We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Acadia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Acadia
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I traveled with our two young children, we had a bad experience at another hotel when we first arrived so we walked into this hotel to see if they had a room available, the staff was very nice and accommodating, they showed us the room before we decided to book it. The room was a very good size, it was clean and had everything we were looking for in a room. I liked how they had a buffet breakfast at a near by restaurant that was very good. Every time we walked into the hotel they greeted us with a smile and would help us get in with the strollers. We have been traveling to Quebec for years and I would definitely stay at this hotel again, I highly recommend this hotel, it was in an excellent location in Old Quebec, near all the restaurants and shopping. If traveling with young children it had a playground and a splash park right around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiley1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for this nice comment about our staff and our hotel.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and this will be a real pleasure to welcome you again during your next stay.
Kind regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    263
    130
    56
    35
See reviews for
105
364
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days from June 28th to July 1st and we loved it. We stayed in rm 111 which was beautiful. I was skeptical at first because it is on the lower level but we had a full size window and it didn't feel like a basement. Our room had a fire place, jacuzzi tub and super comfy bed. The old brick walls were beautiful and the bathroom had a really nice clay tile floor. The hotel is located on a quiet street just around the corner from all the shops and stuff to see. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly. It was not a big room but we (2 adults) did not find it small or uncomfortable in any way. The buffet breakfast was just up the street and around the corner (2 minute walk) and was really good, especially the coffee. The neighbourhood feels really safe and I felt very comfortable exploring by myself at 6am (being a woman, I'm concerned about that kinda thing). Just down the street and to the left is Pillards bakery which has the best coffee and croissants in the WORLD. Wifi worked great, espresso machine in the room was also great. The hotel practices a green policy so yes, they don't give a lot of little soaps and stuff, and there are shampoo/body wash and conditioner dispensers in the shower but shouldn't we all be a little more green? so I don't think that's a negative. There is only one negative thing I have to say about the Hotel Acadia: our jacuzzi came on twice on its own during the night and scared the living daylights out of me. Was it old wiring or a guest who never checked out (the hotel used to be a private hospital) we'll never know!! For the money, Hotel Acadia is a great place to stay!! Jenn and Martin

Room Tip: Ask for rm 111!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Jenn and Martin,
Thank you for this lovely comment about our hotel Acadia,
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed almost all parts of your stay.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again,
Best regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Hotel Acadia is in the most convenient location in a quiet street. Room OK and breakfast a few doors away was good. valet parking so no need to worry about the car. Quebec City is a great place to visit, quite touristy and very French.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie2006_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel Acadia.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed our perfect location
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again,
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel Acadia is a two star hotel pretending to be a boutique hotel. They have tarted up a few rooms with a pleasant renovation, but our room was small and the walls were paper thin. We heard the staff talking in a work room next to ours and people pounding on the stairs next to the room. The room was so small that it did not have room for either a chest of drawers or an end table by the bed. In fact there was not a single drawer in the place.

Forget about any nice amenities or boutique shampoos or soaps, at the Acadia you get a dispenser bolted to the shower wall which offers a combination shampoo and shower gel for your bathing pleasure. Although the TV, with its 12 stations was recent, the clock radio was ancient and cheap and there was nothing like an ipod dock or even the promised cd player (although a CD of relaxing music graced the mantlepiece). While the room was renovated, hallways and common areas were tawdry and worn.

All in all, despite the excellent location, this hotel does not deliver on its promises. For the price one can do much better in Quebec.

Room Tip: Avoid "Prestige room" near the stairs (221)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtlwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your opinion about our hotel.
We're really sad to ear this kind of comment from a customer.
As you mentioned, we actually do some work to improve our rooms and we hope
to have the chance to welcome you again to show you the final result.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel was well positioned right in the heart of Vieux Quebec, so we could, and did, walk everywhere. The room was exactly as advertised, which I very much appreciated. I felt there was great value for the money because the location is so superb. The room had charm, but was also very modern. Everything had been upgraded and was fresh and cozy. Staff friendly, and the hotel was very clean. There is a hot tub on the top floor which we didn't know about, but would have definitely used had we had our suits as the view was cool. Really lovely place, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie_Jones88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel Acadia.
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is the 2nd time we stayed at this hotel; I took my wife here for her 50th birthday, and we came back. We took a bigger room, since we had our great friend from Belgium visiting us and travelling with us. We stayed 2 nights in a fantastic room, had a wonderful buffet breakfast, and enjoyed a couple of nights relaxation in their hot tub. This place is perfect, great accomodations, but also very central if you are looking at exploring the Old Quebec city historical sights. We will be back for sure. Keep up the great work

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reallynormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your lovely comment about our hotel! :)
This will always be a pleasure to welcome you
Best regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This boutique hotel is in the old city and so convenient to walking everywhere. The rooms are small but have been nicely renovated for a building that is very very old. Although not very wide, we were told the street is the widest in the old city -- where the rich people used to live. The rates were reasonable. Be sure to book the special packages online, as I failed to do so, and the special rate for a carriage ride was no longer in effect when we arrived.

Room Tip: We stayed in 303 facing the street but quiet. No noise from room to room either. Two beds but woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upbeatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel Acadia, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel,
We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#62 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#29 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#42 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia

Property: Hotel Acadia
Address: 43, rue Sainte-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Acadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Quebec City
Acadia Quebec City
Hotel Acadia Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing