We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service at Hotel Acadia”
Review of Hotel Acadia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Acadia
Ranked #59 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was the third time my wife and I have travelled to beautiful Quebec City, but it was our
first stay at Hotel Acadia in desirable Old Quebec (within the old city walls). The location,
as others have mentioned, is excellent.....an Upper Town street just off rue St.Louis (which will take you down to the Chateau Frontenac and Terrasse Dufferin (the boardwalk that overlooks the St. Lawrence River). Just a five minute walk gets you into that scenic,lively area.
The hotel itself has an assortment of rooms, all with unique character.
And while many rooms might have that charm of say a stone or brick wall, they do have
the modern conveniences you come to expect. Just keep in mind that, like many hotels in this historic section of Quebec City, you may have to walk up flights of stairs to get to your room,
as there were no elevators 'back in the day'.
The charm of an Old World hotel is, of course, only part of the equation. Without good service
a person's experience staying here (or any hotel) would be only partially satisfying. During our
stay, we enjoyed excellent customer service from everyone at Hotel Acadia. From check-in, to
the time we checked out, everyone was professional and most happy to help. Of particular
mention were Stephanie, Monica and Jean-Phillipe, as they insured my wife and I had a great stay, but again, everyone was helpful.
If we are fortunate enough to make another trip in the future to Quebec, we will certainly
look to stay again at Hotel Acadia. Merci Beaucoup! Brad D

Room Tip: If you have issues with climbing stairs you may want to consider a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share a great comment about our hotel Acadia.
As the customer service is our priority, we're pleased to see that the service has made the difference.
Hoping to welcome you again during your next vacation
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

We booked online on our way into Quebec City and when we arrived were told we had been upgraded, which was nice! But, our room was still quite awkward. The sink is at the front door and not in the bathroom. There is a little desk with a chair, but you couldn't use it and get around the bed at the same time. The wooden headboard was attached to the wall and not to the bed and while nice to look at, would serve better as a fireplace mantle than a bed frame because it hit right at your neck when you were trying to sit up in bed to watch TV or read a book. That being said, reading the other reviews it sounds like there are many different types of rooms at the hotel, so it may have just been our space. I think we were room 203 (although I may have that wrong).

On the plus side, staff was helpful and directed us to a nice restaurant. Parking is "valet" and cost $20, but when we arrived they seemed to be having trouble finding parking or something and while our car was parked where they told us to park we received a parking ticket, which the hotel said they would pay for. Hopefully they do!

I'm not sure we would stay again - would probably try somewhere else in Old Quebec - there are lots to choose from.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aventuriers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed the perfect localisation of our hotel.
As you mentioned, all rooms are differents, there is many categories and the best way to make a reservation, is to call our reservation agent to get all informations.
Hoping to welcome you again at our hotel Acadia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Excellent location in Old Quebec, 5 minutes walk from Chateau Frontenac.
We had some issues with our reservation promptly solved by the receptionist.
Our room was excellent.
Breakfast is basic and served in a restaurant nearby.
A little bit too expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcogi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel Acadia.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The place is nice. We got a superior room and it was great. Huge bathroom with jacuzzi and separate shower. The room was spacious and felt almost like a 4 star. Brick and stone walls, wood floor.

The draw backs. The room was downstairs and we had to go down a tiny stairway. Really tiny... I have big feet and had to go down sideways... They promise Wifi included. we could only get signal with the room door open... Breakfast was served in a separate restaurant. They say it's an all you can eat buffet. Well... Golden Corral is also an all you can eat buffet. You know, quality was bad, variety was minimum. I'm not in the american way of having breakfast (bacon, eggs, etc) so my only option was toasted bread.

Location was great.

Overall I would recommend it given the price. Around $200 for a superior room is cheap for Quebec. And again, the room was fantastic and quiet.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank neuronas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment abour our hotel.
We're pleased to see tha you globally enjoyed your stay.
We take your comment very seriously and we will make the necessary efforts to improve our service prestation.
Hoping to welcome you again during your next visit.
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were extremely disappointed with this hotel. When we arrived the staff was not overly nice but not unpleasant. When we noticed that the room that we were given was not at all what we had booked then the staff became rude with us, especially Emilly.

We booked a superior room with 2 double beds, we got a room with 2 double bed but if you look at the pictures (included with this post) that we were told we would get vs what we got there is a big difference.

I would highly recommend other hotels in le Vieux Québec before this one. This was way over priced for what we got.

We travel a lot and we rarely complain about stuff… The only time I complain is when I feel we were scam/robbed – This is the feeling I got from our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're really sorry to see that your experience with us was not up to your expectations.
As customer service is primordial for us, we take your comment very seriously, and will make appropriate effort to improve our performance. About the picture, actually all rooms are different in our hotel, because of the historical character of the building. That true the bathroom is smaller in this room but the room is bigger than other in the same category and is absolutely great.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again to change your opinion about our hotel
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife and I visited Quebec City over the Labour Day long weekend in 2013. We booked Hotel Acadia based on reviews from past guests and value for money. Basically to sum up the hotel: location, location, location.

Hotel Acadia was near perfect (for us) for exploring Old Quebec. It's located on Rue Sainte-Ursule, so you are basically within decent walking distance of all of Old Quebec's highlights. Chateau Frontenac and the boardwalk overlooking the river were only about 10 minutes walk, about 15 to the excellent Musée de la civilisation in Lower Old Quebec, less than 10 minutes to Battlefield Park and La Citadelle and so on.

There was free Wi-Fi in the rooms which is always appreciated and the staff were helpful and quick to give good advice especially when we first arrived at the hotel. The rooms are not huge by any stretch so probably not the best for families or groups as it would probably get pretty tight. There wasn't a refrigerator in our room (202) but the ice machine was nearby so we made due.

Grand Allee Est with all its bars and bistros is also very close, just outside nearby Pointe St. Louis and the Parliament building so you can expand out your range of dining options fairly easily as well. Check out L'Inox for good Quebec microbrews if you're looking for something different at happy hour.

All in all, it was worth it if only for the location and ease of access around the city.

Room Tip: -2nd floor rooms offer the smoothest access to/from the lobby. not sure if room size is any better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deryk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel Acadia.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in Quebec City.
About our rooms, we have many categories, because all rooms are differents. The best tip is to call us directly to book your room, so this way we really can recommend you what you need.
Hoping to welcome again during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

When we turned down the street toward our hotel for the first time, I felt giddy. It was a beautiful side street running perpendicular to Rue Sainte Jean (major shopping and eating) and Rue Sainte Louis (more restaurants!) We were able to walk everywhere within the old walled city (which was gorgeous. We also had PERFECT weather). We enjoyed our room, which was the most high end room of their hotel but was in the basement. At first I was surprised, but then I ended up being very pleased. It still had outdoor access. The city and building are so old and everything was much smaller (shorter ceilings, for example), but our room was very nice and had modern amenities (glass shower, large soaker tub, flat screened tv, electric fireplace). There is also a decent breakfast included in your stay. You only have to walk around the corner to get to it, because it's at an actual restaurant seeing as there would be nowhere to set up breakfast in the hotel. The staff was so pleasant, and even conducted themselves as I witnessed someone being yelled at while we were checking out.

Room Tip: Signature Plus Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda19046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel Acadia.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and the location.
Hoping to welcome you again during your next stay
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Clarendon
#35 of 102 in Quebec City
1,520 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
#76 of 102 in Quebec City
315 reviews
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 102 in Quebec City
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
1,002 reviews
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 102 in Quebec City
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia

Address: 43, rue Sainte-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £53 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Acadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Quebec City
Acadia Quebec City
Hotel Acadia Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing