We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Acadia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Acadia
Ranked #55 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Shawinigan, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

We went there for our honeymoon and we're quite satisfied with the room (suite 500) that had been suggested by the desk lady. For 239$/night breakfast included. We also received a complementery bottle of mousseux that was very good.
The suite has a nice whirlpool bath, a super shower and a nice foyer. It's close to everything by walk, Château Frontenac and Vieux-Quebec. The breakfast was great and the working people were speaking french, english and spanish.
Wish to go back soon!

  • Liked — nice room and everything at walking distance
  • Disliked — bees while eating breakest at the terrace
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Saskabec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    262
    130
    56
    35
See reviews for
105
363
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
greenfieldma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2007

A small, charming hotel in a perfect location just inside the walls of Old Quebec, less than a block away from one of the major gates to the city. Literally just a few minutes' walk to the Plains of Abraham, the Citadel, the Parliament Building, the Chateau Frontenac, several museums, dozens of restaurants, shops, etc. There was a summer music festival going on in the city, and hundreds of people in the streets, yet the hotel is on a side street and our room was quiet and peaceful. The rooms are not large, but ours was clean and comfortable, with an old brick wall and a real fireplace. The heating/air conditioning unit is controlled by a remote control unit which was very convenient. There is free Internet access for guests via a laptop in the lobby. There are also a hot tub and on-site massage that we didn't try. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. There is valet parking available for a small daily fee. Our rate was a bargain compared to the rates at other hotels. A Continental breakfast was offered for $7/day; we tried it, but there are more substantial breakfasts available just down the street at some of the restaurants.

This was our first trip to Quebec and we felt that the Hotel Acadia was in an ideal location, at a great price, with very good service.

I had contacted several hotels directly in our search for a hotel in the old part of the city, and the people at the Acadia were the most quick to respond, and the most cordial and helpful.

  • Liked — great location!
  • Disliked — it was a bit small but fine for a couple
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank greenfieldma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2007

We stayed in room 22, which was off toward the back and quiet. It was on the first floor and very convenient. The bathroom was tiny but very cute. The bed was ample and comfortable, and the location is excellent. We booked our stay through the Bonjour Quebec website and got a great deal at $109 per night. I'm not sure what the regular rate is but for the location, that is a perfect deal. Parking is another $12 per night. The spa seems to amount to a massage service, but the spa isn't the reason to stay here. It's the location and the access to the city.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Front desk wasn't very friendly, but who cares!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank greenmountainguava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2007

Lovely little in, in the heart of old town within walking distance, free internet service, flat screen tv, small cd player with cd's for your enjoyment, front desk first class! Do not expect high flutten, modern accommodations, it is an old inn. It does not have elevators, and there are several floors of course with an older building comes narrow staircases. Found the accomodations to be clean, comfortable and convenient. The resturant across the street is extremely expensive but awesome, actually the whole town is not cheap to eat in, at least 16.00 cdn for dinner at the very minimum. The mall, take the 801 or 800 bus and it is approx 20 ride to three connecting malls, my favourite store is simmons, there is also a smaller version in town. It is approx 15.00 cdn to take the cab there.

  • Liked — Location, Front Desk
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank dizzyblondekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2007

My friends and I (3 of us) booked a studio with Hotel Acadia for Memorial Day weekend (May 25-28). The studios are in the same building through a maze of hallways as the hotel. The studio was beautiful, almost like a palace!

The studio cost 180$ per night; however, it slept 4, had a kitchen with everything you needed (except a corkscrew!), great bathroom, large bedroom, large dining room and living room with fireplace and pull out sofa. We got fresh towels every day; however, there wasn't maid service, although our garbage was emptied. So basically we made the beds and that was about it.

The receptionist and staff were all very friendly and were helpful when I was speaking French. Most people in Quebec speak English; however, I wanted to practice my French, which they were most appreciative. I didn't eat the breakfast so I can't comment on that; however, my friends and I will return to this wonderful gem in Quebec.

  • Liked — The room was sumptious.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ATR728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2007

I browsed some of the previous reviews for this accommodation and all I can say is: I don't know what these people were looking for. A friend of mine and I stayed here the last part of April 2007, booked when we arbitrarily walked in on the spot. Now, I'll admit it was technically still the off-season, which translates into vacancies and lower rates- but we certainly didn't receive low season service. Had we put in a specific request for lodging it could not have been any more satisfying. The key here is old world charm (sorry 'bout that for those who are looking for ipods on their bed stand!). The rates for a "deluxe" two double-bed room were $109.CAD. We got an enchanting one on the top floor (a short climb up a narrow staircase-yes- but it added to the ambience) with many of the amenities found in suites. There was a mini-fridge, TV with DVD player, a coffee-maker with ample stores of goodies . . . IN addition, a hot tub awaited on the roof for free; I nonetheless opted for a massage available at 45$CAD per 45 minutes 2 steps from our room: on-call, I might add. Our bed chamber revealed historic brick walls and open beams above, decor done in 18th or 19th-century mode with lush bed covers and about 20 pillows. MMMM good! The large bathroom had older fixtures but all in excellent working order and lots of hot water with enough shower pressure to scintilate. The staff was absolutely superb- friendly, gracious and inviting, all of whom tolerated my bad French, yet spoke English whenever asked. Where will I stay next time I'm in Quebec/ Guess!!!



  • Liked — Setting and service
  • Disliked — Ice and vending machines only of first floor
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sand-da-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2006

We booked a small studio for $125+taxes per night. On arrival we were completely disappointed with the studio, especially the elements of comfort. The bed was small and the bedding was poor quality. The bathroom was smelly, needed modernisation, and the towels were so worn out that they were useless.

We chose not to breakfast at the hotel, so I can't comment on that.

There was mention of a washer/dryer in the building, but it was broken down when we were there, which was rather inconvenient for us.

All in all I felt a bit taken in by the photos on their website, and wouldn't recommend the studios.

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — The comfort
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JanBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
Hotel Jardin Ste-Anne
#61 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#30 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#46 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acadia

Property: Hotel Acadia
Address: 43, rue Sainte-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada (Formerly La Maison Acadienne)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acadia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Acadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Quebec City
Acadia Quebec City
Hotel Acadia Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing