We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, nothing special”
Review of Hotel Acadia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Acadia
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place, nothing special”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

The place is nice. We got a superior room and it was great. Huge bathroom with jacuzzi and separate shower. The room was spacious and felt almost like a 4 star. Brick and stone walls, wood floor.

The draw backs. The room was downstairs and we had to go down a tiny stairway. Really tiny... I have big feet and had to go down sideways... They promise Wifi included. we could only get signal with the room door open... Breakfast was served in a separate restaurant. They say it's an all you can eat buffet. Well... Golden Corral is also an all you can eat buffet. You know, quality was bad, variety was minimum. I'm not in the american way of having breakfast (bacon, eggs, etc) so my only option was toasted bread.

Location was great.

Overall I would recommend it given the price. Around $200 for a superior room is cheap for Quebec. And again, the room was fantastic and quiet.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank neuronas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment abour our hotel.
We're pleased to see tha you globally enjoyed your stay.
We take your comment very seriously and we will make the necessary efforts to improve our service prestation.
Hoping to welcome you again during your next visit.
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    267
    131
    57
    35
See reviews for
107
367
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were extremely disappointed with this hotel. When we arrived the staff was not overly nice but not unpleasant. When we noticed that the room that we were given was not at all what we had booked then the staff became rude with us, especially Emilly.

We booked a superior room with 2 double beds, we got a room with 2 double bed but if you look at the pictures (included with this post) that we were told we would get vs what we got there is a big difference.

I would highly recommend other hotels in le Vieux Québec before this one. This was way over priced for what we got.

We travel a lot and we rarely complain about stuff… The only time I complain is when I feel we were scam/robbed – This is the feeling I got from our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're really sorry to see that your experience with us was not up to your expectations.
As customer service is primordial for us, we take your comment very seriously, and will make appropriate effort to improve our performance. About the picture, actually all rooms are different in our hotel, because of the historical character of the building. That true the bathroom is smaller in this room but the room is bigger than other in the same category and is absolutely great.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again to change your opinion about our hotel
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife and I visited Quebec City over the Labour Day long weekend in 2013. We booked Hotel Acadia based on reviews from past guests and value for money. Basically to sum up the hotel: location, location, location.

Hotel Acadia was near perfect (for us) for exploring Old Quebec. It's located on Rue Sainte-Ursule, so you are basically within decent walking distance of all of Old Quebec's highlights. Chateau Frontenac and the boardwalk overlooking the river were only about 10 minutes walk, about 15 to the excellent Musée de la civilisation in Lower Old Quebec, less than 10 minutes to Battlefield Park and La Citadelle and so on.

There was free Wi-Fi in the rooms which is always appreciated and the staff were helpful and quick to give good advice especially when we first arrived at the hotel. The rooms are not huge by any stretch so probably not the best for families or groups as it would probably get pretty tight. There wasn't a refrigerator in our room (202) but the ice machine was nearby so we made due.

Grand Allee Est with all its bars and bistros is also very close, just outside nearby Pointe St. Louis and the Parliament building so you can expand out your range of dining options fairly easily as well. Check out L'Inox for good Quebec microbrews if you're looking for something different at happy hour.

All in all, it was worth it if only for the location and ease of access around the city.

Room Tip: -2nd floor rooms offer the smoothest access to/from the lobby. not sure if room size is any better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deryk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel Acadia.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in Quebec City.
About our rooms, we have many categories, because all rooms are differents. The best tip is to call us directly to book your room, so this way we really can recommend you what you need.
Hoping to welcome again during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

When we turned down the street toward our hotel for the first time, I felt giddy. It was a beautiful side street running perpendicular to Rue Sainte Jean (major shopping and eating) and Rue Sainte Louis (more restaurants!) We were able to walk everywhere within the old walled city (which was gorgeous. We also had PERFECT weather). We enjoyed our room, which was the most high end room of their hotel but was in the basement. At first I was surprised, but then I ended up being very pleased. It still had outdoor access. The city and building are so old and everything was much smaller (shorter ceilings, for example), but our room was very nice and had modern amenities (glass shower, large soaker tub, flat screened tv, electric fireplace). There is also a decent breakfast included in your stay. You only have to walk around the corner to get to it, because it's at an actual restaurant seeing as there would be nowhere to set up breakfast in the hotel. The staff was so pleasant, and even conducted themselves as I witnessed someone being yelled at while we were checking out.

Room Tip: Signature Plus Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda19046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel Acadia.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and the location.
Hoping to welcome you again during your next stay
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I traveled to Quebec City and stayed with my boyfriend at the Acadia Hotel on Canada Day weekend 2013.

The good:
-Location is excellent, we used the valet parking and walked everywhere in Old Quebec. Was very handy.
- Also we got a good rate because they only had the smallest room in their attic available.
-The staff were all very pleasant and a pleasure to interact with.


The bad: The room was tiny, not impressive, small outdated tv, and the toilet in our room ran constantly. We did notify the front desk about the issue with the toilet but it was never resolved.

I did see some pictures at the front desk of some of the other rooms, and there were some that looked really nice.

Overall it was not terrible, not great, it was ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed the location.
As you mentioned, you have choose one of our two small economic room, next time try another category, to really enjoy the charm of the hotel.
Hoping to welcome you again.
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

It's a pretty good hotel for Old Montreal since you will not find anything modern there - most of the hotels are houses converted into such.

Acadia is on a quiet street but close to everything and between 2 very busy happening streets. You will have to ask for valet parking if you're driving in unless you are crazy enough to try it yourself. That's $35/night. Rollaway bed - a cot - is $15 a night. Very little space for it in the room but you gotta do what you gotta do!

The staff is pretty helpful but gets a bit overwhelmed around check-in time which is between 2 and 6. So except some wait.

The hotel is divided into 2 wings. We had rooms 411 and 302. 411 seemed to be in the more updated section with a better view: although a small room and bathroom but updated. The bathroom was quite nice. The window in the room opened and had a screen. The bed is queen but comfortable enough. Bath linens are a bit thin but decent. BIg screen TV and FREE Wifi - a huge plus. 411 also had a fridge and a microwave, 302 did not, although I paid the same amount for both. 302 was older, bathroom smaller and dark, Window did not open and the view was of a fire escape - dark.

Each room has AC.

There are LOTS of stairs in the hotel. So if you have problems with that - beware. But then, you'll have problems in Quebec in general since it's all up and down the hill.

Tips in Quebec: taxis are NOT as expensive as you may think. At times it's worth taking one after you walked up and down for hours.

Cross the wall on St. Louis - there are some nice restaurants there too and street performances as well.

Get a map.

Have a great time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaKNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoy the city. About our parking is 20$/night and as you mentioned we have valet parking to make your arrival easier with your car but also with your luggage as we don't have an elevator.
Hoping to welcome you again during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I cannot say enough about this wonderful hotel. It was the perfect place to celebrate our 30th anniversary. A special treat was left in our room for the occasion. The room (402) was spectacular; it included a separate sitting room, comfortable queen bed, a jet tub, and shower with a stained glass window. We loved hearing the horse drawn carriages on the cobblestone street below. The relaxation room and flowered deck was just charming. Everyone from the front desk clerks to the valet were warm and welcoming. We hope to have the chance to return again. This hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: room 402 exceed expectation, even nicer than the pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celebrating30th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share this wonderful review about our hotel Acadia.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed all aspect of you stay
Hoping to welcome you again
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#60 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#47 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia

Property: Hotel Acadia
Address: 43, rue Sainte-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Acadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Quebec City
Acadia Quebec City
Hotel Acadia Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing