We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband and I spent three days in Old Quebec City for our honeymoon. We booked the "honeymoon package" with the hotel.
Everything was taken care of for us. Upon arraival, we recieved a wonderful bottle of champagne, of excellent quality. In our room we foound a box of delicious local chocolates (I HAD to find the store where they came from to buy more!).
The room was spotless, and tastefully decorated. We had room 23 on the third floor.
The staff were very knowledgable and were able to make excellent lunch suggestions for us.
Part of the honeymoon package included dinner at two restaurants. It included wine as well. We were very pleased.
My favourite part of our stay was the horse drawn carriage ride (also part of the package). It had just rained, but it made the city look even more beautiful. The driver had a little dog who immediately curled up at my side. Luckily, I am a dog lover!
My french is minimal, but that did not matter. I felt perfectly comfortable. Most business staff speak both french and english.
This is the most romantic city I have ever been to. We will definitely be staying at Le Clos St. Louis when we return.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to go up for some of the rooms. If you cant do stairs, book something on a lower flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

A highlight of the trip was certainly our stay at Le Clos Saint Louis . We stayed in Room 6 - impeccably clean with a queen size bed, beautiful traditional decor, hardwood floors, stone walls and a nice therapeutic bath and shower. The room was very comfortable with a quiet and efficient air conditioner that was much appreciated during our stay. The hotel is ideally located close to the "Citadel" Plains of Abraham the Chateau Frontenac and Grande Allee. This hotel is a four stars . The rates are very correct given the location, service and the details and beauty of this house built in 1844. Madame Donais prepared the hotel for a quiet marriage. A magnificence, elegance and very romantic, perfect for a intimate wedding.

We are gratefully greeted on our arrival, the front desk clerk takes the time to explain all the important information about the the hotel and the city and activities going on during our stay in Quebec. Paul-Emile at the front desk is very well knowledge about the area and information that we require.

The excellent coffee and muffins provided every morning by the charming hostess . The staff is courteous and polite and very helpful.



We had a lovely time in Quebec City and would definitely stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pete2000mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We had traveled from Edmonton Alberta to 'Old' Quebec City, "Behind the Wall" and stayed two evenings at the 'Romantic Le Clos St-Louis'. Living in luxury, style, comfort and tastefully captured in time is how I felt while staying there. The staff were exceptionally helpful as we only spoke English, they too spoke English yet it is a predominately French speaking city, most businesses could speak our language too. The room was wonderfully warm and welcoming exuding mystery throughout- as were the all the people in this world heritage site. We took a horse-drawn carriage ride around the historical 'La Baus Ville' (meaning lower town) and were informed on many local facts. Dining in this romantic area of Quebec City was more than fulfilling, with a variety of cultural restaraunts to choose.We immensely enjoyed ourselves and were informed of many facts from the locals such as the 25 year resident, Fernando, who drew our cartoon charictature and Normand, a 35 year resident, Normand who drove the horse-drawn carriage and toured us in the small city as well as Normand Pelletier the wonderful local street-playing Saxiphonist whom we bought a CD from. As all good things must come to an end, we departed after absorbing more of the incredible furnishings of the entrance way, dreaming already of our return trip next year.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was in #5, we were told one of the larger ones, overlooking the front street w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Giltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Having spent several nights at this hotel, I am surprised at the overwhelmingly positive reviews Hotel Le Clos St-Louis has received. The location is perfect, the decor is Victorian and quaint as described. Our room was fine and clean, and the Internet worked well. That said, this is neither a four star small hotel nor a bed and breakfast. There was very little service. The desk was fairly hidden when you came in the front door, so you had little awareness of any staff. We had little contact with anyone after we checked in. And when we checked in we got zero assistance with our bags from our car parked in the back up the flights of stairs to our room. No one was ever in the formal living room, and there was no lobby or welcoming sitting room in which to mingle. We knew breakfast was complimentary muffins and coffee, but did not expect to have to climb down to the basement (awkward stairs) to retrieve a little tray which you had to take back to your room. When many rooms are on the third and fourth floor, that is a lot of stairs to go up and down. It would be far more welcoming to have the coffee and muffins in the living room and provide a warmer gathering place for guests. The rooms are all different, and ours was charming but lacking in storage (two drawers and no place to put things in the bathroom except on the toilet tank). The spa tub is great for those who want a jacuzzi, but it is poor for those who shower and have to deal with the uncomfortable jets on the floor of the tub and the somewhat dangerous step in the tub floor. We will look for another hotel on our next trip to Quebec City.

Room Tip: pictures on the Internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TeddyDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Mr. Direction and I stayed here for 2 nights. We actually chose Le Clos St-Louis for its over the top decor - our personal style being modern and minimal. Even though every corner is decorated, it wasn't kitschy at all. The hotel really evoked an old world Victorian elegance. Everything just belonged, all the details were genuine rather than Disney.

We stayed in Room #2 located in the front of the hotel at main level. Though the two large windows looked out onto Rue St. Louis, the giant planters and drapes gave us very good privacy. With the windows closed, it was also very quiet. One of the best features of the main floor room was the high ceiling. It made the room feel so much more spacious. The bed was only a double, but the mattress was comfy. The A/C was powerful, so after a long day walking in the sun, it's nice to come back to a cool room. The therapeutic bath was also great for relaxing.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's just a block within the city wall so we didn't have to drive too far into the busy streets of old quebec city. It's still close to everything. We basically parked the car at the back of the hotel and spent the entire trip walking around. The hotel also provides you with umbrellas in case it rains - very thoughtful. Mr.D and I will stay here again for sure. We'd want to check out the other rooms, but if all else fails, we wouldn't hesitate to stay in Room #2 again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsDirection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is a HOTEL not a Bed and Breakfast, it is located in the middle of the old city, great location but I wanted a bed and breakfast which this was not. Not sure why it was the first to come up in a search. The rooms were beautiful 18th century motif, very French.
Price was $265 a night, the staff was not knowledgeable and the breakfast was a greasy raison muffin ( no choice). I expect at least a normal breakfast for that kind of money. They said that they service a big breakfast only in the colder month. I assume the prices are cheaper then too??? Total rip off.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viktoriasurazshky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
69, rue Saint-Louis,
Québec, (QC) G1R 3Z2


August 17th, 2011.


Dear
Madame and Monsieur

Our entire staff and I, were pleased to have your as our guest in the hotel and appreciate dearly your comments regarding our establishment and service.
We consider very important the comments of each of our guests and take great care to make the analysis and to bring about the necessary correctives.
Further to the analysis of your comments, it seems to us clearly that your choice of accommodation in Quebec did not correspond to your needs. It does not make our hotel a place so terrible and of us thieves. It is the reason for which, I wish to bring a few corrections concerning the different points from your unsatisfactory comments. We are sorry and we try to understand your frustration, and a misunderstanding concerning ours services.

Thank you for your stay in our hotel and we hope in spite of your disappointment Quebec will have the pleasure to receive you again.

Ghislaine Donnais
Owner



Bed And Breakfast

You say that our hotel is not a Bed and Breakfast and it is truth.
Such mentioned on our web, The Hôtel Le Clos Saint Louis is a small Boutique hotel 4 Stars. We have never made an advertising and claimed to be a Bed and Breakfast. We are sorry that you interpreted differently our information. Unfortunally we don’t have a control on your perception of the things Whatever, We shall ask our advisers for a new verification of our information to make sure that there is no miss interpretation.

The price for the room

Concerning the price of your room. You paid 209$ CAD + Taxes+parking+taxes. All this information concerning the price of rooms, the taxes etc. is clearly explained on our site. We don’t understand your Surprise and Your affirmation :’ Total rip off :’ Our hotel is four stars **** and in a great location and if I judge by the numerous comments of our customers as well on the sites of evaluations are in the archives of the hotel with a excellent service. Our Pricing is competitive for a hotel that offers this type of service and quality. During your stay in our house you have benefit from a rent completed between the door St Louis and Château Frontenac, short distance of all the attractions, the shops and restaurants in a unique house in Old Quebec, the services of a 4-star hotel, a staff competent and devoted. Honestly I don’t understand your evaluation. Total rip off :’
The Services available at the above price
Fine woodwork from original era ,Original stone walls in some rooms .High ceil, Original tall windows, Antique furniture and frames ,Comfortable queen size bed, Extra comfortable mattress ,Fine linen ,Down comforters ,CD radio with alarm clock ,Writing table ,Multi-channel cable TV and plasma TV Complete bathrooms with shower and therapeutic bath ,Fine toiletries Hair dryer in bathroom, Special mirror ,Bathrobes, Phone with modem connection Free Wireless internet access, Air conditioning with individual system ,Tea and coffee service ,Ironing board and iron ,Safety Box ,Secure parking facilities behind hotel , Complementary muffins and coffee ,Laundry and ironing facilities Dry cleaning services with 12 hour turn around Ice and refrigerator facilities Luggage-check, Fax and photocopy service Public telephone , Free Internet office, Massage therapist, Boutique souvenir, Bar, Concierge , Dedicated French/English bilingual staff on duty 24 hours, Information from the hotel and from Quebec City in your room and More

The Breakfast

The breakfast was a greasy raison muffin ( no choice). I expect at least a normal breakfast for that kind of money.

Complementary muffins (5 choices) and coffee are available from 1 June to 1 October. During this period, for those who wish to linger, we invite you to extend the pleasure at the restaurant opposite the hotel, where a reasonably priced buffet breakfast is offered.

It is clear From June 01 until October 01, we do not offer breakfasts. Indicated on our website, and in the information booklet in the room and finally at travel Agency.
If for you , the complete breakfast is very important, You made the bad choice. Le Clos Saint Louis can be held responsible of your choices

The Staff was not Knowledgeable

We would like to know the reasons which motivated your evaluation. Our staff consists of persons having several years of experience in the field of the tourism and in the hotel industry, they were trained in recognized universities, are bilingual and accumulate 45 years of experience in the field of management, reception and the tourist information. The personal is knowledgeable on the city and the surrounding area and ensures each customer receives the appropriate information in order to make the most of their time in Quebec City.


Yes, sometimes it happens that our information about certain activities is not known but we look it up pass on the information to the customers. It is a real pleasure to make it for them. We are not machines. We are only human being. According to us the accumulation of our years of experience and all knowledge do not make of us ignoran. I admit to you that I would be curious to know the reasons which motivated your evaluation. Once again, we do not claim to be perfected but that we have a certain experience.

Clos Saint Louis is a young independent hotel a unique owner. We are always interested to know the opinion of our customers concerning our services. We are grateful and say thanks to all those who by their constructive evaluation helped us to be classified among the best.
You wished A Bed and breakfast with complete breakfast, free Parking all at a low price. Your bad choice does not make of us thieves and insignificant.

Ghislaine Donais
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

For my first visit to Quebec city, I could'nt have found a better place than Le Clos St Louis. This superb boutique hotel is one of the most charming I've ever seen in the world. It 's like being in the mid 19th century, but with all the comforts of the 21st. The staff was helpful and friendly and you cannot find a better location inside the walls of the old city.

I recommend this hotel for business travelers, but even more so for those who want something very romantic in a very romantic city.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalaBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: £125 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing