We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Acadia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Acadia
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Old Quebec right outside your door, actually the building is old Quebec craftsmanship but with all modern conveniences and excellent service. I had a suite that had full kitchen and balcony onto the quiet courtyard, bedroom had queen bed and living room had murphy bed (comfortable and easy) and sofa bed. Bathroom had everything you needed plus empty shelves with empty baskets for your toiletries. Big windows and air conditioning. Breakfast was included for us and was in a real restaurant right around the corner and was a good sized buffet with the regular stuff plus baked beans and crepes. They have joined a couple of buildings together to make this hotel so the hallway turns and ups and downs are interesting, then we had two spiral staircases (no elevator). It was quiet for us and we were there on w/e. No problem if you don't speak French. Some coupons in the room for things like carriage ride which they help you book at front desk. We didn't drive (thank goodness, narrow streets) but they had valet service which I think you need with the tight alleys and parking spaces. Tons of restaurants (pricey but quality) and gift shops and sightseeing. Excellent city to visit.

Room Tip: I think all of their rooms are unique so talk to them on the phone for what you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for such a nice detailed review about our hotel

Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    261
    130
    55
    35
See reviews for
105
362
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We just recently returned from a week long trip to Beaupre, Quebec. While we were there, we spent one night in Old Quebec City. We stayed at the Hotel Acadia for that night, and found the hotel very comfortable. The location was perfect, close to the shops in the old town, close to the Chateau Frontenac, and best of all, close to many of the finest restaurants ( especially the Restaurant Parmesan on Rue Saint - Louis - a fun restaurant) and bars in the area.
The room was very clean and well equipped, and the staff were all very friendly and helpfull.
A full, hot buffet breakfast was included in the price, and it was in the restaurant of another hotel, owned by the same company, just around the corner from our hotel.
The parking was only $18.00 for the day and they even told us we could leave our car there for longer than the usual 24 hours, at no additional cost, if we wanted to stay longer to do more sightseeing that afternoon.
It was my birthday, and "somehow" they found out and sent a bottle of cider to our room, at no cost.
Would we go back to the Hotel Acadia ? Yes, very definitely, the next time we are in Old Quebec City.

Room Tip: If you are in a room facing the street, close the wooden shutters to keep out the street noise, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear guest,
We're pleased to see that you loved your stay at our Hotel Acadia! Thank you for writing such a nice review of our hotel. We would be really happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

My two friends and I stayed here for four nights during a conference in Quebec City. The hotel is centrally located close to numerous attractions in the Old City, making it an ideal location if you are touring that area. Also close to the conference centre. Breakfast was served at the Feu Sacre restaurant just around the corner. For two nights the restaurant was closed due to a fire and we were re-located to another Feu Sacre not far away. Shuttle service was available which was nice, although we chose to stretch our legs and walk. Our room was quite spacious with all needed amenities. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. The bathroom was also quite large so we were quite comfortable.
Complaints:
- No bathroom fan, only a window that opens to face the street, others across the way may see into the bathroom with the window open, especially at night
- Beds are made strangely such that sheets and comforter only reach 2/3 of the way to the headboard - after an uncomfortable first night I re-made the bed myself and hung the do not disturb sign for the remainder so it would not be re-made by the maid
- Narrow hallways and the maids often leave their supplies in the halls, had to jump over them at one point to get to my room

Despite the inconveniences above, it was still a great hotel with great staff and delicious complementary buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth floor are very quiet. Room 412 is nice and spacious with large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank collegekid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments on our hotel. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We're happy that our hotel has met your expectations. We would be pleased to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We got a 2 bed room. Room is spacios, however bathroom is very small. Sink is outside the bathroom, in the room. Beds are fine. Furnitures are dated, as the hotel, but everything was very clean. Staff is great. Parking is close to hotel, if u want there is valet. There is no elevator, so u ll have to use the stairs with your luggage. Good breakfast included, in a restaurant next to hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandoLSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on our hotel. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Acadia! As you mentioned, our hotel is located near all the main attractions of the city and in a historic neighborhood. And next time don't hesitate to ask help to our valet for your luggage. We would be pleased to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

My wife and I visited Quebec City in March for 2 nights.
We found a great rate with Hotel Acadia. A lot of hotels in the same neighborhood were
offering competitive rates but we found Acadia most charming. Located inside "The Port" old Quebec. It is right in the center of everything. Cafes, bars, shopping are all within walking distance. They offered free American Breakfast (buffet) with their rates so it was an awesome deal. We chose the room with the queen size bed. It was clean, modern with an old charm twist. No complaints. The only thing that may prevent you from staying here is that there are no elevators. Will definitely stay and recommend this hotel to family and friends

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiter but beware, no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Knightrider0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear guest,
We're pleased to see that you loved your stay at our Hotel Acadia! As you mentioned, our hotel is located near all the main attractions of the city and in a historic neighborhood. Thank you for writing such a nice review of our hotel. We would be really happy to welcome you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Acadia. We had booked a Superior room which was on the 1st floor/basement. There were only two rooms down there which was nice - it felt kind of secluded. We never heard any noise from the people next to us or anything from above us. Also, there are no elevators in the hotel so instead of dragging our 4 large suitcases up several flights of stairs, we just had to drag them down one small flight of stairs, which was a relief. The day we checked out, we asked if we could use a "staff only" exit on our floor (it was where the valet parking guys went in and out) to load up our car and they allowed us to do that without any problems (We weren't initially sure if an alarm would sound if we opened the door). Our car was parked right outside this door and it meant we didn't have to drag luggage up the stairs, so that was a huge convenience. The view from the room wasn't spectacular - it was a view of the valet parking area, but we didn't go to Quebec City to just sit in our room and stare out the window all day long so this wasn't a problem for us.

The room itself was spacious and cozy. We had a king sized bed, a whirlpool bathtub and a nice shower. My first of only two complaints about the room was the fireplace. It was electric and for looks only. I had personally never seen an electric fireplace before, but this was basically just a screen with a projection of a fireplace on it. So it looked nice, but really served no purpose. It would have been much nicer with a gas or a fully functioning fireplace in the room. Normally I wouldn't care about a fireplace in the room but during our entire stay the outside temperature was below freezing so a warm, cozy fireplace would be a nice addition to the room. My second complaint was the shower. It looked nice and the bathroom was large and very clean, but we had a hard time getting the water to the right temperature. Moving the shower handle a teeny tiny fraction of an inch was the difference between scorching hot water or ice cold water. I feel like I spent the majority of my time in the shower just trying to find that one spot where the water wouldn't scald me or freeze me. But on a positive note, I've stayed at old hotels before where the hot water dies out after a few minutes and that wasn't the case here. There was definitely hot water! It was just very hard to get the shower at a normal temperature.

The front desk staff were very pleasant and spoke both English and French, which was a plus for me because I don't speak a word of French (though my husband does speak a little).

The location is fantastic. Its right in the old city within walking distance to everything in the historical area. We were there during a snow storm and a few days of VERY cold weather, so one would have thought it would seem like we were walking forever just because we were cold and uncomfortable, but I never felt like any of our walks were extreme. We we able to easily walk to the Citadelle, various different restaurants, the lower part of the old city (and to the Funicular if you didn't feel like walking down or back up from the lower town) and anywhere else within the old city gates.

The hotel is old, so guests should be prepared for that. In my experience most small, old hotels don't have elevators, the rooms are all different shapes and sizes and in general the place looks old. So if you don't like historical places like that, then I'd suggest finding a more modern hotel. However, if you like and appreciate old buildings then you'd probably love this hotel! We would definitely stay here again if we ever end up back in Quebec City!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooklet425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Acadia for 5 days 4 nights. Upon arriving on the 26th of December and checking in we were assigned room 321 (parking lot view). Checking in was a breeze, hotel personnel was polite. We took our carry-ons one flight up, no problem, until we saw the size of the bed. We thought we booked a room with a queen size bed, but it was a twin/full"?" That was a mistake. Went back down to ask the clerk if they were fully booked and would it be possible to switch to a room with a bigger bed or two twins; he checked and said no they weren't, he didn't see a problem, but he had to check with the manager. Waited outside the office he came back and stated the manager said no- the only way we could switch rooms was to pay an extra $10 per day and to spend 1 night in the small room and switch the next day since we were only staying for 5 days/4 nights... I said never mind, thanks anyway. The room we occupied needed dusting above the headboard, and the heater was a bit loud, we didn't want to turn on the tv too loud, but you couldn't hear when the heater was on. The hotel should look into investing in a new mattress for that room, it was sunken in the middle and very uncomfortable. Also a small fridge would not be a bad idea. The batteries to the tv died on our fourth day, just told the desk upon leaving that morning and they had them when we came back that afternoon. We liked the locale of the hotel which was walking distance to all such as outside the walled city, lower town, Le Chateau Frontenac and Funiculaire when you don't want to back up from lower town. Also see my review of restaurants for this trip. Our first full day there was a snow storm, which caused my daughter and I to have fits of laughter during our sightseeing as the wind was blowing us around and she thought I didn't catch on to what she was doing when she kept suggesting we go in and eat. We ended up eating 3 meals a day which we usually don't do. LOL....

Room Tip: Double check your room accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy-In-Vegas-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#62 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#31 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#44 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia

Property: Hotel Acadia
Address: 43, rue Sainte-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Acadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Quebec City
Acadia Quebec City
Hotel Acadia Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing