We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming and maniculously maintained!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #25 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming and maniculously maintained!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend. The staff and owner were exceptionally welcoming; treating us more like family then guest. Our room was perfect; clean, extremely well maintained, decorated tastefully, and very comfortable. Breakfast each morning was cooked to order and was excellent. this hotel has style and sophistication. Thank You!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Guests:
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay. We are certain your fellow travellers will appreciate it. Please come back and stay with us.

Ghislaine Donais
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    87
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
385
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
southwestern ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My wife and I recently went to Quebec City for a 3 night stay, our first time in the old quebec in the winter. We had previously stayed in Le Clos St. Louis and this trip was equally as nice. The rooms are so cozy and decorated so well setting the tone for such an historic location. Paul and Ghyslaine were so nice and helpful. There is no doubt where we will want to stay on our next trip to the City.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulbp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Mr. and Mrs
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our hotel. It is guest like you that help us maintain high quality service. Your feedback is important and does keep us aware of customers request. We try hard to maintain a great level of satisfaction and keep our hotel at the 4 start level. Thank you again and please come back to see us.
Ghislaine Donais
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorham, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My husband and i found this to be a very charming and friendly bed and breakfast with only the best customer service. We found our room to be charming, cozy and romantic and incredibly clean. We thought that Paul was very helpful from the moment we stepped through the door and I don't know what else we could have asked for. Highly recommend to anyone, easy walking everywhere, great location and breakfast included is a wonderful bonus. We will definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stinie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
We are very pleased that we met your expectations, especially since we take great pride in our work and our client services. It’s because of valued customer like you that we continue to be one of the leading 4* hotel in Old Quebec City.
Thank you and please come back ans see us soon.
Ghyslaine Donais
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2012

4 of us (2 couples) stayed at Clos St-Louis in December for a pre-Christmas-spirit warm up. They made it very easy for us to book separately and have adjacent rooms, advised us of their special lower rates even when we missed it at the time of our booking, clearly explained how our late arrival would work, and welcomed us from start to finish. The breakfasts were always fantastic, good range of choices for everyone, and the staff and Mme Donais were always friendly, informative and helpful, and we didn't want to leave. The furnishings are Victorian luxury and the hotel is like stepping back in time but with all the modern comforts. Everything works well. The location couldn't be better, just behind the Chateau Frontenac and within walking distance to everything. We found it easy to walk to top restaurants, a concert, the Levis ferry, the shops, horse and carriage ride, museums, the Chateau, from the hotel. We wouldn't stay anywhere else if we went back. It was magnificent.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms above the front desk were splendid - cozy and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Sir and Madam:
Thank you for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor readers and possible guest to our Hotel.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and please come back shortly.
Ghislaine Donais
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at Hotel Le Clos St-Louis for a week in May 2011, (sorry for the delay in getting this written) in Room #6. We picked this place because of it's small size, the location and because of all the positive comments from previous guests.

When we arrived, the weather was cool and the room was warm even though the heat was not turned on. We found it quite comfortable. Everything about the room was perfect. We slept with the window open and the night was surprising quiet considering the location. The birds arise quite early in the spring though.

We ate breakfast in the little dining room each morning and the selection was exactly what we wanted. We seemed to have the place pretty much to ourselves but one morning there was a couple from Maine there and we had a nice chat with them.

Are we supposed to make some complaints too? OK. It was difficult to get the maid to take the tip I left in the room but we got that straightened out. And one night after eating and drinking too much at Le Patriarche I was wishing for an elevator.

It's all good. You should stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_Shank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Madame and Monsieur;
We are very pleased that you loved your stay at our hotel and thank you for taking the time to share with others your wonderful experience.
Comments like your help us maintain the high quality of our hotel.
Once again Thank you
Ghislaine Donais
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary and I wanted to take her to Quebec where we had honeymooned 50 years ago. My preference was to go to a small hotel and by finding Le Clos Saint-Louis, it was a most fortunate choice.
Unlike other hotels, I was able to go online at home, and with the assistance of their desk clerk via phone, review the photos of their beautiful antique furnitured rooms and select the room that I wanted. Courtesy such as this was continuous by there staff as they were readily available to assist us during our visit.. We had breakfast each morning and were able to select from their memu of a variety of delicious choices. This small hotel is located in downtown Quebec, within walking distance of historic sites, various restaurants which we tried, and boutiques which my wife enjoyed.
If you are looking for a quiet, clean, beautifully furnished small hotel with courteous
staff members on your visit to Quebec, then Le Clos Saint-Louis is PERFECT.

Room Tip: Go on line at home and select a room while on telephone with a staff member Select your room as eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliebrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs.

Once again congratulations on your 50th wedding anniversary. It was a pleasure to have you with us to celebrate this important milestone in your life. We also thank you for taking the time to write a review to share your experience at our hotel. We are proud of our establishment and do our upmost to maintain a high quality service for our guest. The feedback given by our customers help us to stive forward and still better ourselves. Thank You
Ghislaine Donais
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My partner and I stayed in December, 2011 and had a wonderful visit. From the charming owner, to the wonderful room and the delicious breakfasts, we will stay again on our next visit to Quebec City. We wanted to go to enjoy the quiet and the Christmas lights and were certainly not disappointed. When one books online from Pennsylvania, you are never sure what you will get. We were pleasantly surprised with our choice and the wonderful, hospitable accomodations. You get an A++ rating.

Room Tip: We got a room one floor up from the street and in the front of the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Bill and Madame:
We are most pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at Le Clos Saint Louis, and that you took the time to share with the readers of Trip Advisor your experience. We take great pride in providing good accommodations and service.
Thank you again and please come back toenjoy our beautiful city.
Ghyslaine Donais
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#42 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's dream-like escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing