We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped & Cluttered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #20 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cramped & Cluttered”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A quirky little hotel on the main drag in Quebec City. Parking is extra and while there is access from the back of the hotel parking lot, we were requested to bring our luggage in through the extremely steep steps in front (the receptionist said the back door was an emergency exit and had to remain closed) only to find the door propped open during the tenure of our stay? The owner even opened it (although we had already walked around from the front with the heaviest bags.

The rooms were clean but over-cluttered with 'Victorian' style decorating; little tea pots & cups, etc., leaving little or no room to open a suitcase. The bed was quite comfortable but there was no temperature control in the room which became stuffy at times. The windows opened for some fresh air, but the noise of the street was abundant.

The inclusive breakfast prepared by the owner was enjoyable and quite filling. A nice little hotel with a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the lower floors if you have difficulty with steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We value our guest’s comments and finding out what our strong and weak points are from your point of view. We wish to address your specific areas of concern below.

Parking:

The Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis has the rare opportunity to have parking located directly behind the hotel. Most small hotels (40 rooms or less) in the old city have don’t have parking located nearby and often it takes an average of 10 minutes to walk between their parking lot and the hotel.

Our check-in procedure is that upon arrival clients pull up to the front entrance, unload their bags and bring them into the hotel. Then the receptionist gives them directions to the parking. Given that your room was located on the same side of the hotel as the main entrance, unloading your bags at the front door was arguably the easiest and quickest option.

You are also correct that there is an emergency exit door at the back of the hotel that leads to the parking. For the safety and security of our clients, we do try to control access to and from the hotel from this door. To re-enter the hotel from the parking lot, clients must walk around the building to front of the hotel, which usually takes an extra minute or two. Clients who are checking out of the hotel, however, are permitted to use this door to take their bags to their car.

Air-conditioning:

The hotel consists of two buildings, each having a different air conditioning system. One side has individual air conditioners in each room. The side of the building on which you stayed has a central system. It is programmed to maintain a temperature between 20 and 21 degrees Celsius. This system is generally quite efficient and it is less noisy than the individually controlled units on the other side of the hotel. To ensure that the system works most efficiently, however, clients are advised to keep their windows closed.

Noise:

For your stay in Quebec City, you chose a room in a historic building in the heart of the old city. It is constructed with thick walls and double paned windows that keep most of the surrounding noise out. However, if you open the windows, you lose this advantage.

The Room:

It should be noted that you made your reservation through a system other than our own website and did not specify any specific concerns or requests. Guests who reserve directly with us have the advantage of being able to choose a specific room, one that best meets their needs, including the size or the location of the room.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    91
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
27
396
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Well, we loved Quebec City. We spent a couple weeks all over the province and enjoyed Quebec City the most. We were on the top floor of this sweet hotel. This is a lovely old building and there are no elevators but as long as you know this in advance you just consider it a chance for a little cardio. We are in our mid 60s and it was fine. Our room (one of the Maid's Rooms) was beautiful with a comfy bed, great air conditioning, a view of the trees and nearby church, and a much needed therapy bath. We walked miles exploring the upper city and lower city digging into the history a bit but the location on Rue St. Louis is perfect. Breakfasts were quite yummy and the staff is amazing. We would stay here again in a minute!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and especially to our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed two nights on the top floor (The "Maid's Room"). Lovely, charming, extremely comfortable, great breakfast. Rooms are nice size with wifi and large bathroom with jacuzzi tub. The modern amenities do not at all detract from the quaint yet comfortable decor. Staff is incredibly helpful. Each floor and room is lovingly decorated. Only caution is you must be able to do the stairs - there is no elevator. Staff very easily carried our luggage up the 3 flights - which took us much longer to walk, empty-handed. Great location. Would absolutely stay again (though perhaps on a lower floor - though was good exercise!)

Room Tip: Rooms have A/C (very quiet). However, we opened windows - which was a poor idea because of the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay. We are certain your fellow travellers will appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We recently stayed at this exceptional hotel in the heart of old Quebec and were warmly welcomed by the staff. Great amenities, free Wi-Fi, and beautifully designed room and close to all sites and shopping. The owner has paid very close attention to detail throughout the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaMM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We discovered this gem online and it was the perfect choice for our secret getaway wedding in May.

Mme. Ghislaine and her staff were incredibly helpful from the start, helping us arrange restaurants, carriages, and various events we planned around town. We held the ceremony in their beautiful parlor. They were incredibly gracious, accommodating, and helped us in having the perfect ceremony. They were even our witnesses!

The room was beautiful, one of the nicest rooms we have every stayed in. The breakfast was delicious! Overall very reasonably priced for the quality.

All in all, a perfect weekend. Thank you Mme. Ghislaine and the Clos Saint Louis staff for helping us make our wedding the most beautiful day of our lives!

Room Tip: Suite 5 is one of the most beautiful rooms we have stayed in anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IcarusEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you personally for having selected our hotel for your wedding. Thank you as well for your postive feedback. We are sure that other clients will find your comments helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrison, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I have cancer and based on another reviewer's comments, I knew to ask for first floor. The room was beautiful and also a lovely sitting room painted as if on a front porch. My husband is tall and big, so it was a bit small for us for a week. The price was reasonable at $250.00 p/ night. Quebec City hotels are smaller in general. The hotel was beautiful though. Very elegantly decorated with china and expensive living room. The staff was excellent. The owner was ok, she could have been warmer but who knows, maybe she was in pain or sad about something.
The location was incredible, right in the heart of where you want to be, but without he noise!
Very charming. You can pay less than $250 p/ night on walk up 3rd and 4 th floors, only $199.
It is very romantic or great with friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenity866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We take all your comments into account in order to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

All the reviews for this hotel are correct. This was our first stay at the Clos St-Louis and we could not have asked for a nicer place. It was our third trip to Quebec City and we will stay here for any future visit. They provide all the nice amenities including free wi-fi, plus many extras that make you very comfortable during your stay (fridge, ice, umbrellas, flat screen tv, A/C, etc). Everything was incredibly clean and they clearly take great care of the property. You are in the heart of the old city with restaurants and shops all around. The fort is a 5 minute walk, even less to the boardwalk overlooking the St Lawrence River and the lower town.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm 5 overlooking the street because we wanted a sitting area to relax with friends. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msplt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manoir de L'Esplanade
Manoir de L'Esplanade
#44 of 102 in Quebec City
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 102 in Quebec City
950 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 102 in Quebec City
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing