We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Plus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Hospitality Plus”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I along with another couple just spent five nights at this charming hotel. The location is perfect as it is in walking distance to many of the top restaurants and attractions in the old upper part of town. We literally left our car in a parking space behind the hotel for the entire stay with the exception of one day when we went to St. Anne De Beaupre and the Canyon waterfall. Both of those attractions were well worth the trip and only about a half hour drive from the city. The rooms at this hotel are immaculate and beautifully decorated. They are also well equipped with extra pillows, comfortable bed, hair dryer, iron, coffee pot, terry robe...... Everything you need. Best of all was the wonderful owner who greets you every morning in the cozy breakfast room with a warm and sunny smile as well as helpful suggestions as to how to spend the day. There are delicious breakfast choices such as: yogurt with granola and fruit, French toast, ham and eggs, croissants, muffins, coffee, tea and juice. Everything is cooked and prepared fresh by the owner. In the evening you can also purchase a bottle of wine from the hotel or bring your own along with munchies to enjoy in the lovely living area. I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Old Quebec.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb any stairs you might want to stay in room 19 or room 1. Both of these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockport4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay at the Hôtel Le Clos Saint-Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    95
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
421
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, BC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We loved our stay in Hotel Le Clos St. Louis. We had a beautiful room on the main floor, as I have trouble with stairs. The luxury was everywhere at the hotel, nothing was spared....and was visually a treat and picture worthy. The jacuzzi tub in the room was pure heaven. I lay in the tub for a soak with a book and a glass of wine, while my husband watched the football game in the suite on the big screen tv. Perfect harmony after travelling for so long!

It was such a quaint place and the hosts were great, especially Luc. We were in the heart of old Quebec, the location was excellent and we walked everywhere even though I have mobility issues.

The only complaint I would mention, and we are extremely seasoned travellers and avid B&B/or Inn guests and who have travelled all over the world......is, well that the breakfast was lacking for us. The coffee was weak, and the items we had the first morning were not delicious. Maybe we had just ordered the wrong items, but we ended up going out the next morning and buying our own breakfast and a nice strong cup of coffee!

But besides that small item, we have no other complaint. It was a lovely romantic charming place, and we would recommend this B&B to our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wholeheartedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We take all your comments into account in order to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western ny state
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Short walk to everything. Hotel is immaculately clean. Decor is wonderful.....with many fine details......stone walls, exposed timbered ceiling, fine bedding and our room #24 overlooks the street with windows that open. Was concerned that it would be noisy but the evenings are quiet and the chatter of people passing by just adds to the charm of this city. There is on-site parking (for $20). Many restaurants but we ate across the street and next door...both excellent. Breakfast included was very decent...cooked to order. Be aware...no elevator and lots of stairs.....good for the heart, right?

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank suzieq77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction to us and especially to our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We headed to Quebec City for a romantic getaway while our son was a camp and couldn't be happier that we found Hotel Le Clos! Perfect location for all the sites, very friendly staff, and delicious french toast for breakfast! The room was gorgeous and very romantic. We would highly recommend the hotel! ENJOY!

Room Tip: we loved our room at the back of the inn, and would recommend the back as the front looks out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We really liked this place. The location is great. The evening/night desk attendant Luc was extremely welcoming and helpful. The daytime attendant less so. The room was a nice size and the bathroom was clean with a Jacuzzi tub. The Victorian decoration fits the house. The flights of stairs were not a problem and Luc offered to help us with our bags. Frankly, if you're put off by climbing a flight of stairs you should rethink your trip to Quebec (the whole city is on a hill and you will be walking up and down it all day). Nice, firm bed. Biggest complaint was the outdated wall unit hair dryer. I hate these things - they burn your hand after 2 minutes use. The breakfast was great - nice choices and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avalonbride36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay here in this historic building. The hotel is elegant and full of charm. However, breakfast is served in the basement and there does not appear to be a properly equipped kitchen. The breakfast was quite standard for such a beautiful hotel and the staff, on the second day of our stay, seemed very distraught as they had to serve more than four people. We enjoyed staying here and would probably return, but would consider breakfast somewhere else.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Please accept our sincere thanks for the information you provided regarding your last visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My significant other and I looked at many options in Quebec City before landing on Hotel Le Clos St-Louis and could not be happier with our decision. Highlights below:

1) The old style architecture and the antique furniture make this old mansion a one-of-a-kind experience. Each room is laid out differently further emphasizing the uniqueness.
2) Great location; walking distance to all of Old Quebec.
3) Complimentary breakfast in the hotel (order the French Toast).
4) Friendly staff who portrayed a genuine happiness for picking their hotel.
5) Rooms were clean; each room is a different size so that will depend on your booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleprovince, Owner at Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis. We are always pleased when people share their experiences and opinions on our hotel. We are certain your fellow travellers will appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis

Property: Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis
Address: 69 Rue St-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#41 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Quebec city's escape for two in a place that provides intimacy, peacefulness and a perfect backdrop for special romantic vacations. A haven of peace to be found in the heart of Old Quebec. This unique Old Quebec grand Victorian era home offers contemporary luxuries & amenities. This is the most romantic Hotel in Quebec City that has been a model of hospitality, comfort and welcome for lovers of the world for many years. Expect: luxury, value, impeccable service & intimacy in a romantic surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Clos St Louis
Le Clos St Louis Hotel
Hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing