We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience-friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Acadia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Acadia
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was a great hotel and a great value for the money. The hot-tub on the roof was an amazing experience in the midst of the cool Quebec winter-weather. The valet, Louis, was the most friendly and helpful person we met during our stay. The deluxe rooms faxing the street are worth paying the extra money for even if you are only a couple. We were a family of 5 and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: get the deluxe double rooms that face the street...the size of the room, brick walls and view are wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share this comment about our hotel Acadia.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your room and our staff.
Hoping to welcome you again.
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here three nights last week. I arrived at 2:15, but my room was ready. I was able to freshen up a bit before heading out for lunch. My room was charming with a brick wall and a stone wall and a fireplace and a very comfy bed. They have sign up that they are undergoing renovations---my room was lovely, but the halls were a bit shabby.
The day staff were nice enough, if a bit aloof. But the evening staff, especially Raphael, were delightful and very helpful recommending terrific neighborhood restaurants ( at the end of a day, walking four or five hours on cobble stone streets, I didn't want to venture very far )
My biggest complaint was that you had to walk up the block and around the corner to get breakfast. And it was pretty mediocre---exactly the same all three mornings.. Watery oj, runny scrambled eggs and commercial fruit salad I would have preferred just croissants, juice and coffee in the lobby.
One other thing---the citizen's of Quebec do not seem to shovel their sidewalks. The walks were refrozen slush and I found myself walking in the street, much to the annoyance of drivers. They must not sue in Canada!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lily1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel Acadia,
Since customer service is one of our top priority, we're pleased to see that you enjoyed this part of your stay. For the breakfast, we're actually testing many possibilities to try to find what is the best solution for everyone.
In hope to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week in December 2013. It is perfectly located within walking distance of the major attractions in Old Quebec. This 300-year-old building was very quaint as was the historic neighborhood it is located in.
Our room was the deluxe double, and was actually an apartment. The living room had a couch, 3 easy chairs, dining table with 6 chairs, large picture window, fireplace, TV with DVD player. The kitchen had a oven/stove, micro, refrig/freezer, and dishes, pans, utensils, linens, etc. The bedroom had 2 very comfortable double beds, a second TV, armoire, large picture window. It felt more like a home than a cramped hotel room.
There is free Wi-Fi. There are bilingual DVD's that one can rent from the office. The cable TV has both English and French stations. There is a spa on the roof. Valet parking is available. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is no breakfast, but Feu Sacre was recommended for its breakfast buffet ($10 pp) which we enjoyed.
We were extremely pleased with this room and felt it added greatly to our enjoyment of this trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your lovely comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and the room upgrade that was offered to you!
Hoping to welcome you again during your next stay.
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very nice location. Right in the old city and near the citadel. for those who like to browse or window shop, you are located next to a commercial street. The room is on the cozy (small) side. However, you do have a fridge and coffeemaker. The bed was soooooo confortable. I am not usually able to sleep the first night in a hotel but I had no trouble falling asleep in this bed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mckeemtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to write this nice review about our hotel Ermitage!
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed the comfort of the room and also our perfect location.
Hoping to welcome you again shortly.
Best Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Acadia early November 2013. It's the cutest little hotel and was clean and comfortable. It was a central location and we did not have trouble getting around old Quebec. The staff was extremely nice and friendly (and knew English). I didn't have an issue with the fact that there was no elevator but other people could see this as a problem.
Breakfast (which was good) was included in the room price and was at a restaurant just down the street.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shafak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Shafak,
First of all, I would like to thank you to have took time to share your comment about our hotel Acadia. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, we do not have elevator, but we do have a valet / porter to help you with the luggage if needed. Also you made the right choice by booking direct by our official website or with our receptionists, this is the reason why you get this free breakfast.
Hoping to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel Acadia in Quebec early October 2013 for two nights, when we booked there was only one room left as the hotel was full to capacity. So we were grateful for a room, any room. The room was on the top floor, three stories high, there was no elevators so carrying our heavy luggage up the steep flights of stairs posed a daunting and exhausting task. The room was small and the ceiling was at 45 degree angle and took up some of our room space. There was a separate ensuite and this was a welcome sight for a tired and weary traveller to have a shower to freshen up. While our room was in my view small and cramped and quite expensive to rent for two nights, it served its purpose. The double size bed was comfortable to rest our weary bones at night. The small room is only designed to rest at night, not to stay in all day. The room was clean and tidy and to me that is the most important aspect. There was coffee making facility in the room and small fridge to store alcohol and or perishables in. I understand that the other rooms in this hotel are more spacious, so would recommend this hotel to others, however I personally would not want to use the room on top floor, it's like a tacked on after thought and very hard to access with heavy luggage bags up the steep and winding steps. There is a restaurant to have your breakfast that belongs to the hotel, however, it is halfway down the street and I never did find it.

Room Tip: Do not use room on top floor, it is less spacious and hard to get to with your bags of heavy luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham59Buderim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you have globally enjoyed your stay.
It's true that we do not have elevator, but we do have a valet / porter to help with luggage. Unfortunately, due to the historical character of the building it's impossible for us to incorporate an elevator.
Hoping to welcome you again.
Best regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Acadia from October 27 -29 of 2013. The hotel is located in an excellent location close to to everything that is important to experience in Quebec City. It was clean and comfortable. They provided parking for $20 per night, seemed expensive, but a secure place to leave our car. We appreciated the warm welcome from the door men throughout our stay, but didn't feel the same about the front desk group personnel. They seemed aloof and only acknowledged us when we said Bon Jour to them. We felt that they didn't care whether we were there or not - not a positive feeling from them. Is this because we didn't speak French? Difficult to say since they didn't talk to us. Also, we had difficulty adjusting the heat in the room and had the heat come on and off all night long.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleEuphoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you have mainly enjoyed your stay.
We're really sorry about what happened, customer service is our priority we take your comment very seriously and will do the necessary to correct the situation.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
François Bergeron-Ouellet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Clarendon
#33 of 100 in Quebec City
1,530 reviews
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#25 of 100 in Quebec City
1,035 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
Le Grande-Allee Hotel and Suites
#76 of 100 in Quebec City
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 100 in Quebec City
1,007 reviews
Le Champlain Hotel
#16 of 100 in Quebec City
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia

Address: 43, rue Sainte-Ursule | Old Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range: £55 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Acadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Quebec City
Acadia Quebec City
Hotel Acadia Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing