We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home in Quebec”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, DE
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our home in Quebec”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Every year, we spend our anniversary in this charming hotel. It is located in the heart of old Quebec so we walk everywhere! We love to linger in our room with its beautiful Victorian decor, listen to music, play scrabble, nap, watch movies or relax in the whirlpool tub. It totally blends with the entire magical, romantic Quebec experience....and we will keep coming back!

Room Tip: Beautiful period decor...clean and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterODover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    95
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
421
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This tiny hotel is truly grand , furnished with antiques and has Old World charm. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with nice amenities, such as self-serve tea/coffee service (or you can get muffins and fresh coffee from a lower level room in the a.m.). Front desk reception --coming and leaving --was very friendly and helpful. Le Clos Saint Louis is within walking distance to all the old city attractions, and is on one of the prettiest streets in QC. Despite the crowds during the daytime, there wasn't enough outside noise to keep you awake at night. We certainly enjoyed our whirlpool tub after a long day of walking.
One thing to consider: if you can't manage stairs, this hotel doesn't have an elevator. (You may not want to bring heavy luggage even if you can walk the stairs.) Otherwise, as ones who have stayed in all types of hotels and B&B's all over the world, we highly recommend Le Clos Saint Louis. We will return in future!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLYINNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a week and just loved it. It is in a great location in historic old Quebec with everything in walking distance, including many restaurants to choose from. The hotel itself has only 18 rooms and is beautifully furnished in period French decor. The owner/manager and her staff were very friendly and helpful. This is a gem!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisnKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This is a very nice old world style hotel in a fantastic location in the heart of the Vieux Quebec historic walled city. Beautiful rooms in what appears to be a historic (or at least very old) home-- but with all the modern things you expect. We really enjoyed our stay here.

I don't give this hotel 5 stars for the following reasons:
1. You cannot control the temperature in your room-- this is done from a central location behind the front desk. We stayed on the 4th floor and it was often stuffy. We asked that the temperature be lowered-- and it was, temporarily.

2. One night, we returned to the room late and it was very warm in the room. Nobody answered the reception room and when I went to the front desk, nobody answered the "24 hour service" bell.

One other issue to note: This is a walk-up property. There is no elevator--and no bell boy to carry your bags to your room. This wasn't a problem for us, but I can imagine that some travelers may have a hard time with the steps. Something to be aware of.

I noticed a lot of people talking about breakfast in their reviews. For us, we were told to go to a room in the basement and make up a tray to take up to our room. Coffee, tea and muffins were free. The coffee was good. They weren't the best muffins I've ever had, but they were fine. Taking muffins and coffee to the room worked well for us-- as we had our little breakfast while getting ready for the day. As for the the lack of a "sunny breakfast room" that some complain about... I didn't see any such room, but there are a few places to sit, parlor on the main floor and a small sitting area on the 2nd floor, where I'd imagine you would be welcome to have your coffee.

Room Tip: Room pictures are on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2011

After spending a few days in Old Quebec let me share with you our great experience in staying at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis. The front desk people great us warmly and gives is information and maps to get around the city. Gave us a list of restaurants for lunch and dinner. Did reservations for us and the suggestions were all very wonderful.
All the comfort of a large chain hotel is provided in this wonderful place. We recommend this hotel to travellers to Quebec, Canada.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alceu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We are a group that just returned from a trip to Quebec City, Canada. We stayed at l’hôtel Le Clos Saint-Louis.
This hotel is amazing, the staff are all so friendly and courteous. Rooms are extremely clean and well decorated bed was very comfortable.
The staff fo out of their way to be helpful and nice to you. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Old Quebec since this place is centrally located

Room Tip: Go to the website and see pictures of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otaviocoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Would you like to create memories of romantic times in an elegant Victorian setting? If so, then Hotel Le Clos Saint Louis is the place to stay for you and your loved one.

My husband and I recently celebrated our anniversary in historic Quebec City. Our room at Le Clos was like something out a Victorian novel with a beautifully carved bed, mantled fireplace, boxed chocolates on a bedside table, a china tea set for our morning coffee and delicious home baked muffins. Our bathroom was as spotless as our room.

The concierge greeted us each morning and helped us decide on how we would explore the treasures that Old Quebec holds by discussing different activities that might be of interest to us. The concierges were an invaluable resource in contributing to the enjoyment of our trip.

Le Clois is just inside the City Wall and is ideally located for exploring both the Old City and the city outside the wall (for example, Parliament, the Plains of Abraham and the Grande Allee). The block on which Le Clos is located has a variety of restaurants in terms of menu and price. There is even an ice cream shop. A small market is on a side street, if you don’t feel like formal dining. Parking was available behind the hotel.

Le Clos was a very important contributor to an unforgettable visit to Quebec City.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constanttraveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing