer but stipulate the non-recycle paper that it is peinted on.
It is a good thing that we spent most of our time out at the Carnaval.

The good thing is there are other hotels in old Quebec City and I will not return to the Hotel Arcadia.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small and Cold
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank albert11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Wangaratta, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2007

We LOVED our little place in Quebec City. We still think of it and would go back there in a second if we had the chance. Relaxing, clean, close to all attractions and with a kitchenette made for an easy place to kick back and soak up the city. We found it great value for money and there was free internet too!

Be aware that the stairs are steeo so if you have issues with mobility book a lower level apartment. Have fun!

  • Liked — The big windows and bright rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyrastef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawinigan, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

We went there for our honeymoon and we're quite satisfied with the room (suite 500) that had been suggested by the desk lady. For 239$/night breakfast included. We also received a complementery bottle of mousseux that was very good.
The suite has a nice whirlpool bath, a super shower and a nice foyer. It's close to everything by walk, Château Frontenac and Vieux-Quebec. The breakfast was great and the working people were speaking french, english and spanish.
Wish to go back soon!

  • Liked — nice room and everything at walking distance
  • Disliked — bees while eating breakest at the terrace
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Josee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenfieldma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

A small, charming hotel in a perfect location just inside the walls of Old Quebec, less than a block away from one of the major gates to the city. Literally just a few minutes' walk to the Plains of Abraham, the Citadel, the Parliament Building, the Chateau Frontenac, several museums, dozens of restaurants, shops, etc. There was a summer music festival going on in the city, and hundreds of people in the streets, yet the hotel is on a side street and our room was quiet and peaceful. The rooms are not large, but ours was clean and comfortable, with an old brick wall and a real fireplace. The heating/air conditioning unit is controlled by a remote control unit which was very convenient. There is free Internet access for guests via a laptop in the lobby. There are also a hot tub and on-site massage that we didn't try. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. There is valet parking available for a small daily fee. Our rate was a bargain compared to the rates at other hotels. A Continental breakfast was offered for $7/day; we tried it, but there are more substantial breakfasts available just down the street at some of the restaurants.

This was our first trip to Quebec and we felt that the Hotel Acadia was in an ideal location, at a great price, with very good service.

I had contacted several hotels directly in our search for a hotel in the old part of the city, and the people at the Acadia were the most quick to respond, and the most cordial and helpful.

  • Liked — great location!
  • Disliked — it was a bit small but fine for a couple
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank greenfieldma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2007

We stayed in room 22, which was off toward the back and quiet. It was on the first floor and very convenient. The bathroom was tiny but very cute. The bed was ample and comfortable, and the location is excellent. We booked our stay through the Bonjour Quebec website and got a great deal at $109 per night. I'm not sure what the regular rate is but for the location, that is a perfect deal. Parking is another $12 per night. The spa seems to amount to a massage service, but the spa isn't the reason to stay here. It's the location and the access to the city.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Front desk wasn't very friendly, but who cares!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank greenmountainguava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Clarendon
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
1,435 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
#76 of 102 in Quebec City
311 reviews
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 102 in Quebec City
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#28 of 102 in Quebec City
984 reviews
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 102 in Quebec City
1,975 reviews
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia

Property: Hotel Acadia
Address: 43, rue Sainte-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Acadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Quebec City
Acadia Quebec City
Hotel Acadia Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing